We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cascades House and Gardens
Ranked #3 of 5 Bonsall B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed two nights in the Garden Suite.

The room was in an annex seperate to the house which gave us an added degree of privacy. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean.

The ensuite bathroom was huge and had a lovely spa bath which was fabulous after a day out but the bathroom could do with a bit of a spruce up as it looked a little tired and worn in places.

I think if we were to come back we would look to stay in the house as I'm not convinced that the Garden Suite is worth the extra money.

Breakfast was nice with a good choice. The hosts were friendly and approachable and gave some good suggestions when we asked about local walks and activities.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. The cascades can be noisy - particularly if it rains. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wockwabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a hidden gem in a wonderful village in Derbyshire. Minutes from Matlock/Matlock Bath but also convenient for the Peaks, Chatsworth & all the many other jewels that Derbyshire has to offer. We had the India suite which was spacious & well appointed. Everything was as described & the hosts were very accommodating & couldn't do enough for us. Full of helpful tips & advice on where to go/how to get there to avoid traffic. Village gas two pubs which do food. We only used one - the Kings Head. Also superb & about a 10 minute walk to the top of the village.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_Skidmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My partner booked this for a weekend in Derbyshire. It was the first time in a very long time that I have stayed in a b and b as i normally stay in hotels. Anyway, this was excellent : friendly welcoming owner, clean comfortable room with excellent en suite, tasty, well cooked English breakfast and delightful gardens with many amazing water features. We will definitely come here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We spent two nights at Cascade Gardens in early November and had a great time, friendly welcome, lovely room and excellent breakfast. Would recommend. There are a couple of pubs in the village within walking distance, we only went to one and that was fine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dandb345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

we went to derbyshire for a friends party and needed somewhere nearby, what a find, set away in the beautiful peak district, it was perfect. The parking was a little tight for our 4x4 but we managed it. The room was special (the Indian room) the bathroom was enormous. Breakfast was really good, fresh and homemade and lots of it. The welcome was warm and she was very helpful. Excellent information book in the room. If we go back to Bonsall this is where we would want to stay

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BOOTIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

After a busy day spent at nearby Chatsworth House with family, we needed a quiet place to rest for the night before the long drive home to the south coast. We were fortunate to pick this guest house. The India room was large and very comfortably furnished, with a big sofa occupying the bay window. The bathroom was also large and well equipped. Breakfast was served in the dining room at a large table also occupied by other guests, in this case a charming Spanish family. We got talking and it was reminiscent of a house-party. The breakfast itself was very good, so good that we didn't need to stop for food on the subsequent journey home. For me, the highlight was the garden, in which I spent nearly an hour roaming around. Because it has been so dry I missed out on the cascades, but the rest was just beautiful. Thank you for a lovely stay with such a welcome and pleasant bonus addition.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilydotwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed here for 1 night for my partners birthday and had a marvelous experience.

The B&B is tucked away in the countryside and is set in beautiful gardens. We stayed in the garden suite which has the BEST bath we have ever been in. Plenty big enough for 2 people and the jacuzzi settings far exceeded my expectations.

The place was clean and very nicely decorated and the owners made us feel very welcome.

The breakfast was very good, obviously spent some money sourcing good ingredients (and I'm a chef so hard to please!!) The only thing missing was baked beans!

Overall, a fantastic night away, we will definitely be going back again when finances allow.

Costs a fair bit, but worth every penny!

Top tip -- if u want to use the jacuzzi early on, get the hot water on as soon as you get there, it takes a while to fill the tank up, but worth the wait!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186338Cranberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cascades House and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades House and Gardens

Address: | Clatterway, Bonsall, Matlock DE4 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Bonsall
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bonsall
Price Range: £87 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascades Gardens is a luxury bed and breakfast near Chatsworth, close to Matlock, Derbyshire. Our three luxury suites, each with their own spacious bathrooms and are tastefully decorated to a unique theme. The India Suite features authentic Indian art and the Tibet Suite is decorated with artefacts collected on the owners travels. Our newly opened Garden Suite contains a luxury spa bath for two people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cascades House and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascades House And Gardens Bonsall, Derbyshire - Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing