We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to the Palais des Congres, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Lyon Caluire Cite Internationale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saratoga, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Convenient to the Palais des Congres, but...”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed here as part of a conference in October. It is across the river from the Congress center, which is about a 15 minute walk. That “convenience” is probably the best thing about the hotel - it is definitely not a four star property. The rooms are very small, and the bathroom is quite odd – it looks like a prefabricated “module” that was dropped into the room. The towels are rather threadbare.

There are train tracks behind the hotel a ways, and even if on the opposite side, you can hear trains passing by, sometimes very early in the morning. A colleague staying on the train tracks side said it was quite disturbing.

The hotel is not on any public transit route, so if you want to go to the city center or vieux Lyon, etc, you will need to take a taxi, which the front desk will call for you. Taxis will arrive fairly quickly. I probably would choose a different hotel next time, for quite a few reasons, but convenience to the center of the city and historical sites would be important.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the opposite side from the train tracks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orkdldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    136
    79
    39
    17
See reviews for
61
83
31
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Balclutha, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed at Des Congres as part of the Wonders Of Europe tour with Congres so everything was organized by our tour director. What we did experience was friendly staff and a great sized room with free wi-fi. The evening meal was a disappointment but breakfast was nice. Pity we only stayed one night. Lyon is a wonderful part of Paris.

Room Tip: Shops are closed on a Sunday in France. We were there on a Sunday so didn't get to experience t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cam, Glos, England
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The hotel is set in a good location a short distance from the restaurants and sites. You can walk or take a tram to the centre of Lyon.

The room was well appointed with a comfortable bed and a good shower. Breakfast was also good with a reasonable variety of food valuable.

My only slight criticism is a lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room as campanile do.

Andrew

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This was an ideal hotel for attending a conference -- just a short walk across the Rhone. The area is quiet and well-lit. There are nearby public bus stops that are frequent and easy to navigate. Personnel at the hotel were very warm and even with my lack of French, I felt at home. Great breakfasts and I even enjoyed the one dinner I had on-site. I don't travel to lounge in my hotel room but I could get work done: nice work space, free wireless, peaceful. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a taste of Lyon and is ready to step just a small bit outside the norm.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UConnJohn712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The hotel is located in a nice area, not like common Ibis chain hotels. But it is away from the city center. The building is nice and the personel is ok. The room is big enough.

but it is a typical Ibis. If you will have a stop over for just one night, it is "ok" but do not expect more. We used the hotel to spend the night on our way to south of France.

The floor is dirty, the towels are old and the bathroom is small. I think the worst part of all the Ibis hotels are the bathrooms. It looks like a worksite bathroom than a hotel room. A prefabric room with no personality. There is only one towel per person.

If you need a hotel to stay more than one night, this hotel is not the best choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esraraphaeldaphne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The hotel is very clean, modern and new. They do not advertise it, but there is also free city parking right across the street. It is a bit out side the city, but I would recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caluire et Cuire
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Lyon Caluire Cite Internationale
B&B Hotel Lyon Caluire Cite Inte...
#1 of 4 in Caluire et Cuire
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Lyon Caluire Cite Internationale
Ibis Budget Lyon Caluire Cite In...
#4 of 4 in Caluire et Cuire
409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residences Temporim Lyon Cite Internationale
0.1 mi away
Appart'City Confort Lyon Cite Internationale
Appart'City Confort Lyon Cite In...
#3 of 4 in Caluire et Cuire
150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel des Congres
Hotel des Congres
#1 of 6 in Villeurbanne
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Lyon Caluire Cite Internationale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Lyon Caluire Cite Internationale

Property: Ibis Lyon Caluire Cite Internationale
Address: 9 avenue de Poumeyrol | ZAC Saint Clair, 69300 Caluire et Cuire, France (Formerly Ibis Lyon Palais des Congres-Caluire)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Caluire et Cuire
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Caluire et Cuire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Lyon Caluire Cite Internationale 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located front the Cité Internationale and the Lyon Convention Center, easy access by walk 10 minutes with the dedicated pedestrian walkway. A real starting point for your business trip or family trip to visit historical Lyon, convenient access by direct bus along the banks and the 6th arrondissement of Lyon, the Croix Rousse 10mn, the town hall to the square Bellecour in 15 mn. TGV train station Lyon Part Dieu, in 15mn with the Trolleybus direct Facilities: Restaurant open every evening, a bar and a 24-hour reception. Wifi connection and free web corner. The hotel has a private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Lyon Caluire Cite Internationale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing