We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be very careful booking here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cascades House and Gardens
Ranked #3 of 5 Bonsall B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Although this B&B looks lovely there are some serious issues and disputes between the management which are causing major problems here at the moment. We arrived for a short stay treat to find that the room we had booked had been double booked, there was a lot of confusion and tension while this was discussed, we wasted a lot of time caught up in the situation. Apparently similar mistakes have been made on other occassions recently. There were no free rooms and on a busy bank holiday weekend evening and we faced a 3 hr drive home again. Because of the late check in time of 4pm it was difficult to find alternative accomodation. We got our refund but otherwise were offered little assistance or compensation for our wasted time and disappointment. Luckily we found ourselves a very basic hotel room nearby but it was not the type of accomodation we were expecting or would ever have chosen. It is a shame because this could be a lovely place if run properly and in a professional manner.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Owner at Cascades House and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

We were very surprised and concerned to find that we had double booked this room.This was the first time this had happened.Despite being the bank holiday, we were able to find alternative accommodation at a B&B in the same village, with the same 4 star rating.We apologised for this unfortunate event, and as part of our apology gave a bottle of champagne and of course returned the deposit to our visitors.

The cause of this problem was entirely due to the recent installation of our online booking system and we have taken all the necessary measures to prevent this happening again.At this time we continue to be very busy, with extremely happy guests,as endorsed by the excellent reviews in our guestbook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Cascades House and Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed in the Garden Suite to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and we couldn't have asked for more.
The room was a nice size just off the main house, with an enormous bathroom.
It's currently in the process of being refurbished but will ultimately be a lovely Art Deco style room.
Bed was a nice size and comfy. Not the four poster as on the website, see the pics for the latest version.
Nice selection of teas and coffees, although decaf wasn't provided as standard. Bottles of water with glasses were also provided, as well as wine glasses and a corkscrew.
TV has not got all of the freeview channels due to the valley location, but has a DVD player which we used, but let's be fair, if you're holidaying in the area, you're not really there to watch TV!
Bathroom was lovely with a nice sized shower and the spa bath which seats two comfortably. Towels and bathrobes are included for use during your stay and were lovely and fluffy.
What I would recommend is bringing some slippers (which I forgot) as the marble floor in the bathroom is a bit cold underfoot at night!
Breakfast is ordered the night before, with a nice selection available and toast to your personal preference.
Whilst we were in the area we visited the Barley Mow pub, from the owner's recommendation, which was brilliant. A nice local pub with huge portions of food, real ale and great atmosphere.
We did venture through the gardens before we left, but due to the time of year, everything was in hiding except the ducks wanting their breakfast!

Overall, we would definitely recommend Cascades again and would look to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We wanted a stop-over between our Manor House in Central France and Edinburgh ( for the Fringe Festival ).
We found the Cascades Gardens through the Tourist Board and we were not disappointed.
This place is a gem - we stayed in the Garden Suite and every thing was as described. In particular the Service was attentive but discreet. The food was superb and we will recommend it to all our friends.
The two person jet shower was great fun!!
In fact we liked it so much we booked for the return journey back to France and stopped a little longer to discover the surrounding area - we particularly were attracted to Matlock Bath.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed with my partner in the Garden suite for a weekend break. This is the most beautiful and peaceful place we've ever stayed in. The host is very inviting and the breakfast is of a very high standard. Exceptional - will recommend to anyone, couples or families with kids.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna_moss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We stayed at the Cascades B&B for a short weekend break. We received a very warm welcome and would definitely recommend this place.

We managed to visit the Chatsworth Estate and had dinner at the Barley Mow as well as the Stones Restaurant in Matlock.

Thank you for a very lovely stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I know there is always one grumpy person who hates a place everyone else loves and that person is never me. However, I don't know what all the fuss is about here. Elizabeth, who runs the place, is clearly quite poorly, which is a great shame. However, she cooks breakfast well and there is nothing to really complain about on that front. The welcome certainly wasn't terribly warm, though, despite many people writing in the guestbook that it was.

I assume Elizabeth is paying someone to do the cleaning for her. In that case, she is being conned. We stayed in the Garden Suite and I'm afraid it was pretty dirty. The bed was fine. However, the carpet was quite stained, there were cobwebs everywhere. Even the pen for filling in breakfast requests was encrusted with something horrible. The glass on my bedside table needed a good wash. The bath had some hairs in it and the tiling to the side of the bath was very grotty. There was still part of a tidemark on the bath, too. Not pleasant.

I feel the place was greatly over-priced and we will not be staying again.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank DonnaSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were comfortable and the surroundings beautiful. We stayed in the India Room which had a lovely large bathroom and comfortable bed. The breakfast was good - even got a veggie option!
Impeccable friendly service . Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joybynature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonsall
1.1 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
377 reviews
0.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
314 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pig of Lead
Pig of Lead
#2 of 5 in Bonsall
124 reviews
1.9 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 53 in Matlock
439 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 8 in Matlock Bath
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades House and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades House and Gardens

Address: | Clatterway, Bonsall, Matlock DE4 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Bonsall
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bonsall
Price Range: £83 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascades Gardens is a luxury bed and breakfast near Chatsworth, close to Matlock, Derbyshire. Our three luxury suites, each with their own spacious bathrooms and are tastefully decorated to a unique theme. The India Suite features authentic Indian art and the Tibet Suite is decorated with artefacts collected on the owners travels. Our newly opened Garden Suite contains a luxury spa bath for two people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cascades House and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascades House And Gardens Bonsall, Derbyshire - Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing