We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended, Lovely Accomodation, Host and Village”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bonsall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Townhead Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Bonsall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended, Lovely Accomodation, Host and Village”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights over the August bank holiday weekend.
We found Carolione to be warm and welcoming and we were made to feel weclome and relaxed in her lovely home.
The house is beautiful and we were were really happy with our room. It had bags of character and was tastefully decorated, very clean and the bed was the comfiest ever!!
The communal lounge area and kitchen are an excellent facility if you want to be able to prepare picnics/lunches to take out with you for the day. We especially liked being able to get fresh milk from the communal fridge to use in our tea/coffee.
We were welcomed with freshly baked flapjack.
Breakfast was served in a delightful dining room. It was very good with fruit and cereal and a good choice of cooked items along with home made bread and preserves.
We spent both our evenings in the Barley Mow, a lively village pub with decent pub grub. When we were here over the bank holiday they had a beer & cider festival on along with live bands. Over the course of the weekend my husband just about managed to work his way through the list of ales! We also had lunch one of the days in the tea rooms in the village, this was very pleasant too.
Bonsall is a lovely village, very quiet, but not too far from some of the more popular attractions in the region.
We enjoyed some very nice walks straight from the door of the B&B.
There are some lovely extra touches here (along with an excelent host) that turn this from being just a good B&B to an excellent one.
I would not hesitate to recommend a stay here.
Thank you Caroline for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsOLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
45
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The hosts are really friendly and helpful. Me and my sister took our parent's for a two night stay. David and Caroline were kind enough to ask regular guests who had already booked to move to another room so our Dad who had a stroke several years ago could be accommodated in the downstairs room. Nothing was too much trouble. The guests lounge area is very useful and the small guests kitchen is excellent for those who don't want to eat out. I wouldn't hesitate to visit again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Suse49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at the Townhead Farmhouse for two nights to celebrate my parents' golden anniversary. Caroline and Dave could not have been more helpful in making it a very special occasion. In fact we took over their dining room for a delicious Aga cooked celebration meal. The setting is lovely - lots of walks from the doorstep. Our four children were made to feel very welcome despite the beautiful bone china tea cups. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sooben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed at the Townhead Farmhouse for three nights. Bonsall is a very pretty village, central to many lovely places in Derbyshire. Caroline and Dave are extremely welcoming. The breakfasts were superb and set us up for the day. The room was attractive, clean and well presented. Particularly handy is the living room overlooking the garden which we used before meeting up with our family each day. We are looking forward to returning to Derbyshire and will certainly stay at this Guest House again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneMcG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Caroline and David are great hosts and our room was a delight. Unexpected bonus: the price on the 3rd night was cut to 50 pounds.

A perfect stay. 3 nights was not enough to explore everything. Will remain there a week next time. Very central for Derbyshire fans.

Room Tip: Its such a quiet village, all rooms must be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StephenB92617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My friend and I decided last minute to spend a couple of days in Derbyshire, and found this charming B&B with a room available. It was a wonderful choice! The breakfast was delicious, our guestroom spacious and well decorated, with a comfortable bed. Mostly though, it was a relaxing and quiet place to get away to, and the hosts were so gracious. I'd definitely come back to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baylorbear2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I stayed in Townhead Farmhouse for a weekend to see the Peak District and do a bit of walking. The hosts were brilliant, and helped to plan some excellent walks. A really gorgeous location and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonsall
1.2 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
262 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
368 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pig of Lead
Pig of Lead
#2 of 5 in Bonsall
119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cascades House and Gardens
1.2 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 7 in Matlock Bath
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhead Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhead Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast

Property: Townhead Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Address: 70 High Street, Bonsall, Matlock DE4 2AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Bonsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bonsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the delightful village of Bonsall with its 2 great pubs and maze of footpaths. Easy reach of motorways but close to Derbyshire Dales and Peak District attractions such as Chatsworth House, Heights of Abraham and Haddon Hall. Relax in front of the log fire and enjoy local food cooked on our Aga. Secure bicycle storage and washing facilities. Muddy boots and pets welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Townhead Farmhouse Bed And Breakfast Bonsall, Derbyshire - Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing