We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great staff, and a bit of luck” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Songtsam Meili Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Songtsam Meili Hotel
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Deqin County
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great staff, and a bit of luck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We traveled in northern Yunnan in August. We organized a tour with the Songtsam group of lodges. That was one of the best possible decision for our holidays.
The tour arranger Li Ling was so nice, so patient, competent. She also went the proverbial "extra mile" in order to arrange the pick-up of our Tibet Travel permit in Shangri-La, coming by courrier from Lhasa.
Coming back to the lodge itself - it is absolutely superb. The 2 rooms - one for our children - one for us were well furnished - well equiped - well stocked.
I would also recommend to spend time in the library.. A great way to relax coming back from an excursion.
Staff - as in all Songtsam lodges - is nice, kind, helpful, Of course some of them do not speak perfect English, but they largely compensate by their willingness to help and their real dedication to their guests.
And then the piece of luck. Well - August is apparently not the best season to watch the sunrise on the Kawa Gebo. However, on the morning of the first night we stayed, we were so fortunate to have the clearest, the most amazing view on the mountains. Even our tour guide told us that he had seldom seen it so clearly.
For that we have to thank some higher being than Songtsam management and staff.. for all the rest - they deserve our thanks and most sincere appreciation.

Room Tip: Of course, rooms facing the valley and the Kawa Gebo are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VudeSingapour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, Beijing, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Reading the negative review of 22 September, I wondered whether the guest actually stayed at the same Songtsam Meili Lodge or took the same road to Meili from Shangrii-la or enjoyed the same view of the Meili Mountains as everyone else who stayed at the hotel.
We visited in May, driving over the Baima Mountain pass, on what was, considering that it goes up to 4300m, a pretty good road. The driver from Songtsam lodges drove well and stopped whenever we wanted to take photos (frequently). The Meili Lodge was a wonderful surprise, perched on a hilltop overlooking the Mekong rift with the horizon view of the Meili mountain range and its glaciers at 6000 m plus. The hotel staff rang all the rooms one morning to wake guests to view the amazing alpenglo. You could see the mountains from the terrace or in most rooms from your bed. The rooms were delightful, comfortable and in spite of what the fly collector reviewer wrote on 22 Sep, spotlessly clean. We took the hotel day excursion to the Tibetan Catholic village and church of Cizhong, where Songtsam was building their fifth lodge right next to the Mekong River. We had a tasty meal with the construction workers. Another trip we did was a hike through the Tibetan village of Gejinong, where Meili Lodge sits, and up to a spur of the Baima Mts. The hotel guide was tolerant of our slow pace (altitude over 3600 m), and strangely after climbing up a while we acclimatised and walked more quickly. We picnicked on an alp surrounded by old growth forest. In summary, we can't wait to go back and do more trips in the mountains while enjoying the comfort and hospitality of Songtsam Meili.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the Meili mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidWJ115VW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Spent 2 days in this wonderful mountain resort town located in Southwestern China. A very welcome detour from my annual Asia trip.

Originally recommended by my friends in Japan, this is an amazing experience and definitely out of the ordinary. The staff are extremely friendly and professional. The rooms are large and clean and the views can't be beat. I had a clear view of the snow capped mountains right from my bedroom. An amazing experience both at sunrise and sunset.

I also had the opportunity to enjoy several hikes around the hotel. The wildlife and fauna are abundant and the grounds are very well kept. There's a rustic nature to the surrounding area that is hard to find let alone in China.

A magical experience and rarely seen side of China.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared_L_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I booked thru Agoda a room at the Songtsam Meili (same rate but booking directly with Songtsam you have full board - so Agoda is more expensive) because it was supposed ti be a luxery hotel. http://www.songtsam.com/en/lodges/songtsam-meili
I am very disappointed and even in Beijing or Shangai , the real 5 stars hotels are cheaper.
For that abusive amount, specially in China, i get a "superior" room at the back of the hotel with a view on trees. Room is basic and bathroom is small with a cheap shower. No luxery here but a luxery rate in the middle of nowhere.
I want also to describe my experience coming here from Shangri La : 5 hours driving on a very dangerous road, bad drivers and we found one of them in the middle of the road in a curve, a lot of crushed trucks on the side , a lot of garbage everywhere, not removed rubble after work and just pushed on the side, land slides and rocks reducing the width of the road : a war landscape after bombing and battles. They are also building a tunnel to attract more people when they already built a new modern city with high and modern concrete buildings surrounded by mountains : Deqin . A nightmare vision.
So i wonder what i am doing here, paying an abusive rate in a pseudo luxery hotel and very disappointed by such apocalyptic landscapes. So if you are looking for a nice hotel : don't choose Songtsam and if you want bucolic and preserved landscapes : you boycott the Meili Snow Mountain. It's not anymore an untouched mountain and it will be probably worst in the future.
I traveled all over the world and it's much better in Europe/Alps, Canada, Usa, New Zealand, Peru, Argentina, Chile and at least these countries have more respect for Mother Nature.
Also so that luxery rate : the staff is only speaking 2 or 3 words of english.

Room Tip: go everywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SongtsamLodges, Manager at Songtsam Meili Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear you had a less than satisfactory stay at Songtsam Meili but we feel compelled to clarify a few misunderstandings. Regardless where you book the lodge, we only offer full board all inclusive packages. Since we are in the remote part of Yunnan close to the Tibetan border, there are simply very limited F&B options. All meals and drink including alcoholic beverages are inclusive in the rate.

Secondly we offer two types of rooms at the same rate – one facing the mountain and one overlooking a Tibetan farm landscape.

The pictures you displayed are of the staff quarters which are not visible from any room unless you make a consciousness to lean over the balcony and peer over. However, the pictures posted are not representative of the standard room balconies.

With regard to the presence of flies, one needs to take into account the lodge is located among a working Tibetan farm where wildlife including yaks room freely.  We keep high hygiene standards at our lodges. When we clean the rooms, we always make sure there’s no flies in the rooms. But we can’t keep the doors and windows wide open because the lodge is built in the most natural and pristine environment, there are flies in the fields and village surround us and we can’t avoid that.

I am sorry your travel to Meili was uncomfortable. However, please do keep in mind that Tibet is a developing area of China and undergoing many changes. As part of the growth, a few areas are developing access road and utilities for the benefit of the greater population.We strongly advise guests to arrange transportation directly with the lodge. While it is a bit more expensive, we believe the safety of our certified Tibetan drivers more than compensates. All our drivers are trained to handle most situations, understand the terrain through all seasons, and are extremely knowledgeable about the routes to our hotels. In addition, we maintain the vehicles to ensure the safety of all those travelling to and from our destinations.

Built a lodge in such remote land, we have to deal with very poor infrastructures, but we try to offer the most comfortable and stylish accommodation that did not exist in these places in the mountains.

We work in extremely hard situations when the whole country is moving at fast pace. We always make great efforts to protect the environment, we would go out to pick up garbage in the mountains and fields regularly and do everything in our power to change communities mindset and practice responsible tourism.

We have been and will always try to make a change even in small scale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Wow. The staff. The building. The view. Life is good at Songtsam Meili and it would be difficult for it to get much better. Our son booked this hotel for us as a fortieth wedding anniversary present and now I just want to send everyone there to experience what subtle almost shy service and care can be like. The room was simple but gracious, the bed was huge and comfortable and the food was excellent.
We took the local bus from Shangri-La and were a little concerned about being let off at the right place. We needn't have worried as the hotel was in contact with the driver and even though it was pouring rain when we arrived at the bottom of the hill, the hotel van was there within moments (with umbrellas) and we were soon whisked up to the hotel and a warm cup of tea and an almost family welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
127 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We can only recommend this place despite the long , but scenic, drive. The staff is very nice you feel just like home. The little Tibetan village is very pretty and the view in the morning is just amazing. Rooms are nice, we had 205 which had two bow window where you can seat and look at the view, just great. I wish there were more places like this in china! We loved it!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank voyagistablog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

The service is top class and you feel the staff help you really from the bottom of their hearts. They are very genuine, unsophisticated and sometimes some of them are even a bit shy.  This is a full board hotel and they offer a good variety of food considering they are located in a relatively remote place and run in a small scale.  I don't want to write too much detail so you can be surprised by their delights. However, please note they don't offer TV; and wifi is available only at public area but not in-room;  if these are important to you, don't go.

Room Tip: If in-room wifi is important to you, ask for room near the bar or lobby, so you may marginally get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen_Tem_Tem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deqin County hotels
24.5 mi away
Songtsam Benzilan Hotel
Songtsam Benzilan Hotel
#2 of 30 in Deqin County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
29.1 mi away
Songtsam Cizhong Lodge
Songtsam Cizhong Lodge
#3 of 30 in Deqin County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
25.6 mi away
LUX* Tea Horse Road Benzilan
LUX* Tea Horse Road Benzilan
#4 of 30 in Deqin County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gaoshan Biezhuang
Gaoshan Biezhuang
#6 of 30 in Deqin County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kawagebo Hotel
Kawagebo Hotel
#12 of 30 in Deqin County
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pin Song Chu Hotel
Pin Song Chu Hotel
#1 of 9 in Deqin County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Songtsam Meili Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Songtsam Meili Hotel

Property: Songtsam Meili Hotel
Address: Geji Village, Shengping Town, Deqin County 674503, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Deqin County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Deqin County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Songtsam Meili Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing