We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B and will get even better!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bonsall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Townhead Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Bonsall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We were made to feel very welcome and the accommodation was first class. We loved room 5 which was attractively furnished and was quiet and private. The lounge/breakfast area was excellent and we were invited to use the settee, extensive library and TV at any time. There was an additional sitting area linked to a fitted kitchen and this could be used for sandwich making for packed lunches or preparing a meal in the evening. From this room there was access to a private garden which was in the process of becoming a lawned area with outside table.
The breakfasts were very enjoyable, tasty and freshly cooked and Caroline guessed correctly that I could manage a portion of black pudding in addition to the full English odered.
Our purpose for being in the area was to explore footpaths and Townhead was ideal - out through a gate at the back of the property and straight onto the hills over Matlock. Bonsall village offered 2 good pubs and we had a great night with local musicians 'jamming' in the Barley Mow.
Our host were very accommodating and offered to pick us up if we went for a longer walk. We will certainly be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: We are sure the quality is excellent throughout
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Townhead Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2013

Caroline and Dave were great hosts for our 2 night stop in this comfortable converted farmhouse B&B. Always happy to provide advice on local pubs, restaurants and places to visit. Separate communal kitchen area was available if needed. Excellent full english to set us up for the day - I can especially recommend the black pudding! Double bed was a bit too soft for our liking but apart from that a great place to stay! Ample car parking on site which was essential in this picturesque village as there was very limited street parking available due to the narrow roads.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We were greeted with a warm welcome, Caroline and Dave could not have been more helpful, Dave was busy making the bread ready for the following mornings excellent breakfast. Comfortable clean and well equipped, with the use of the lounge area and self-catering if needed. One of the best B&B's we have stayed in. Located in a quiet village with easy access to the surrounding area, with good onsite parking. We will be coming back as we could not fault our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jd97500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Recently taken over by new owners, Dave and Caroline, Townhead farmhouse and Bonsall are great places to stay and visit.

Lovely building, casual and welcoming atmosphere, comfortable and spacious en-suite room, English breakfast with a twist in the breakfast room with log fire (full English available but try the scrambled egg on toast or creamy egg and salmon pots - we liked both! - plus tasty homemade bread/toast and homemade jams and marmalade).

We also liked the availability of the self-catering kitchen. We didn't use it much as only staying two nights, but perfect for a longer stay - whether for making packed lunches to take on your walk, or for something more substantial.

Directly out onto the countryside and path network behind the house and lots of information, books and maps of the local area available.

We also loved the pubs in Bonsall. Tasty evening meal and warm welcome at the more traditional Kings Head, then on the the Barley Mow which had great music, atmosphere, and a complete mix of characters from young to old. A memorable evening!

We will definitely be back for another visit to Townhead farmhouse.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

As 5 intrepid explorers we decided to have a weekend away walking in the Peak district. As Dave and Caroline have been friends with two of the group for many years it was an easy decision to give their B&B a try. We could be accused of being biased but all our group were unanimous in their praise - we were not disappointed in any way at all, the welcome is warm, the choices for breakfast excellent and even though Dave and Caroline are refurbishing the house our comfort was assured. The rooms we had were clean, the beds very comfortable and all rooms were en-suite. The village of Bonsall is on the edge of the Peak District and is ideal for walkers but for those who are less energetic there is plenty to see and do with plenty of history nearby. The B&B is in the heart of the village with a couple of great pubs both very different in character (well we had to try them!). All we can say is: Thank you Dave and Caroline - we will be be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

A friend and I made a last minute booking at this B&B during a short stay in Derbyshire. We were met with the warmest welcome, and were well looked after to the same standard, with a clean en suite room, fresh milk for tea, a real fire on our return from supper, and a delicious breakfast of freshly made bread, smoked salmon and perfectly scrambled egg.

This is an ideal location to visit a beautiful part of England, with limestone valleys, clean streams, moorland, and a wealth of local history, all within a short drive. We spent some happy hours exploring Arkwrights Mill in Cromford, a fascinating view on the industrial revolution, and unique small businesses as well (http://www.arkwrightsociety.org.uk/content/arum-lilie-designs-0)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed here for one night in March with two young children. The owners were very hospitable to us all and provided us with a delicious breakfast including wonderful homemade bread, even though the kitchen was having a make-over at the time! The rooms were lovely and warm, very clean and comfortable with fresh milk to go with the tea and biscuits. We would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonsall
1.2 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
308 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
378 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pig of Lead
Pig of Lead
#2 of 5 in Bonsall
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cascades House and Gardens
1.1 mi away
Ashdale Guest House
Ashdale Guest House
#2 of 8 in Matlock Bath
139 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#2 of 53 in Matlock
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhead Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhead Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: 70 High Street, Bonsall, Matlock DE4 2AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Bonsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bonsall
Price Range: £66 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the delightful village of Bonsall with its 2 great pubs and maze of footpaths. Easy reach of motorways but close to Derbyshire Dales and Peak District attractions such as Chatsworth House, Heights of Abraham and Haddon Hall. Relax in front of the log fire and enjoy local food cooked on our Aga. Secure bicycle storage and washing facilities. Muddy boots and pets welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Townhead Farmhouse Bed And Breakfast Bonsall, Derbyshire - Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing