We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully fitted out, spacious and well...”
other travellers have booked this property
Study Farm Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Study Farm Barn
Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Study Farm Barn
Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor
Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor
Bunk beds - entrance on ground floor
Family bathroom - entrance on ground floor
View from bottom of stairs through to dining room
Lounge - first floor
Double bedroom with ensuite - first floor
Ensuite shower room - first floor
Twin room - first floor
Twin room - first floor - beds can be put together to act as a double
Dining room - first floor
Dining room  and part of kitchen- first floor
Part of Kitchen - first floor
Twin room - ground floor - below dining room
Double bedroom- ground floor - below dining room
Family Bathroom - below dining room
View from kitchen to outside area
Bottom of Study Drive, opposite Fountain Tea Rooms
View of car park from Study Drive
Private outdoor seating area with furniture and bbq
Outdoor seating area looking out onto fields
Outdoor seating area looking out onto fields
View from kitchen to outdoor area
Outdoor seating area
Outdoor seating area
Christmas at Study Farm
Christmas at Study Farm
The original Study Manor House
Study Farm
View over Bonsall in Winter
The Cross & Kings Head Pub
Well Dressing - Carnival starts last Saturday of July
Fireworks that end Bonsall Carnival week - first Friday in August
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bonsall, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Doug D
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautifully fitted out, spacious and well situated farmhouse style barns.”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Bonsall is a quiet pretty Dales village with pubs, views and a village playground close to the Peaks and also near to Matlock, Matlock Bath, Bakewell and Chatsworth.
Excellent property with six bedrooms divided into three areas each with either en-suite or a bathroom, with a big lounge, big diner and kitchen and mediun sized enclosed garden.
Service was very good but relaxed and flexible.
We got to the Heights of Abraham, Chatsworth, Alton Towers, Peak Railway, Crich Tram Village and Bakewell.
Wonderful holiday.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicolaChi...
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent group stay”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed in the barn with 11 friends for 2 nights as part of my 40th Birthday celebrations.

Everything about the booking was easy. Jayne replied to my initial enquiries quickly and was very friendly and helpful. I'm a bit OCD when it comes to booking and planning things and Jayne was very patient and helped every way she could.

The directions were spot on. We easily fitted 6 cars in the car park. The accommodation was spotless. All linens and towels were provided. The kitchen was well equipped with plenty crockery, glasses, cutlery and cooking equipment. The back yard was fantastic and plenty of seating - and nosey cows!!! just a shame it rained all day Saturday and we couldn't make full use of the outside area.

There was plenty of living/dining/kitchen space. Although there wasn't really enough comfortable seating room for 12 adults - group DVD watching wasn't easy!!

There is no wi-fi and mobile internet was a bit hit and miss at times.

Bonsall itself is a lovely little village. Fantastic tea rooms a the bottom of the drive called the Fountain Tea Rooms and great quirkly little pub 5-10 minutes away called the Barley Mow. Both highly recommended!

We all had a fantastic time and would love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large space, clean and friendly owner!
Liked least: wi-fi access would have been nice
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent yet again”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed here last year for my 50th Birthday with a group of friends so what better way to spend my 51st this year. Same group of friend descended on the barn for 2 nights this time. The owners have made some changes which have improved an already superb place. What were 2 separate parts have now been joined together, one of the 2 kitchens turned into a twin bedroom and a large dining room that can seat 12 table placed near to the remaining kitchen. A new private patio has been built off the kitchen which has another table that seats 12 and a large gas BBQ is available. Superb accommodation and comes highly recommended. Make sure you visit the Barley Mow for a pint (or two).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of accommodation, cleanliness number of beds and bathrooms
Liked least: No patio lighting but this is going to be added soon
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherwoodT...
2 reviews
“Perfect for a big group weekend away”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We've just returned from Bonsall and have had a lovely stay at Study Farm Barn.
There were 12 people in our group celebrating my 40th birthday.
It was easy to find with plenty of parking. Jayne was there on our arrival and showed us round.
We stayed in on the first night and the huge dining room table ensured we had plenty of space to eat together.
The cottage is a few miles from Matlock Bath where we spent a lovely afternoon on the Saturday. On the Saturday night we went for dinner in Matlock which was only 5 miles away.
The Barn was a perfect place for us to stay. It was warm and big and Jayne has created a really homely place to stay. We didn't have great weather but the terrace would be ideal for a few pre dinner drinks!
If we were ever looking for a large property to go on holiday to I'd definitely return and I will recommend to others.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melanieri...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Extraordinary holiday in a wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We travelled to Derbyshire with my husbands parents and bothers and all extended family, there were 12 of us in total, including 4 young boys. What a wonderful time we all had! It started off by settling into this wonderful cottage that was so incredibly spacious and comfortable with all the amenities you could ask for. The beds were extremely comfortable and the property was big enough to enjoy adult conversation while the kids were asleep in a different part of the house.
The owners who met us on the day of arrival were so lovely and accommodating, we really couldn't have asked for a better location.
Down the road is a lovely little children's play area and a cosy tea room. Quite nearby is a lovely little pub where they can accommodate a large party in a separate section of the pub.
We had a wonderful time and I can highly recommend this beautiful cottage

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth P
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful break in superb accommodation in a beautiful village setting”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

As a party of 12, 2 Grandparents, 4 Mums and Dads, 5 young children and a teenager this was an amazing place to spend a family holiday. Very spacious, best equipped kitchen we've found in all our experiences of holiday accommodation, comfy beds, proper cots not travel cots. Jayne is a great host and willing to help in anyway needed. The working farm added another dimension for both children and adults alike, to make this definitely a place to visit again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April D
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this place.”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I recently spent the weekend there for my 40th birthday. We loved it. The cottage was spotless, spacious and light. With stunning views of the Derbyshire hills. .
The owner jayne was warm, friendly and helpful.
Thank you. .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing