We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Choose this place.... you won't be disappointed !”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Weavers cottage

Weavers Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Weavers Cottage
bath - Cadbury flake not included mid-level garden view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
51 reviews
Weavers Cottage
bath - Cadbury flake not included
mid-level garden view
study/gallery
Lounge - the TV has been replaced and updated!
Another happy visitor
stained glass in master bedroom
Kitchen
Derwent Edge
Bonsall Cross - our local landmark
Matlock Bath - all the fun of the fair
Wall painting by Kai Suede
pondlife
garden paths in summer
Tiger by Kai Suede (Lithuania)
Our marvellous new village shop! open seven days a week.
Gallery view
winter view above village
Alcove art by Kai Suede (Lithuania)
Winter walking towards Winster
Exploring the hillside garden in Autumn
Carnival time in July - for all ages
The view from the front door up Yeoman street
Outdoor lounge area (ask in advance for the cushions!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Bonsall, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stephpr
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Choose this place.... you won't be disappointed !”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This really was a home away from home. My wife and two teenage sons spent 4 nights here whilst exploring the Peak District, visiting Chester (it's a bit of a trek but well worth it, particularly on race day), and the obligatory trip to Alton Towers (oh the queues!).
The cottage has absolutely everything you could possibly need, was extremely clean and comfortable and I would definitely recommend it for a family stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it felt like a real home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crawfords...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Everything you need and more”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a great time at the cottage with every mod con and a vintage charm. The owners made it easy to get the keys and was well stocked with information on the area. The local pubs, villages and walking trails made our stay memorable. Nothing more could make this cottage better and would like to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Liked least: We only had 3 days there
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana D
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Great Break, lovely cottage”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We choose this lovely cottage because of it's location (very near to Matlock and another towns in the Peak District). We needed a place where we could socialize with our friend without leaving our young son. So it was perfect, very well located, cozy and comfortable. We manage to do a lot of sightseeing and then have a lovely time resting in the evening and just chatting with our friend. Great holiday! We will definitely recommend this cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and overall all the cottage
Liked least: The velux window in the main window did not have a blind and it was too light in the mornings.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2014
Delighted you had a great stay. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillymocz
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A deceptive hideaway”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The photos for this property really don't do it justice. This was an amazing find and miles better than the sterile holiday cottages that seem to be the norm now. Fab decor, facilities and really nice to find out about the cottage's history as well as an insight into the owners too!

The house was far larger than we expected and really well equipped. A major relief when travelling with a 7 month old. The owners provided a cot, high chair, bath seat helping us to feel at home. The place was spotless and clearly well loved. The garden was amazing and fun to explore.

The village of Bonsall was a delight, just a couple if miles from Matlock but felt miles from anywhere. Great walks around the village, and easy for visits to Matlock Bath for the Heights of Abraham and the obligatory fish and chips! Our only regret was that we only booked it for a weekend, we'll definitely be staying longer next time!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2014
delighted you enjoyed. A further release of duplo from my son's collection is heading north shortly....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quire
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW factor in bucket loads”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Believe the property description for this cottage, a brilliant place all round. When it says the kitchin is fully equipped it's not exaggerating, even down to weigh scales for baking, baking trays and loaf tins, enough pots and pans for a banquet and even, would you believe it, a truffle slicer.
The moment you walk in you'll feel at home.
Great walks around the local area, and to Matlock with a bus to the village if you don't want to walk back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2014
delighted you enjoyed your stay. I didn't know I had a truffle slicer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We booked a last minute holiday to Weavers Cottage in the May half term. It is a lovely cottage new and clean kitchen and bathroom and comfortable beds. We needed the heating on as it was a bit cold and rainy on most days, and it made the cottage very warm and comfortable.

Bonsall is a very pretty village, good local pubs with food and a café, close to the peak district so we drove in most days to explore.

We had a great holiday there, our 6 year old son loved it. Lots of DVDs and some children games to play in the cottage.

The owner was very helpful and responsive to any queries and we met Clare who manages the change overs on the day we left, was very friendly and has lots of local information.

We would return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: New kitchen and bathroom
Liked least: nothing really, TV could be more up to date / larger
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186346wil...
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A comfortable cosy cottage.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just returned from having 3 nights at this lovely place. The mix with old and modern worked really well, there was everything you could have wanted here.The beds were really comfortable, the lounge really warm and cosy, and the bathroom was great, what do you choose ,the roll top large bath or the huge shower which looked like a space capsule, what a wonderful choice, I tried both....The kitchen was so easy to work in although we only cooked breakfast.The weather was not too.
good but we did have a recky of the garden, very steep but very pretty.The whole place was very clean and well kept.We did a lot of different things while we were there and ate out a lot and it was always nice to come home to the cosy cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$80
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing