We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay”
Review of Bayfield House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mullins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bayfield House
Ranked #1 of 1 Mullins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My wife and I have just returned from an excellent 10 days staying at Bayfield house. I can only reiterate previous reviewers positive comments whilst wondering where some of the less complimentary ones came from?

The fact is Bayfield house, in our experience , is a comfortable well appointed and well ran establishment. Pam , Trevor and family are friendly , helpful and efficient without being intrusive in any way from the moment they step out to greet you to the moment they wave you off. Their collective knowledge of the island is encyclopaedic and they will bend over backwards to help and advise you if you wish. That covers everything from general advice through to eating out recommendations and car hire. That help is genuine and well intentioned unlike some places we have previously visited. The car hire Pam got for us for example was a bargain and certainly cheaper than we could have managed to obtain.

We did not partake in the evening meals but other guests spoke very highly of them and they all seemed to me to be a discerning bunch. What we did enjoy each day was a good quality breakfast. I'm not sure where the comments about portion control come from, we found the opposite to be true.

We stayed in the Porters Suite. A lovely room , loved it from the moment we walked in. Comfortable bed, efficient air con , plenty of storage, a spa bath , a large shower area and his n her sinks all in a bathroom that could never be described as crowded. The walk in closet with adjacent dressing table was a nice touch too. One area we used a few times was the lounge part of the suite. Effectively it's your own replica of the verandah facilities. Perfect for one lazy day in particular when it was a bit wet and windy and takeaway pizza was order of the day.

All I describe is kept immaculately clean and fresh by the daily attendance of the cleaning staff who do a great job.

Outside the pool and garden are delightful. The sun loungers good quality and comfy with the on site bar very good value. Again more people attending daily keep it all immaculate.

All of this is excellent value when you consider its location. Put firmly in context I travel in the UK with work and have paid more for far lesser accommodation. On the west coast of Barbados you could easily pay a great deal more and get not a lot more for your money.

The location is very handy for most things. For those little things you've forgotten , a bottle of water or 6 pack of beer for your fridge, the 24 hr mini mart obliges.There's places to eat short drives and short walks away. The beach is literally a couple of minutes walk. I don't think its unfair to describe the beaches as some of the best around. A beach walk north to Speightstown or south to Holetown is a must, idyllic. Sunsets are spectacular. For return from the walks, or in fact any trip, the bus is a must try . $2 gets you a gets you onto the bus at the bottom of the road and get off where you want be it Bridgetown terminus or the next stop. Excellent value. Again putting this in context, we stayed in the area ( Colony Club ) last year and went to Oistins on the Friday . Using taxis it cost us $80 , using buses it cost us $12 in total and was fun.

For serious or designer shopping, Holetown is great. My wife's Xmas present came from the local Tiffany supplier and proved excellent tax free value. Plenty of quality eateries in the area to try but the local food vans are a must try too. Pick the ones the locals use , look for the lunchtime queues and you'll get delicious chicken and rice with salad and a drink for $12 (that's under £4 ). We lived well , shopped enthusiastically and found the island on the whole at UK prices or less. Many things actually show up rip off Britain. A bottle of coke or Pepsi at the supermarket or street vendor for example, even in tourist areas, generally comes in at the equivalent of 55p !!!

All of this nearby or easy reach and not at all intrusive on the tranquil Bayfield house.

I could go on a lot longer but I think anyone still reading will have realised we loved it here. How much did we love it ? We've booked for the same suite, same time next year. See you there, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Have no fear, we read it all! Thank you for writing such a comprehensive review and for making the case for Bayfield House as an affordable, convenient west coast location for visitors to the island. Great tip on the local food vans as well, but we caution readers to be as discerning with selecting a food van as you are with visiting any restaurant on the island. Usually a popular van situated immediately adjacent to the famous Sandy Lane Hotel is a popular one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

We arrived in the dark at 6 but in the morning we could fully appreciate the relaxed atmosphere of Bayfield House. Trevor and Pam offer very good advise on the places to visit and how to get there. We had a lot of fun on the yellow buses and local restaurants. Breakfast was plentiful and a good choice was offered. The dining area is perfectly situated by the pool with very well kept gardens.
Our room was actually the suite and was perfect. We fully appreciated the very efficient air conditioning system in the room as this was our first trip to Barbados and we had not appreciated how hot it would feel.we had such a good time we are going again next year with our family. The walk to the beach was only a few minutes, enough time for the sand to dry and drop off your feet before getting to your room. Loved every second of our stay .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hobbsfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor and to provide some friendly tips for other members. We look forward to seeing you and your family later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Had a great week here, It absolutely made my visit to this spectacular Island. When the Taxi pulled up in the driveway it was an instant WOW!!! The proprietors came out to the car to greet me, this has never happened to me wherever I have travelled throughout the world, a warm welcome to be sure.
This beautiful house is built in the Colonial plantation house style and is set in superbly maintained and manicured tropical gardens where I saw humming birds, families of monkeys and other local wildlife daily!! The house is set in a good quality quiet residential area a short stroll from the beautiful Mullins beach with all it has to offer. To the rear is the beautiful swimming pool and lounging area and covered terrace where breakfast is served. Breakfast in itself is an experience with fruit,grill, juices, toast etc..all beautifully presented and served in a stunning peaceful location.There is also a pleasant and stylish bar area here too. The rum punch is a must!!
The room I was allocated was excellent, clean and fresh furnished with quality tasteful items and a very comfy quality bed. En-suite bathroom with great shower. Fridge and kettle etc..Plenty of wardrobe space and a safe...The quality of sleep and general well feeling whilst staying at the house is excellent. The terraced areas to the ground floor and the decked walkways to the first floor are furnished with comfy sofas and chairs and are a great area to relax and read or do a bit of internet...wi-fi covers the whole house and for a remote island is very good.
if you do not have a hire car the beach, two restaurant bars, a Chinese restaurant and petrol station type shop are a stroll away. There is also a street food van which parks every weekday at the side of the petrol station, it is very good and costs about $8US for great food!!
It would be nice if a sandwich or pizza type snack was available at the house too incase you did not wish to leave the house or pool area during the day but I do understand the difficulties involved in providing such a service.
This is a superb place to holiday and the owners try exceptionally hard with all the guests during their stay. I felt more like a member of the family during my stay. They will book you tours and excursions and taxis or a hire car with pleasure and give all the local advice you may ever need. The feel good factor is exceptional, it is a quality place.
If you do not wish to experience the hustle and bustle of a concrete block hotel or the rush and blandness of an all inclusive I highly recomend you enjoy your well earned holiday break here. I will be back!!

Room Tip: I was shown around the house and the rooms are ALL nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Testarossa54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We have taken note of your comments with respect to snacks located on the property and will have to give further consideration to this for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Pam and Trevor are very nice people that helped us a lot with information, phone calls, check-ins, anything. The en-suite rooms are huge, clean with very good air-conditioner and ceiling fan. There is a walking dress room with a free safe. The bathroom is big with his and hers sink. Blue towels for the beach are provided (not shampoo or shower gel but soap yes). The bed is massive and very comfortable.The fridge is big and works very well. There are other things like hairdryer, kettle..The lounges outside are very good. Trevor's food is delicious better than Mullins restaurant. Breakfast is very good with entertainment from Monkeys, a hummingbird and other birds. We did not use the pool because the location of this guest house is so good. The two beaches are just 1-2 minute walking distance. The bus stop is 1 minute walking distance. The 24hr petrol station is 3 minute walking distance. For fossil hunters, Mullins beach (after the umbrellas) is full of different kinds of petrified coral. You don't even have to go inside the water. Gibbs beach has a little step (in the caribbean sea) and all the fossils accumulate there. The buses are very frequent and very cheap BD$2 (around £0.70) no matter the distance that you want to travel. The small yellow buses gives you change and they can be a little crazy but fun. The big blue buses cost the same but they do not give you change. Bombas is another restaurant not far away and the food is excellent. Barbadian people are very nice and helpful, they like to chat, help and say goodmorning/hello to everybody. The local recommend citronella oil or cream against mosquitos and sandflies (these ones are the bad ones, very small and black ones usually in the grass near phone boxes). We did trips to Bridgetown (the pelican center next to the bus station is good for souvenirs), Bathsheba (good for surfers - Atlantic Ocean) and The Crane beach (pink sand with little bits of corals and the tallest palm trees ever seen). Overall was an excellent choice of accomodation and location. If we are able to go back, we certaintly would go to Bayfield House but not with British Airways.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. If you have problems with walking, then choose downstairs that do not have a sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuri-Kenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks for your feedback and for sharing a few photos of Bayfield House with other members of TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This stay was like staying with my favorite relatives. It was quaint, comfortable, personalized and Pam and Trevor are that very special "ingredient" to this experience. I was looking for a holiday spot for rest and relaxation and I cannot thank my friend enough for recommending it. Similar to all of the other comments I have read, this is a lovely and extremely clean property, good amenities, wonderful breakfast, free Wi-Fi, close to public transportation and Barbadians are so very nice. Travelling around the island provides a safe environment with people always willing to assist you. If you are a walker like I am, walking around is limited due to lack of sidewalks but that appears to be everywhere around the island. Just returned yesterday and I had a lot of sunshine during my week stay therefore, don't let the "October" timeframe be a deterrent for visiting Barbados. As a side note, fabulous Sunday brunch at Sandy Lane but extremely over priced. Thanks again Pam and Trevor for making my stay very special and thanks to Maria for her warm smile and assistance.

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the smaller rooms on the first floor facing the street but it was extremely comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMH26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

You are very welcome, thank you for staying with us. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at Bayfield House for our honeymoon in August and had a wonderful, peaceful and lovely stay in Barbados. Bayfield House is exceptional and we would highly recommend it. We stayed in the Porters' suite on the first floor which was incredibly spacious, spotless, and very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious, the swimming pool lovely and warm, and the resident birds and monkeys a delight to watch. Trevor and Pam make you feel very welcome and offer first class accommodation with a first class service. One night we decided to take up Trevor's offer of a three-course meal - his cooking is delicious and I would recommend it. The location is also very good - right near a bus stop and some beautiful beaches, and a quick trip by bus to the restaurants and shops.
Overall we had a fantastic stay and would book here again if we go back to Barbados. Thank you Trevor and Pam.

Room Tip: If you are booking a special holiday, like a honeymoon, then we recommend the porters suite - it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLP499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

To me, this was considerably more than 'just B & B' - it is a purpose built property that works extremely well, and is professionally managed.The rooms are spacious, clean, air-conditioned and have good amenities (fridge, walk-in cupboard, a small selection of books to read, and good-sized, comfortable beds). The bathrooms are of a good proportions, and towels for both bath and beach are provided.

Breakfast is just what I enjoy when on holiday, and it is eaten in most pleasant surroundings, with a colourful garden and swimming pool as a back-drop, and small birds joining you at the table! Dinner is available twice a week, but good eating houses are easily accessible without having to go too far. The beach and bus service are but a few minutes walk away, but Bayfield House is far enough away from the main road for the traffic noise to be unnoticed.

Trevor and Pam are most hospitable hosts and are only too willing to give good advice regarding things to do or see, arrange car hire, if needed, and generally make life comfortable!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ThGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for describing us as more than a B&B, although we are known for our very personalized service, it is important that we also excel with the more routine services that one might come to expect from a more traditional hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullins
0.9 mi away
Legend Garden Condos
Legend Garden Condos
#1 of 1 in Lower Carlton
130 reviews
3.8 mi away
Halcyon Palm
Halcyon Palm
#2 of 4 in Sunset Crest
133 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best E Villas Prospect
Best E Villas Prospect
#1 of 1 in Prospect
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Best E Villas Providence
Best E Villas Providence
#20 of 73 in Christ Church Parish
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angler Apartments
Angler Apartments
#20 of 25 in Saint James Parish
78 reviews
11.3 mi away
Adulo Apartments
Adulo Apartments
#17 of 73 in Christ Church Parish
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfield House

Address: Mullins Road, Mullins, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish > Mullins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mullins
Price Range: £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities include a restaurant, bar, fresh water pool and complimentary WiFi connection. The wide and breezy wrap-around verandas on both ground and first floors have clusters of comfortable chairs making an ideal location to relax, read or just soak up the tranquility of the surrounding tropical gardens. Our colourful landscaped gardens with seasonal flowering trees also include mangoes, bananas, plaintains, fig bananas, limes, avacado and grapefruit. These attract a variety of wildlife including the Barbados green monkey. Arrangements have been made for our guests to use the Spa and Beauty Treatment facility "Indulgence" operated by Royal Westmoreland which is just a four minute walk away. On Mullins beach there are chaises and umbrellas for rent and a variety of water sports. Mullins Beach Bar & Restaurant is an ideal spot for lunch, dinner or maybe a sunset cocktail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayfield House Hotel Mullins
Bayfield House Barbados/Mullins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing