We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and friendly B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bonsall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Townhead Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Bonsall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent and friendly B&B”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have just returned from three nights at Townhead Farmhouse. Caroline and David are efficient and friendly hosts. Breakfasts are substantial and served in a lovely dining room. There is a separate residents lounge overlooking the garden and hills beyond. The lounge has a small kitchen area, ideal to store drinks or make a quick snack.

The room we had was not large as this is an old converted farmhouse, but contained everything needed and had a very comfortable king size bed.

Bonsall is an interesting village and centrally placed for many day trips. There is also interesting walking from the door. A good sleep is guaranteed as the village is very peaceful.

For the evening the Kings Head is about 300m away, downhill there, but after a drink or two you won't notice the slope on the way back. It's a great pub. Good beer and food together with a landlord who is very friendly.

We will return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CambsNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
46
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I had a very good two-night stay in this B & B. I arrived to find Caroline and David making marmalade, and sure enough, it appeared on the breakfast table the next morning. My room was comfortable and warm. They made me very welcome and even gave me a lift to the start of an excellent walk back to Bonsall along the Limestone Way.
Breakfast was delicious, with lots of choice and very good seeded homemade bread which made fantastic toast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montabaur, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Caroline and David are really excellent hosts. Breakfast is first class from home baked bread, Porridge and full english/scottish. Bedrooms are exactly what a Cottage B&B should be like. Staying for 8 nights, it was a real bonus having the kitchen and sitting room area, especially when the weather is bad. 6 friends joined us for New Year and they were equally impressed. The views down to Derwent Valley & Chatsworth Estate are simply without comparison. It is not essential to stay in the heart of the Peak District, however it would be a sin not to stay here on the edge of it. If we have to stay in the Peak District again, this is the address!! From a family of four from Germany and Yorkshire

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Caroline and Dave were excellent. They provided a delicious breakfast that included fresh fruit, homemade bread, locally sourced produce and my husband's new favourite "Aga Eggs". Our room was quirky, cosy and very clean. The space available to guests other than their rooms is a fantastic plus. We would definately recommend Townhead Farm and Bonsall. The village has a tea room and two fantastic local pubs. It is perfect for walking and sightseeing.

Room Tip: We liked the downstairs room as it has the largest bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leapyloopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

David & Caroline are very welcoming, the breakfasts brilliant and the rooms are spacious.
The kitchen area is an really good idea as it means you can heat up soup/fish and chips etc when you get back from your walks.

The location allows easy access to lots of places to walk, cycle or just visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlenW497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

we recently stayed at Townhead with friends while we visited Chatsworth House and I must say Caroline and David made us most welcome. It was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent, good choice and nothing was too much trouble. It is also a good location for walks and visiting local attractions like Chatsworth, Haddon Hall, etc. would stay there again any time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Thanks to David and Caroline for a lovely couple of nights. Very comfy, homely and welcoming. Delicious breakfasts. Great location from which to make visits or walk/climb etc. Log burner alight in the dining room this morning so we sat over our delicious breakfast far too long!! All very cosy. A 'home from home' feel about it. (Oh! and great home made bread too!!).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonsall
1.2 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
291 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#2 of 52 in Matlock
439 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pig of Lead
Pig of Lead
#2 of 5 in Bonsall
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 7 in Matlock Bath
461 reviews
1.9 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 52 in Matlock
430 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ashdale Guest House
Ashdale Guest House
#2 of 7 in Matlock Bath
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhead Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhead Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast

Property: Townhead Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Address: 70 High Street, Bonsall, Matlock DE4 2AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Bonsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bonsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the delightful village of Bonsall with its 2 great pubs and maze of footpaths. Easy reach of motorways but close to Derbyshire Dales and Peak District attractions such as Chatsworth House, Heights of Abraham and Haddon Hall. Relax in front of the log fire and enjoy local food cooked on our Aga. Secure bicycle storage and washing facilities. Muddy boots and pets welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Townhead Farmhouse Bed And Breakfast Bonsall, Derbyshire - Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing