We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Spinney Farm Alpacas
Fantastic views
View from the front door
Living room
Kitchen
Bathroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bonsall, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wgh1988
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage”
Reviewed 12 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at the end of February half term. The cottage was ideal for a family of 4, well situated, clean and cosy with beautiful views. We enjoyed walks from the door and down into Bonsall to the pub (the cottage is up high above the village so it is quite a steep walk back up). We cycled along the Monsal cycle trail for miles from Hassop station which was level and easy for the children. They also enjoyed the playgound in the village and the tea room. From a practical point of view, it is worth noting that the fridge is very small, we ordered a supermarket delivery and we couldn't fit it all in despite it only being a small delivery for a long weekend's stay. Luckily, the weather was very cold so we were able to store items outside and in the car but if staying for a week, don't do a big shop.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Feb 2018
Thanks Nikki you're more than welcome to come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pauline C
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super views and lovely stay”
Reviewed 16 December 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a weekend stay at the cottage and fount it was comfy, clean and it had everything we needed, with super views from the windows. Norma responded quickly to our request and made the booking so easy. We would certainly like to return again, especially in the spring or early summer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2017
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, we would love to see you again.
Norma.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freedom68...
2 reviews
“Could not have been better”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Fabulous location and cottage. Everything was as started on the website and Norma was very helpful with directions when the main road was closed! There was even half a dozen very tasty eggs waiting for us when we arrived. Would definitely recommend Spinney Farm Cottage. Would also recommend the Fountain Tearooms in the village. Thank you Norma

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davedood
burton on trent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Brilliant, family friendly, great location, couldn't ask for more!”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

ok so first things first, were a family of 2 adults, and 2 toddlers, 3 and 4 yrs of age. What's important to us is that we can have a home away from home, without having to take too much of our home with us.

So before you go, the host makes sure you have everything you need for your arrival. perfect clarity on how to gain entry, how to get there, and times too. its about a 5-10 minute drive to Matlock/ bath. we came from Luton, so arrived from the south. There's a bit of a slow windy 1 track road for a few hundred meters as you approach the locale of the property, but there's plenty of passing places, and lets face it, seclusion doesn't come straight off a main road does it!

The property was beautifully clean and ready for our arrival. the quality of furnishings and fixtures is just as you would expect and to a high standard. The beds were comfortable (King and 2 x single) and the linen was all fresh and clean and of a high quality too. The appliances in the kitchen are all good and fit for purpose, with a fridge freezer, microwave, kettle, electric oven and Hob. we did not need, or feel without anything else. There is cutlery and plates etc... ok so you get the drift now, the place has been very well thought out and catered for so that you dont feel left without anything.

One important thing to us, is electrical sockets. with so many tablets, laptop, phones and other electrical appliances of our day, we need places to plug stuff in to charge and or use. This cottage has plenty of sockets, very well distributed around the house. this made our stay very comfortable. The bedrooms have a wall mounted TV each and freesat box, which i dont think is on the listing, but was a major plus to us, so our lil uns can go to bed watching tiny pop, as they do at home. what im trying to say is that it is a perfect home from home. Some places you stay at and some small niggle holds you back or takes the kiddies out of the norm and makes them miserable little tykes for the holiday etc.. you get the drift. it didnt happen here. This cottage delivered and we will definitely be returning if the host will have us.

Thank you for having us and commendations on your beautiful, clean and well delivered property.

Dave and family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2017
Dear Dave and family
I'm glowing! Thank you for your praise, it's nice when someone takes the time to review your property and really nice when someone notices how much we try to get things right. Yes you can definitely come again. Hope to see you soon. Norma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin230...
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet with lovely views very private - great cottage”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Excellant cottage, no faults plenty of hot water, no wifi but we found if I used my phone as a mobile 4G hotspot upstairs we could pair all our devices with it downstairs. Nice and clean and private.
Booked for Chatsworth RHS show. A week wasnt enough tbh. Try visiting Haddon Hall, Renishaw Hall, Bolsover Castle, Crompton mill and canal walk, Chatsworth House, farm shop and garden centre. Views excellant. I sat out most nights until 9pm. Weather permitting. You wont go wrong booking here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing