We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get there and relish this gem.”
Review of The Glen House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Glen House
Ranked #1 of 1 Clonmany B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Went to this accommodation as we were attending a wedding in nearby Ballyliffin, could not get a room at the hotels there so booked into the Glen House Country Accommodation and that itself was a blessing in disguise. No disadvantage other than a short drive. A well appointed and spotless accommodation with interested staff that talk and engage with guests and in particular the owner Sonia, maybe hotel management courses should book in here for a week or two and see how it's really done.
Plenty of good signage to the accommodation and plenty of free parking.
A varied breakfast menu cooked to a high quality and nothing spared. Rooms are excellent and lovely views around. I had an executive room and was delighted to pay the small extra charge, worth it.
Sonia has also considered the greater tourist needs with a small craft shop and a tea room open to the public later in the day, and will not infringe upon your stay. Also public toilets are provided by Sonia for visitors to the adjacent car park and visitors to the nearby Glennevin Waterfall. These facilities are provided free of charge by the guest house owner and she must be commended on her consideration towards visitors and her business ingenuity in opening the craft shop and tea rooms, well done.
If you are just a casual visitor to the waterfall and need to use the guest house facilities, remember it's provided free of charge to you, so, visit the shop, maybe buy a coffee or make a donation in the box in the car park for the upkeep of the facilities. No dogs to the waterfall, it's sheep country so respect the wishes of the farming community and leave your dog in the car and enjoy the waterfall and surrounds dog free and no stress on the sheep.

Room Tip: Ring ahead and see whats on offer, you might be surprised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mickptre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

This friendly B&B is highly recommended. The staff were friendly, helpful and pleasant. The room was better than some hotels we've stayed in. The breakfast was top notch - really good fruit salad, obviously freshly made. The attached tea room does great afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

A lovely house, well maintained and welcoming. We stopped here for tea and Irish coffee. Both were lovely although the Irish coffee is a bit pricey at nearly £5. We loved the little shop with nic naks in. the Ice cream parlour is there to and the it was just lovely!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank vapour84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Out for a drive and stopped by this beautiful house which is a B&B, has a Tea Room and Craft Shop. We had a beautiful snack lunch plus ice-cream and apple pie and cream with lovely china cups in lovely surroundings. The staff are welcoming with nothing too much bother. We followed this with a great walk up to the waterfall where some other visitors had already taken advantage of the good weather and had a plunge in the cool waters falling down! The babbling water all along the path way was beautiful - talk about relaxing - babbling brook comes to mind. I haven't stayed at this beautiful house but talked to a fellow visitor today who said it was wonderful so that can go on my to do list!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Whatstheuseofwondrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed over in this lovely B&b, had afternoon tea on arrival, was just delicious. Rooms were lovely & bathroom quite big. Breakfast was excellent freshly made & plenty of choice. Sonia & her staff were very nice. Walked up to waterfall which is a must for visitors, overall little gem of a place would highly recommend & will definitely return

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I recently brought my mother here for the weekend for her birthday and I was not disappointed, from the moment we arrived Sonia warmly welcomed us. The house is very homely with lovely decor. Wonderful breakfast choice with relaxed serving times. Excellent being so close to the waterfall for a lovely walk and perfect having the ice cream shop!!! Would definitely stay here again if visiting the area!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

What a great way to finish off the walk to Glenevin Waterfall - lovely setting - and so bright - the grounds are just great - lovely colours on the garden furniture - and the interior of the house so well decorated - we had soup and a sandwich - delicious homemade food and staff are just so friendly - would love to return here to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annef918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmany
1.8 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
1.8 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
135 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ballyliffin
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
335 reviews
10.7 mi away
McGrory's Hotel
McGrory's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Culdaff
211 reviews
7.2 mi away
Malin Hotel
Malin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malin
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen House

Address: Straid, Clonmany, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Clonmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clonmany
Price Range: £70 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the valley between Rachtion Mor and the Atlantic ocean on the Inishowen Peninsula the Glen house has something for everyone. It is a perfect location for lovers of history, hill walking, bird watching or just exploring the fantastic countryside and beaches on offer. We are within a 5 minutes driving distance from the renowned Ballyliffin championship golf club. We are a family run guest house with 9 en-suite bedrooms. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, TV, direct dial telephone, and hair dyers. The rooms offer beautiful views of the surrounding countryside and our two executive rooms have ocean views, with room 1 even getting a glimpse of Malin Head! Rose Tearoom at the Glen house offers guests the chance to relax over tea and cream scone while taking in the beautiful local scenery. Glenevin Waterfall, which is entered via a connecting bridge from Glen House is a beautiful forty foot waterfall which has to be your must visit while staying at the Glen House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Glen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glen House Clonmany, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing