We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cascades House and Gardens
Ranked #3 of 5 Bonsall B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We liked everything : stunning location, comfortable and spotless The Tibet Suite, beautiful garden. Very friendly and helpful hosts made us feel very welcomed. We felt like nothing was to much trouble. It was very relaxing with no rush to get up for breakfast as hosts were flexible with time. Alesia and Alan have worked hard on giving a first class service with a personal touch. We will certainly be returning to Cascades at some time in the future. Thank you to both and all the best for the future.

Room Tip: Has all the amenities, including TV in room, nice bath and shower, coffee/tea-making facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

This b&b is too far from any town. We were told not to book in until 1600hrs which is really late. We arrived at four. We knocked, no answer. We knocked again, no answer. We telephoned, no answer. After half an hour the owner walked through the gate telling us she had visited a neighbour. No apology. Room was nice and spacious and breakfast nice but first impressions last and our first impression was really poor. Pity.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carrafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I would like to thank Alan for an amazing stay at his b&b me and my patner had an amazing and cant wait for summer for are next visted when the garden is at its best such a gem of a house and a knowlegable owner. We stop in the garden room with the giant waterfall as you open your door in the morning perfect. The room was well prepare even on such short notice the spa bath was amazing and the bath to die for.. The breakfast was a great way to start the day as was the walk though the garden many thanks Mr Barry & Mrs Ruth Turner

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bturner21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Just spent New Year at Cascade in the company of our friends. We were all pleased with our rooms, the host and the breakfasts.
It has a uniqueness about it due to its decor and location. We intend to re visit when the gardens will be in better condition.
Two pubs nearby and both very friendly if different!. When you meet the differing 'skills' of the landladies you will know what I mean. We only ate at the KingsHead as the Barley Mow were unable to provide a 'kitchen' on our second night due to demand for food on New Years eve which had emptied their supplies. The landlady kindly offered to provide Chip butties if required though.The food in the Kings Head was pub standard and reasonably priced.
We would definitely recommend Cascades to those who want something different, with a bit of luxury, but don't forget that it is an old house which carries the characteristics of its age, but not to its discredit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gygooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Like the reviewer below we had a terrible experience at the Cascades. Upon check in we were met by a lovely lady who showed us to our premium suite ...pictured in advertising. Again upon first inspection things looked fine. We went to bed and found a dead spider on our pillow. No big deal...5 mins later a spider the size of a child's hand crawled across my wife. It gets worse...upon closer inspection behind the headboard we discovered a massive nest of cob webs and dead spiders completely covering the end of the bed. It had not been cleaned for years!! Absolutely disgusted we vacated the premises immediately. The owners response ...who could only be reached by phone..was simply "that's too bad". No apology, no offer to phone a taxi. Nothing! Considering how remote this location is we were lucky to find another venue that evening.

Stay away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BanffAcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Owner at Cascades House and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

We are very sorry to hear about the spiders in our luxury Garden suite and the distress it has caused our guest. As a recent TV programme announced that the country is in the grip of an unusual increase in this seasonal infestation and sadly we have been a victim of this.
We are confident that there was no massive nest of cob webs and dead spiders behind the bed head as this area is regularly cleaned and was recently re-painted. The room is thoroughly cleaned by experienced staff daily and as you can see from earlier comments below most people are delighted with this luxury room with Spa bath.We will take every precaution to avoid this happening again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Arrive at about 5.30pm we were greeted by I think was the owner of this B/B, and shown to our room first impressions were this dont look to bad. At about 10pm decided to go to bed pulled back the duvet to find the bed had not even been changed from the previos guests. Upon closer inspection the whole room and bathroom was filthy. We main house was in darkness so could not conplain to anyone so we left and checked into the local Travelodge in Derby.
STEER WELL CLEAR UNLESS YOU LIKE SHARING YOUR BED LINEN.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MickJackie121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed at Cascade Gardens for only one night and after some difficulty finding it we had a very enjoyable time.

Our room and bathroom were large and every effort had been made to include all the little extras which are so appreciated when you are travelling. The bed was very comfortable.

We had a delicious breakfast in the lovely dining room and our host was very knowledgeable about what to see in the area. We visited Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall as we were moving on that day.

We had dinner at the Barley Mow on our hosts recommendation and it was fantastic, a real pub with good food and great atmosphere all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianneMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonsall
1.1 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
381 reviews
0.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
330 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pig of Lead
Pig of Lead
#2 of 5 in Bonsall
125 reviews
1.9 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#2 of 53 in Matlock
442 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 8 in Matlock Bath
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades House and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades House and Gardens

Address: | Clatterway, Bonsall, Matlock DE4 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Bonsall
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bonsall
Price Range: £86 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascades Gardens is a luxury bed and breakfast near Chatsworth, close to Matlock, Derbyshire. Our three luxury suites, each with their own spacious bathrooms and are tastefully decorated to a unique theme. The India Suite features authentic Indian art and the Tibet Suite is decorated with artefacts collected on the owners travels. Our newly opened Garden Suite contains a luxury spa bath for two people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cascades House and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascades House And Gardens Bonsall, Derbyshire - Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing