We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special place”
Review of Bayfield House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mullins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bayfield House
Ranked #1 of 1 Mullins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have just returned from our second stay at Bayfield House. What can I say that hasn't already been said by other reviewers? This is a very special place to stay and has so much to offer. Bayfield is a beautiful property set in tropical gardens located on the west coast and just a few minutes walk from some of the best beaches on the island. Our room was very spacious with walk in wardrobe,huge bathroom with double wash hand basins and extremely comfortable bed. There was also a fridge, kettle, tea/coffee making facilities and safe. The whole property is extremely comfortable with numerous settees and chairs located on the veranda where you can sit and enjoy the gardens or watch the monkeys come through in late afternoon. Trevor,Pam and their daughter Maria are exceptional hosts. They organised car hire for us which proved to be a lot cheaper than if we had booked it ourselves and they are more than happy to help with dinner reservations or give general advice about the island. Trevor cooks a three course meal on Thursday and Sunday evenings which are excellent and well worth staying in for. There are numerous restaurants within walking distance or a short taxi ride away in Holetown or Speightstown for the remaining evenings. There is also an excellent breakfast provided with an extensive choice. This is an extremely comfortable place to stay, all the furniture and fittings are to a very high standard, the property is well maintained and immaculate and a lot of thought is clearly given to the small things that make a difference, for example, a jug of fresh milk is provided every day in your room. This property is so much more than just a B&B. We are not ones for returning to the same place twice yet we are already planning when we will return to Bayfield for our third time!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlysonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
The warm family atmosphere of Bayfield House is enriched further when we welcome repeat visitors such as yourself back 'home' to Barbados. The familiarity and the relationships formed over the years makes the entire vacation experience special for all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
242
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Laval
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

It was our first time at Bayfield House, and we have no regrets at all. The room was fantastic. We had a suite which was incredible. Large living room, large bedroom with walk in and, again, large bathroom. Very well decorated, and everything was spotless. Breakfast by the pool is wonderful. I'm repeating what others mentioned about this B&B, but I must say it is one of the best we've been to all over Canada, US including Hawaii!! Trevor and Pam are pleasant and always ready to give you info on where to eat or what to see....regardless of your budget.

Thank you Trevor and Pam....we will be back.

Lynn from Canada

Room Tip: We had a suite on the first floor close to the pool which was great, but I think all rooms are fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabeLaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Through Trevor's many years of experience in the Caribbean hotel industry, we have come to provide a level of customer service that we believe meets international standards. We are honoured that you would consider our B&B to be the best in Barbados, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Having stayed at Bayfield House for the first time last year and were so impressed we elected to stay again in November/December. What else can we say that other reviewers haven’t said already or we didn't say in our first review – it really is the tops in every way. As we booked quite late this year we couldn’t have our requested room for the whole of our stay but had to change rooms for the last three nights. Trevor and Pam seemed almost apologetic that we had to do so, but for us it was absolutely no problem – assistance was forthcoming to help with the transition from one room (on the first floor) to our new room on the ground. Although it was a smaller room the same high standards and quality applied – the only difference was the bed was queen size and not super-king and the bathroom had a single basin rather than ‘his and hers’ and no walk in wardrobe. Apart from that the room amenities were the same.
Nothing is too much trouble for Trevor, Pam and Maria – they are a mine of information of everything to do with Barbados. Staying at Bayfield House is very relaxing – you could get the wrong impression of it being ‘just a B&B’ and you felt you had to disappear after breakfast – how wrong this assumption would be. You can stay put at the house all day if you wish, around the pool or a shady place in the garden or just relax on the various seating area on the verandahs. Trevor cooks a 3-course meal on Thursday and Sunday evenings and they are well worth staying in for! It really is a fantastic place and borne out by the number of returning guests we met this year who were there at the same time as us last year. It really is 5 stars all round and as for Trevor’s rum punches ........ Maybe we should think about reserving our room for next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 35Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Come for the Sea, Sun and Sand, stay for Trevor's rum punch! Thank you for writing such a detailed review which has captured so perfectly a 'day in the life' of our guests and our detailed approach to customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed at Bayfield House in December 2013 on our first trip to Barbados, having looked at All Inclusive we decided to try this B&B which we found on Trip Advisor - What a great decision that was. We arrived early evening and were welcomed by Trevor, who along with his wife Pam turned out to be exceptional hosts. The rooms are splendid with everything you need, the lovely veranda's which surround the upper rooms are a lovely area to relax in and enjoy the Barbados weather. Bayfield house is right near Mullins Bay, and in easy reach of Holetown and Speightstown, with access at the end of the road to local buses.
The B&B is well maintained and has a lovely swimming pool. The breakfast is also fantastic and along with the dinners which Trevor cooks - in our view cannot be beaten.
Nothing was too much trouble during our stay and we were made to feel at home and very welcome.
If we go back to Barbados this will be our first choice for accomodation.
Many thanks to Trevor and Pam for making our holiday one to remember.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 1st Floor, but all of the rooms looked first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McDyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your review and for mentioning that you discovered us through TripAdvisor! Should you return to Barbados, we hope that you will give us the pleasure of hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This is a perfect place to stay for couples- quiet, beautiful gardens, lovely rooms and the hosts Trevor and Pam are very welcoming. We stayed for 5 nights and every day was a pleasure. Located in there residential area, very near to the beach and bars, a great location. Endorse everything everyone else has posted- it really is a gem. Will return.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms face the garden- which is also very lovely. First floor rooms face different view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yesbutnobut366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you, we are happy that we were able to create "a little oasis" for you! We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton Carew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My wife and I have just returned from an excellent 10 days staying at Bayfield house. I can only reiterate previous reviewers positive comments whilst wondering where some of the less complimentary ones came from?

The fact is Bayfield house, in our experience , is a comfortable well appointed and well ran establishment. Pam , Trevor and family are friendly , helpful and efficient without being intrusive in any way from the moment they step out to greet you to the moment they wave you off. Their collective knowledge of the island is encyclopaedic and they will bend over backwards to help and advise you if you wish. That covers everything from general advice through to eating out recommendations and car hire. That help is genuine and well intentioned unlike some places we have previously visited. The car hire Pam got for us for example was a bargain and certainly cheaper than we could have managed to obtain.

We did not partake in the evening meals but other guests spoke very highly of them and they all seemed to me to be a discerning bunch. What we did enjoy each day was a good quality breakfast. I'm not sure where the comments about portion control come from, we found the opposite to be true.

We stayed in the Porters Suite. A lovely room , loved it from the moment we walked in. Comfortable bed, efficient air con , plenty of storage, a spa bath , a large shower area and his n her sinks all in a bathroom that could never be described as crowded. The walk in closet with adjacent dressing table was a nice touch too. One area we used a few times was the lounge part of the suite. Effectively it's your own replica of the verandah facilities. Perfect for one lazy day in particular when it was a bit wet and windy and takeaway pizza was order of the day.

All I describe is kept immaculately clean and fresh by the daily attendance of the cleaning staff who do a great job.

Outside the pool and garden are delightful. The sun loungers good quality and comfy with the on site bar very good value. Again more people attending daily keep it all immaculate.

All of this is excellent value when you consider its location. Put firmly in context I travel in the UK with work and have paid more for far lesser accommodation. On the west coast of Barbados you could easily pay a great deal more and get not a lot more for your money.

The location is very handy for most things. For those little things you've forgotten , a bottle of water or 6 pack of beer for your fridge, the 24 hr mini mart obliges.There's places to eat short drives and short walks away. The beach is literally a couple of minutes walk. I don't think its unfair to describe the beaches as some of the best around. A beach walk north to Speightstown or south to Holetown is a must, idyllic. Sunsets are spectacular. For return from the walks, or in fact any trip, the bus is a must try . $2 gets you a gets you onto the bus at the bottom of the road and get off where you want be it Bridgetown terminus or the next stop. Excellent value. Again putting this in context, we stayed in the area ( Colony Club ) last year and went to Oistins on the Friday . Using taxis it cost us $80 , using buses it cost us $12 in total and was fun.

For serious or designer shopping, Holetown is great. My wife's Xmas present came from the local Tiffany supplier and proved excellent tax free value. Plenty of quality eateries in the area to try but the local food vans are a must try too. Pick the ones the locals use , look for the lunchtime queues and you'll get delicious chicken and rice with salad and a drink for $12 (that's under £4 ). We lived well , shopped enthusiastically and found the island on the whole at UK prices or less. Many things actually show up rip off Britain. A bottle of coke or Pepsi at the supermarket or street vendor for example, even in tourist areas, generally comes in at the equivalent of 55p !!!

All of this nearby or easy reach and not at all intrusive on the tranquil Bayfield house.

I could go on a lot longer but I think anyone still reading will have realised we loved it here. How much did we love it ? We've booked for the same suite, same time next year. See you there, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Have no fear, we read it all! Thank you for writing such a comprehensive review and for making the case for Bayfield House as an affordable, convenient west coast location for visitors to the island. Great tip on the local food vans as well, but we caution readers to be as discerning with selecting a food van as you are with visiting any restaurant on the island. Usually a popular van situated immediately adjacent to the famous Sandy Lane Hotel is a popular one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We arrived in the dark at 6 but in the morning we could fully appreciate the relaxed atmosphere of Bayfield House. Trevor and Pam offer very good advise on the places to visit and how to get there. We had a lot of fun on the yellow buses and local restaurants. Breakfast was plentiful and a good choice was offered. The dining area is perfectly situated by the pool with very well kept gardens.
Our room was actually the suite and was perfect. We fully appreciated the very efficient air conditioning system in the room as this was our first trip to Barbados and we had not appreciated how hot it would feel.we had such a good time we are going again next year with our family. The walk to the beach was only a few minutes, enough time for the sand to dry and drop off your feet before getting to your room. Loved every second of our stay .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobbsfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor and to provide some friendly tips for other members. We look forward to seeing you and your family later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullins
5.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legend Garden Condos
Legend Garden Condos
#1 of 1 in Lower Carlton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.8 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cobblers Cove
Cobblers Cove
#1 of 3 in Speightstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.6 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfield House

Property: Bayfield House
Address: Mullins Road, Mullins, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish > Mullins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mullins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities include a restaurant, bar, fresh water pool and complimentary WiFi connection. The wide and breezy wrap-around verandas on both ground and first floors have clusters of comfortable chairs making an ideal location to relax, read or just soak up the tranquility of the surrounding tropical gardens. Our colourful landscaped gardens with seasonal flowering trees also include mangoes, bananas, plaintains, fig bananas, limes, avacado and grapefruit. These attract a variety of wildlife including the Barbados green monkey. Arrangements have been made for our guests to use the Spa and Beauty Treatment facility "Indulgence" operated by Royal Westmoreland which is just a four minute walk away. On Mullins beach there are chaises and umbrellas for rent and a variety of water sports. Mullins Beach Bar & Restaurant is an ideal spot for lunch, dinner or maybe a sunset cocktail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayfield House Hotel Mullins
Bayfield House Barbados/Mullins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing