We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, comfortable, homely cottage in excellent...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Weavers cottage

Weavers Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Weavers Cottage
bath - Cadbury flake not included mid-level garden view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Weavers Cottage
bath - Cadbury flake not included
mid-level garden view
study/gallery
Lounge - the TV has been replaced and updated!
Another happy visitor
stained glass in master bedroom
Kitchen
Derwent Edge
Bonsall Cross - our local landmark
Matlock Bath - all the fun of the fair
Wall painting by Kai Suede
pondlife
garden paths in summer
Tiger by Kai Suede (Lithuania)
Our marvellous new village shop! open seven days a week.
Gallery view
winter view above village
Alcove art by Kai Suede (Lithuania)
Winter walking towards Winster
Exploring the hillside garden in Autumn
Carnival time in July - for all ages
The view from the front door up Yeoman street
Outdoor lounge area (ask in advance for the cushions!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Bonsall, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sue t
1 review
“Lovely, comfortable, homely cottage in excellent location.”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Weavers Cottage. Great accommodation with a real home from home feel - we wished we could have stayed longer. Lovely and warm with all the facilities we needed. Wonderful setting. Friendly locals and a great welcome at the nearby Kings Head.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How comfortable the cottage was
Liked least: Wi fi was almost non existent and very poor radio signal, but who cares!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mr p j k
1 review
“Homely cottage very comfortable and welcoming”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Would highly recommend this cottage . Modern luxurious bathroom and very comfortable beds,everything you need also loved the features and decor of the cottage .We absolutely loved it and wished we could have stayed a bit longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything you could possibly need was there
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelovely...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect for families!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for 2 night with our children of 12, 5 & 2yrs and it was absolutely perfect. It was comfortable, great value for money and had everything you could need for a short break or a fortnights holiday. It's in a great location for Matlock and Matlock Bath which was what we wanted and the village itself is really lovely with a few pubs and a park for the children. The little play area upstairs was great, all 3 kids loved it, fab assortment of puzzles, books and toys to keep them all quiet (for a while anyway!). My favourite things had to be the kitchen, green, large and a gorgeous sink! and the roll top bath...I'm a shower kinda girl but this was the best bath I've ever had! Great time was had by all, infact nobody wanted to leave, would highly recommend :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2014
Thank you. Glad you had a great time and enjoyed the bath :). I used to call the upstairs area "the gallery" which sounded rather sophisticated. Play area is these days more apt!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard T
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Holiday "Home"”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The cottage is beautiful, quirky, full of character and history. We were absolutely charmed the second we walked through the door. The house has absolutely everything inside, with plenty of surprises for the children (they loved the lego!). The owner and housekeeper are also fantastic and full of tips and ideas about the local area. The kitchen is stocked with every utensil and pan I have ever seen! The bathroom has the most amazing shower (sorry for my ineptitude in working it!), the bedrooms are bright and spotless. The garden is a amazing adventure (see if you can spot when the staircase was built!). Absolutely first class and the only holiday property that our children have ever referred to as "home"! We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kids toys and rooms!
Liked least: Leaving on the last day
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJH61
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This cottage is beautiful, quirky and full of character and history. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It is well-equipped with a lovely kitchen and bathroom in particular, and was spotlessly clean. There is a balcony area full of toys which was an excellent bonus for our 2-year old daughter. The garden is steep and interesting to explore, and there are a couple of areas with chairs/tables to sit outside. The village has a little play park, a couple of pubs and a tea room, and is a great location for exploring the Peak District e.g. Matlock and Chatsworth. There's even a small soft play just down the road from Bonsall which we had to resort to one day when our little girl had had enough of getting soaked! The owner was very helpful, replying promptly to emails and leaving various instructions around the property. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend this to others without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the cottage and the fact that it was really well equipped.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephpr
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Choose this place.... you won't be disappointed !”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This really was a home away from home. My wife and two teenage sons spent 4 nights here whilst exploring the Peak District, visiting Chester (it's a bit of a trek but well worth it, particularly on race day), and the obligatory trip to Alton Towers (oh the queues!).
The cottage has absolutely everything you could possibly need, was extremely clean and comfortable and I would definitely recommend it for a family stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it felt like a real home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crawfords...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Everything you need and more”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a great time at the cottage with every mod con and a vintage charm. The owners made it easy to get the keys and was well stocked with information on the area. The local pubs, villages and walking trails made our stay memorable. Nothing more could make this cottage better and would like to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Liked least: We only had 3 days there
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing