We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful views, comfortable cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Roses Cottage

Roses Cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Roses Cottage.
sitting room ground floor bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Roses Cottage.
sitting room
ground floor bedroom
ground floor bedroom
kitchen dining room
view from patio
dining sitting open plan
window view
kitchen and open plan sitting dining room
bedroom 1 with en suite and walk in wardrobes
bedroom2 with en suite and walk in wardrobes
bathroom with jacuzzi bath
patio
dunaff hill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Clonmany, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
pioneerde...
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Wonderful views, comfortable cottage!”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The views from the cottage are just stunning! The hosts Ann and her husband were very welcoming. They made sure we had everything we needed and went out of their way to be helpful.

The interior is beautiful with rough style woodwork and stone. The bedrooms are comfortable and were perfect for our family. Showers worked well with enough hot water for all. The well equipped kitchen was stocked with essentials. From inside you can see right out to the sea.

The coast is in easy walking distance on two sides since the location is on a peninsula. Watching the water crash into the rocks is awesome. Our kids loved finding creatures in the tidal pools at low tide. There are picturesque fields of sheep nearby.

An excellent pub, The Rusty Nail, should also be visited. If you plan to visit the Giants Causeway be sure to take the nearby ferry instead of the long drive!

I highly recommend staying at the cottage if you plan to visit the wild north of Donegal. If you like a "road less traveled" with stunning views you won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
46jojo
Newry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best holiday EVER”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Please book roses cottage it is the BEST holiday we ever had the cottage is SUPERB and so homely. the veiws from the cottage are so relaxing just a holiday anyone needs after working it really destresses you. Photos on the site dont do this cottage the justice it deserves you have to see it in real life to believe how wonderful it is. Defo goin back cant wait. Thanks Ann.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the veiws
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingor...
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal getaway”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for a quiet peaceful holiday away from our normal hectic lifestyle. This beautiful house had everything we needed... Including a selection of toys that was much appreciated by our 2 year old! The yard isn't enclosed but it wasn't an issue for us.
We didn't want to load our week with activities but we did do a few of the local attractions. Mamore gap is an impressive drive just a few minutes from the property and you can actually see the house on your drive down. Malin head is also a must do and ballyliffen golf club is only a 15 min drive away. The area has lots of beaches to choose from within a short drive. We particularly enjoyed the five fingers strand.
We eat out some but the house has a great,fully equipped kitchen so cooking wasn't a chore.
We noticed the downstairs bedroom is complete with a wet room so would be ideal for those with mobility problems. We hope to come back with some extended family to enjoy the property along with phil's barn.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique L
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb, again!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

After having an amazing time with my partner staying at 'Phil's Barn' last summer, we decided to come back again but this time we brought our Aussie and English friends.
Like the other cottage, it was beautiful inside and out. The rooms were spacious and spotless and we had everything we could possibly need to make our stay as relaxing as possible.
This time round we made good use of the wood burning stove (which Ann had lit for us before we arrived) after long walks in the idyllic countryside.
I can't recommend it enough! Our friends loved it, the local pubs were great (The Rusty Nail a personal favourite), people were very friendly, the golfers loved the course, it was exactly what we needed. Great job Ann.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, beautiful views, very helpful service.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic, well-looked after, stunning view, friendly hosts”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is very well looked after, we already stayed twice there. The hosts are very friendly and helpful - we even had a little welcome-basket on the table with some food when we arrived! They were helpful with questions on what to do and where to go best, too. The view from the cottage is stunning and weather permitting you can sit on the terrace and simply enjoy. Every room has its own bathroom, which is luxirious. As we travelled with kids we were happy to have a washing machine plus a dryer, too. From all our stays in Ireland this was the best equipped house we have ever been in.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: interior of the cottage, cosiness, view...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jürgen K
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing