We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay and excellent host”
Review of The Glen House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Glen House
Ranked #1 of 2 Clonmany B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful stay and excellent host”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just returned from staying two nights in this lovely guest house. Sonia was accommodating from the start, greeting us warmly despite our very late arrival and making every effort to ensure that our stay was perfect. The room was beautiful, spotlessly clean and had a very comfortable bed. Sonia offers a selection of breakfast options and all that we tried were excellent. Overall we had a lovely stay and we would highly recommend this guesthouse to others. We would also suggest taking the short walk up to the waterfall behind the guest house, which is well worth the effort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
50
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My husband and I recently spent one night at "The Glen House".As this was a belated celebration of our 30th wedding anniversary, we were hoping we had chosen somewhere " special".
We were certainly not disappointed. From the outset Sonia made us feel at home.
After being shown to our very pretty room, we were told to come down for a coffee after settling in.
Nothing was to much trouble.
Next morning the French toast we chose for breakfast was enough to set us up for the day !.
We hope to return again very soon .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I recently left from the glen house on my wedding day, what a beautiful place and what a great host, Sonia and her team could not have done more! It really was like a home from home!! Breakfast was delicious and fresh and the rooms were clean and tidy! We had the place to ourselves, family stayed in all the rooms and no complaints (they are a tough crowd lol!) we could not ask for more, even had use of tv room for hairdressers and make up artists! Sonia laid down the red carpet literally and champagne! Glen house will always have a special place in my heart xxx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Yes we had such a great time, we didn't want to leave. Sonia is such a wonderful person and has a brilliant team working with her. We found The Glen House through visiting the Tourist Board in Buncrana, looking for last minute accommodation. They highly recommended it and now we know why!!!
Tracey initially looked after mum and I when we arrived. She went out of her way to accommodate our needs. My brother and his family were due to join us a short notice and Tracey was just brilliant in sorting things out perfectly for us and she was so welcoming. The accommodation is excellent with a real homely feel and was immaculately clean. Raj is a brilliant man from Nepal, who couldn't do enough for our family. My nephew is a keen cook and Raj was so patient explaining techniques and recipes to him.....this made his holiday.....we now call him Super Raj!!!
Sonia was just amazing and she went above and beyond to make sure our stay was just perfect.
Thanks a million to you all at The Glen House for a really wonderful time!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyJlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at Glen House for one night with our children in a beautiful and spotlessly clean family room.
I could not fault it. The breakfast was really lovely and freshly cooked to order- French toast was lovely. Staff very pleasant, welcoming and friendly.
Was sorry we were only staying one night but will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairethinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is a lovely B&B. Gorgeous spot, right at the start of a lovely waterfall walk, 5 mins drive from a fantastic, kid friendly beach in a gorgeous bay and close to some nearby attractions like the famine village, buncrana and Greencastle. Probably some great walks in the area as well. The property is spacious and comfortable. They provided everything we needed for myself and my one year old. Sonia and staff are really warm and friendly and breakfast was outstanding. You can also eat lunches and we had a light dinner at the tea room there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galikali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen H, Owner at The Glen House, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with me here at The Glen House. It was my pleasure in looking after you while you were in Inishowen. I hope we might have the pleasure again when you visit Ireland next time !! The walks in the area are indeed beautiful, you can explore them on the next visit !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundrod, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2013

What a fantastic place to stay!!! Sonia is such a warm and friendly host, it certainly felt like home for us: spotless clean and a truly delicious breakfast in such a quaint tea room, tea from a china cup and saucer,(just perfect) not far from famine village, which was very interesting, and a lovely beach near by' and would also recommend the rusty nail pub for there tasty grub and plenty of craic just two minutes up the road/ so thankyou Sonia for making our break away so special

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherinereid201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen H, General Manager at The Glen House, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind words. I do love my china !! I think it adds to the experience that people have in the Rose Tearoom when the tea is served in my china cups and saucers !! I'm so pleased you mentioned it, thank you !! My main aim is to provide a homely feel here at The Glen House and I am delighted that this is how you felt during your stay. Thank you again for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Yours Sonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmany
1.8 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
1.8 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Malin Hotel
Malin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen House

Property: The Glen House
Address: Straid, Clonmany, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Clonmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clonmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the valley between Rachtion Mor and the Atlantic ocean on the Inishowen Peninsula the Glen house has something for everyone. It is a perfect location for lovers of history, hill walking, bird watching or just exploring the fantastic countryside and beaches on offer. We are within a 5 minutes driving distance from the renowned Ballyliffin championship golf club. We are a family run guest house with 9 en-suite bedrooms. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, TV, direct dial telephone, and hair dyers. The rooms offer beautiful views of the surrounding countryside and our two executive rooms have ocean views, with room 1 even getting a glimpse of Malin Head! Rose Tearoom at the Glen house offers guests the chance to relax over tea and cream scone while taking in the beautiful local scenery. Glenevin Waterfall, which is entered via a connecting bridge from Glen House is a beautiful forty foot waterfall which has to be your must visit while staying at the Glen House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Glen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glen House Clonmany, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing