We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cascades House and Gardens
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hodgkinson's Hotel(Matlock Bath)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Wirksworth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peak Edge Hotel(Stonedge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lathkil Hotel(Over Haddon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
46
14
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
14
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitespa bathindia roomlovely placebarley mowthe ownerone nightb bhot waterstunning gardenswalk aroundweekend breakcomfortable roompeak districtdays walkinglocal walkswell worth a visit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Just spent New Year at Cascade in the company of our friends. We were all pleased with our rooms, the host and the breakfasts.
It has a uniqueness about it due to its decor and location. We intend to re visit when the gardens will be in better condition.
Two pubs nearby and both very friendly if different!. When you meet the differing 'skills' of the landladies you will know what I mean. We only ate at the KingsHead as the Barley Mow were unable to provide a 'kitchen' on our second night due to demand for food on New Years eve which had emptied their supplies. The landlady kindly offered to provide Chip butties if required though.The food in the Kings Head was pub standard and reasonably priced.
We would definitely recommend Cascades to those who want something different, with a bit of luxury, but don't forget that it is an old house which carries the characteristics of its age, but not to its discredit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gygooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Like the reviewer below we had a terrible experience at the Cascades. Upon check in we were met by a lovely lady who showed us to our premium suite ...pictured in advertising. Again upon first inspection things looked fine. We went to bed and found a dead spider on our pillow. No big deal...5 mins later a spider the size of a child's hand crawled across my wife. It gets worse...upon closer inspection behind the headboard we discovered a massive nest of cob webs and dead spiders completely covering the end of the bed. It had not been cleaned for years!! Absolutely disgusted we vacated the premises immediately. The owners response ...who could only be reached by phone..was simply "that's too bad". No apology, no offer to phone a taxi. Nothing! Considering how remote this location is we were lucky to find another venue that evening.

Stay away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BanffAcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Owner at Cascades House and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

We are very sorry to hear about the spiders in our luxury Garden suite and the distress it has caused our guest. As a recent TV programme announced that the country is in the grip of an unusual increase in this seasonal infestation and sadly we have been a victim of this.
We are confident that there was no massive nest of cob webs and dead spiders behind the bed head as this area is regularly cleaned and was recently re-painted. The room is thoroughly cleaned by experienced staff daily and as you can see from earlier comments below most people are delighted with this luxury room with Spa bath.We will take every precaution to avoid this happening again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Arrive at about 5.30pm we were greeted by I think was the owner of this B/B, and shown to our room first impressions were this dont look to bad. At about 10pm decided to go to bed pulled back the duvet to find the bed had not even been changed from the previos guests. Upon closer inspection the whole room and bathroom was filthy. We main house was in darkness so could not conplain to anyone so we left and checked into the local Travelodge in Derby.
STEER WELL CLEAR UNLESS YOU LIKE SHARING YOUR BED LINEN.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MickJackie121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed at Cascade Gardens for only one night and after some difficulty finding it we had a very enjoyable time.

Our room and bathroom were large and every effort had been made to include all the little extras which are so appreciated when you are travelling. The bed was very comfortable.

We had a delicious breakfast in the lovely dining room and our host was very knowledgeable about what to see in the area. We visited Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall as we were moving on that day.

We had dinner at the Barley Mow on our hosts recommendation and it was fantastic, a real pub with good food and great atmosphere all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianneMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The Cascades, though hard to find, is a treasure of the Peak District. Just outside Matlock, this b&b offers unparalleled luxury - the en-suite rooms are fitted to a very high standard with great attention to detail, and the acres of garden make a pleasant route to the nearby Barley Mow Inn, another local gem. A must in all respects

Room Tip: The rooms are all spectacular, well worth a visit. There were six of us in the group (three couples) and we were all pleased with our en-suite accommodation
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dickdowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews