We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"What a Gem!"”
Review of Bayfield House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mullins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bayfield House
Ranked #1 of 1 Mullins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2013

It has all been said before but Bayfield really is a haven of peace and tranquility, a joy to come back to after a day exploring the island. The rooms are lovely, very well equipped, kept spotlessly clean, & the Ramsay family are very attentive hosts with one of them always available to answer questions etc. It's proximity to a beach, restaurants and the bus stop makes life very easy. For sun lovers there are loungers round the swimming pool, with shades if wanted, and for those who prefer to keep out of the sun there is lovely cane furniture on the verandahs, in fact every little detail has been so well thought out. If you want to get away from the hurly burly of huge hotels and crowds of people Bayfield is the place for you - book NOW! Trevor kindly booked a taxi one morning to take us to places difficult to access by bus and he arranged for Sanjay Kini to be our driver/guide and he too is MUCH to be recommended. As far as we were concerned there was only one small minus point which is that we were not allowed to have our window open at night, which we always do at home, but with both a fan and air conditioning the room temperature was not affected by lack of open window.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and for staying at Bayfield House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2013

This is our second time staying here and we really enjoy it. It is a home away from home. The accomadations are fantastic and service is excellent,close to the beach and restaurants. The house is beautiful, clean and well maintained.Breakfasts are phenomenal! Trevor and Pam go out of their way to make their guests feel welcomed.We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poodlehugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again for your third visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This was our first trip to Barbados and in fact our first trip to the Caribbean. We didn’t want a large all inclusive hotel and decided to stay at Bayfield House after reading all the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and we’re so glad that we did. Our room was lovely – large comfortable bed, tasteful furnishings, a safe, a fridge and the bathroom had a large walk in shower and two handbasins. This room was kept immaculately clean by the cheerful Carol. In particular we liked the veranda on the first floor where it was shaded and comfortable to sit and read or have a glass of wine (or two).
It’s in a quiet spot but close to everything. The buses run past the end of the road frequently to Speightstown, Holetown and Bridgetown and going on the buses is an experience in itself not to be missed, and all for only 2 Barbadian Dollars for any journey. We also got the bus to Bathsheba, again for only 2bbd – it’s on the East Coast, Atlantic side and beautiful – have lunch at the Atlantis Hotel. So really if you don’t want to drive you don’t need to.
Mullins Beach is across the road at the end and has chairbeds to hire, a shop and bar but we much preferred the quieter Gibbes Beach which is a 5 minute walk away. There is nothing there but sand and sea and not many people. There are plenty of trees for shade.
We hope to go again to Bayfield House and you can’t say better than that. Our thanks to Trevor, Pam, Jason and Maria – for all their helpful advice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your review of Bayfield House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Well this is everything that every-one has positively said, we can only reiterate it all. From the moment we arrived and met Trevor we knew that we would have a great 10 days.
The location was better than we'd anticipated and so glad that we weren't on the main road! Far enough away from the main tourist hits but so easy to get anywhere. We deliberated about car hire and then left it too late as there weren't any available, but even that turned out to be a bonus as the taxi drivers were very friendly and knowledgeable.
You'll be spoilt for restaurant choices, two good ones are within easy walking distance and plenty of others are a 2 bds bus trip away. The rooms have a good size fridge/freezer too to keep snacks and cold drinks.
The acid test is at the end of our holiday we ask ourselves if we'd return when there is so much more of the world to see and this is one place we'll definitely come back to and stay at. Thank you Trevor Pam, Maria and Jason.

Room Tip: Book early and ask their advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your favourable review of Bayfield House and Barbados.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We've just had a really relaxing 7-night stay with Pam and Trevor at Bayfield House, and we thoroughly recommend them. The house is lovely, set in a beautiful garden which is kept immaculately groomed by the pleasant ground staff. Similarly, the room cleaning team work hard, and the whole place is immaculate. The layout of the house is well designed and spacious, and the standard of the fitments, comfort of the beds and quality of furnishings are very fine. All the reviews commenting on the excellent breakfasts are accurate.
Trevor's a mine of useful information on the island's attractions, and several restaurants plus a 24h minimart are within a few minutes walk. Mullins beach is excellent and has loungers and parasols to hire, but Gibbes beach a few meters further south is quiet and little-visited even in high season.
Overall this is a great place which we recommend strongly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drmarkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your recommendation of Bayfield House, referrals remain a very important factor towards the continued success of our B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Great rooms, wraparound verandah, Trevor's cooking! Pam's smile, the pool , walk to blissful Gibbs beach, great tips on what to do, a very warm welcome and a rum punch with real punch! We stayed for one week and it quickly felt like "home". A great basis for exploring Barbados and wonderful place to relax. Go!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We love Pam's smile as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed at Bayfield House for the first time at the end of November 2012. Having been to Barbados for many years the small hotel at which we normally stay was up for sale and so we had to find a new venue. I had researched small hotels of Barbados and was won over by all the positive remarks on TripAvisor. They were so right – Bayfield is a great place to stay and we certainly think we have found a gem.
On our arrival Trevor showed us to our room then returned a few minutes later and asked us if we would prefer to have another room as the bed in the second room was slightly larger ( ‘super-kingsize) as we are both tall he thought it might suit us better. Dead right – what a comfortable bed it was! Our room on the first floor was spacious and well equipped – no TV thank goodness) a good size bathroom (no bath but walk-in shower) a large walk-in wardrobe and in a separate cupboard a small fridge with tea/coffee making facilities.
What really bowled us over was one evening we were walking along to Bombas restaurant about (5-10 minutes away) and having just reached the main road the heaven’s opened. Next thing Trevor draws up in his car with an umbrella. We’ve never had service like that before – that’s definitely going beyond the call of duty!
We shall definitely return again this year. The breakfasts are great and as everyone says, Trevor’s rum punches are something else! Thank you Trevor, Pam & Maria for a super relaxing 10 days at Bayfield.

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms and they are all of an excellent quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 35Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for sharing with us your experience staying at Bayfield House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullins
12.2 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
352 reviews
5.0 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
630 reviews
5.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
2.6 mi away
Little Good Harbour
Little Good Harbour
#1 of 4 in Saint Peter Parish
267 reviews
10.6 mi away
Sweetfield Manor Boutique Hotel
Sweetfield Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saint Michael Parish
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfield House

Address: Mullins Road, Mullins, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish > Mullins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mullins
Price Range: £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities include a restaurant, bar, fresh water pool and complimentary WiFi connection. The wide and breezy wrap-around verandas on both ground and first floors have clusters of comfortable chairs making an ideal location to relax, read or just soak up the tranquility of the surrounding tropical gardens. Our colourful landscaped gardens with seasonal flowering trees also include mangoes, bananas, plaintains, fig bananas, limes, avacado and grapefruit. These attract a variety of wildlife including the Barbados green monkey. Arrangements have been made for our guests to use the Spa and Beauty Treatment facility "Indulgence" operated by Royal Westmoreland which is just a four minute walk away. On Mullins beach there are chaises and umbrellas for rent and a variety of water sports. Mullins Beach Bar & Restaurant is an ideal spot for lunch, dinner or maybe a sunset cocktail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayfield House Hotel Mullins
Bayfield House Barbados/Mullins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing