We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fountain Tea Rooms Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Hodgkinson's Hotel(Matlock Bath)
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Wirksworth)
US$112
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peak Edge Hotel(Stonedge)
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bagshaw Hall(Bakewell)
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
26
2
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
2
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely placethe ownerpeak districtmatlockbedroomestablishmentvillagebathwalking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We had tea and cake sitting on the patio, it is real sun trap. It was a lovely spot and the cake was good to eat as well as good value. We went back again before we left the village. The staff were very friendly.The view is good

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank value62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here for one night recently and was very impressed. Decor and furnishings all lovely and new, really comfy bed. Brilliant bathroom with a good size shower and a seperate bath (this was in the double room). Like the fact that it is self contained above the tea rooms and thats were you go for your breakfast. Once the tea room is closed you just let yourself in the side door which leads to the two rooms. Really nice relaxed atmostphere in there and friendly helpful staff. I much prefer this to a B & B in someones house where I tend to be uncomfortable with whispered breakfasts in the morning.
The filling breakfast really set us up for the day nicely presented and delicous.
Wouldnt hesitate to use agin if visiting the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Excellent breakfast , can't be faulted , the only thing that annoyed me was the draft coming through the door that people kept leaving wide open, after getting up twice to shut it , gave up, having said that it wouldn't put us off returning

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ziggy1Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed a week in jan 2013 in the newly opened 1st floor self catering apartment in a stone building at the rear of the Tea rooms. (B & B is also available in the main building). We were the 1st people in the recently opened apartment. This apartment is beautifully furnished and decorated and it appears no expense has been spared in making this cottage/apartment functional, comfortable and an interior decorating 'tour-de-force' By functional I mean no fluffy shag-pile carpets but beautiful easy clean hard floors and leather sofas etc. Ann (who runs the tea rooms) and her partner Ade were efficient, welcoming and very friendly. A big bonus is being able to 'nip' next door to said Tea rooms for a coffee and/or 'cake fix' or treat yourself to a cooked breakfast and avoid the washing up. Do you get the impression we were most impressed ? Thanks Ann & Ade, hope to see you again.

Room Tip: Be aware if you have mobility problems access to the apartment is via a flight of steep stone steps on the outside of the building.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We called just for a warm drink ,but were tempted into some of the fantastic cakes on offer , the tea to our suprise is loose leaf, which shows they want to make an impression ,in the days of the modern caf'e food and drinks generally are seved to you with a take it or leave attitude , but at the Fountain everything is delivered by two young girls with a smile and very polite conversation ,which again shows they want to impress, I have to say they really did ,which is why we WILL RETURN

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sdmmmtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews