We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stopver on the way to The Fringe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cascades House and Gardens
Ranked #3 of 5 Bonsall B&B and Inns
Gueret, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent stopver on the way to The Fringe”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We wanted a stop-over between our Manor House in Central France and Edinburgh ( for the Fringe Festival ).
We found the Cascades Gardens through the Tourist Board and we were not disappointed.
This place is a gem - we stayed in the Garden Suite and every thing was as described. In particular the Service was attentive but discreet. The food was superb and we will recommend it to all our friends.
The two person jet shower was great fun!!
In fact we liked it so much we booked for the return journey back to France and stopped a little longer to discover the surrounding area - we particularly were attracted to Matlock Bath.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    12
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
51
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed with my partner in the Garden suite for a weekend break. This is the most beautiful and peaceful place we've ever stayed in. The host is very inviting and the breakfast is of a very high standard. Exceptional - will recommend to anyone, couples or families with kids.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna_moss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GER and UK
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We stayed at the Cascades B&B for a short weekend break. We received a very warm welcome and would definitely recommend this place.

We managed to visit the Chatsworth Estate and had dinner at the Barley Mow as well as the Stones Restaurant in Matlock.

Thank you for a very lovely stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I know there is always one grumpy person who hates a place everyone else loves and that person is never me. However, I don't know what all the fuss is about here. Elizabeth, who runs the place, is clearly quite poorly, which is a great shame. However, she cooks breakfast well and there is nothing to really complain about on that front. The welcome certainly wasn't terribly warm, though, despite many people writing in the guestbook that it was.

I assume Elizabeth is paying someone to do the cleaning for her. In that case, she is being conned. We stayed in the Garden Suite and I'm afraid it was pretty dirty. The bed was fine. However, the carpet was quite stained, there were cobwebs everywhere. Even the pen for filling in breakfast requests was encrusted with something horrible. The glass on my bedside table needed a good wash. The bath had some hairs in it and the tiling to the side of the bath was very grotty. There was still part of a tidemark on the bath, too. Not pleasant.

I feel the place was greatly over-priced and we will not be staying again.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DonnaSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were comfortable and the surroundings beautiful. We stayed in the India Room which had a lovely large bathroom and comfortable bed. The breakfast was good - even got a veggie option!
Impeccable friendly service . Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joybynature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
607 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Luxery bordering on decadence, a wonderful little haven set in gorgeous gardens. The breakfast was superb, the location peaceful and tranquil. Two pubs close by, one with an outwardly fierce landlady but superb beer, the other welcoming and friendly.
Wish I could stay there more often...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marksw3960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2009

This is the second time I’ve stayed at Cascades and I have been very impressed both times. This trip we stayed in the India suite and 'wow' what a room. I believed after previously staying at in the Garden suite things could not get any better, but believe me this room was amazing. The bathroom was huge, the bed was comfy and it had everything you could ever want from a bed and breakfast. If you are looking for a romantic getaway with your partner this is the place to stay, absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobby274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonsall
0.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
263 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
368 reviews
5.2 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pig of Lead
Pig of Lead
#2 of 5 in Bonsall
119 reviews
1.9 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#2 of 51 in Matlock
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades House and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades House and Gardens

Property: Cascades House and Gardens
Address: | Clatterway, Bonsall, Matlock DE4 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Bonsall
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bonsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascades Gardens is a luxury bed and breakfast near Chatsworth, close to Matlock, Derbyshire. Our three luxury suites, each with their own spacious bathrooms and are tastefully decorated to a unique theme. The India Suite features authentic Indian art and the Tibet Suite is decorated with artefacts collected on the owners travels. Our newly opened Garden Suite contains a luxury spa bath for two people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Cascades House and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascades House And Gardens Bonsall, Derbyshire - Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing