We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location welcoming pets”
Review of The Barley Mow

The Barley Mow
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Bonsall
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Barley Mow is a lively and eccentric Free House located in the beautiful village of Bonsall. Famous for the 'World Championship Hen Races', and for being the most likely place to be abducted by aliens according to UFO magazine ! Fine food, great ale & one of the best live music venues in the area !
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location welcoming pets”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Collette the landlady was very friendly and welcoming and ensured we had seating to accommodate the 4 adults and our dog. The pub is quaint and it was clear the locals visit regularly and they too were welcoming travellers and their pets.
The food was great and well priced and the atmosphere was amazing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kazeebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    43
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great home cooked food!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Having brought our puppy away with us (Jasper) we tentatively popped our heads-around to ask permission to bring him in. Collette (landlady) was very welcoming and made a lovely fuss of the pooch. it is a small pub but enough covers to serve food or stand up at the bar area. We ordered our drinks and sat at a table ready to decide what meals to have. Loved the catches on the seats to loop the dogs lead into

Collette was very helpful and even made our veggie daughter a lovely risotto. I had the lasenger which I can highly recommend, hubby opted for a veg curry which he loved and the teenager lad had a mega burger & it was massive! Although we had to wait, it was certainly worth it... Good honest home cook food, drinks aplenty and lovely staff (Josh the barman). If going to Matlock (we stayed in Rose Cottage) this pub is a must to visit. Good quality food, beer & hospitality!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasper_Columbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Locals pub with good food and amazing music”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We found the Barley Mow after a short google of the pubs in and around Matlock. On ringing to ask about how busy they were I reached an answer phone which described it as the best pub in the world, how right they were. We booked a table in advance as with a beer and music festival on for Easter weekend we assumed correctly that they would be busy. On arrival we found a lovely atmosphere with locals happily discussing the days events. It is a small pub with only one room, for us this was refreshing as most of our local pubs have been opened up and 'gastroed'. They have all sorts of fascinating things attached to the ceiling which makes for a real old pub feel. We were greeted by a bar-man who showed us to a table, shooing the locals off first. There was a vast selection of beer and cider, both local and more countrywide. I have to admit we sampled a fair few between the six of us. The food choices are displayed on boards over the bar, there was a wide range for all with a decent veggie risotto, between us we had the monster burger, fish and chips, steak and gammon. No complaints here, the food is well prepared using local meat from Holloway with proper chips and salad. Puddings were offered but we were all to full to manage any. The music for the evening was an acoustic guitar session, this was fantastic, people just rocked up and played together. We were particularly impressed with Josh? Who was fantastic. We stayed there happily until 11.30 and the night was still going on. For us a brilliant night with lots of laughs and chats with the locals. Everyone is happy to share the room locals and visitor alike, and of course a mix of dogs. We will return next time we are close, looking forward to it already.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hazlinkinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great welcome, lovely old pub, great food, great beer.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Been twice in last month during walks in Matlock area. Always a great welcome when booking by phone. It always gives a good impression. Good selection of pub food served timely and hot. Super selection of beer. Our two sets of friends / relatives loved it. Will be back. Great to still find this kind of pub in the Peak District. Not an expensive restaurant but a great traditional pub.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank derbyminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent lovely pub & a real gem”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Emailed last night to reserve a table for lunch today. Received a reply from Colette the landlady, even though she was away, saying it would be fine. Arrived for lunch a little early today and our table was ready and waiting. Colette had warned us that it would be busy and that we should be prepared for a wait. So many people in such a small space all waiting patiently in turn, sampling and ordering real ales, chatting and listening to Eddie behind the bar. We watched the towering burgers being delivered to the tables, smelling our food being cooked. When our lunch arrived, we were not disappointed, huge tasty locally produced sausages, and the lasagne was delicious. What a fine atmosphere ! And sunshine too - what more could we have asked for. All in all, a fine meal, in good company in the Derbyshire countryside. We shall return and hope to meet you next time Colette.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barley Mow also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Barley Mow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing