We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xitang visit April 2014”

Xitang Ancient Town
Book In Advance
More Info
US$179.00*
and up
Xitang Water Town Private Day Trip from Shanghai
Ranked #1 of 2 Tours in Jiashan County
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small ancient town on water that still preserves its original look.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Xitang visit April 2014”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

this is really a superb place to visit; not so far from Shanghai is
this watertown; I spend a beautiful time here with my wife
and friends from china. Very nice atmosphere - we had a nice
walk - short lunch and trip by the boat - very relaxing experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickiVen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    862
    848
    211
    18
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Realaxing”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

From Shanghai you can take the speed train a 30min ride to Jiashan. And then from the train station take bus 222 that take you to Xitang or you can take a taxi for about almost 80 RMB one way. The cost to get in is 100rmb that includes some site that you can get into with your ticket inside Xitang. Expect to be there for around 3 to 4 hours to see everything Bring a Camera!. But for those of you interested of walking around for free there are many alley ways to get inside without paying that are by the China Post office. in town! Enjoy Oh make to bargin for your gifts too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank manny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Images of the past”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beautiful area to walk around by the river. Very picturesque. You feel like being in a different era! You see and smell all kind of food, not good smell actually, but this is what you expect to experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annahave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another Water Town”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The "city" is stretching along a long channel. There are not many opportunities to go left or right. Nevertheless it is a very interesting place with many interesting things to see. Especially the bone carving was very interesting for me as I haven't seen this before. Best case you walk the one way and take the boat the other way. Otherwise you have to be good at foot. Don't go there on Chinese Holidays. There is not enough space for so many people.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, very touristic”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

On Thursday, July 18th at 9:30 pm we were picked up in Shanghai by a Chinese guide cum driver who took us to Xitang, a water town riding on 1 ½ hours (mostly highway) west of Shanghai. The guide took us to the center, most visitors are deposited on a large car park outside the center. The town has an old center with an original channel structure. Nice, small, old (6th centuries), very photogenic and very busy. But what a circus. The entire construction of this former fishing village was around the canal filled with shops, eateries with a very touristy decoration. We have a short bootttrip made through the canal, very nice. Following a delicious lunch in a beautiful, converted into eatery, house. This restaurant / house seemed very original and was only sober decorated. Despite the very interpretation tourist visiting Xitang was very worthwhile. Our guide was a young man of 30 who spoke excellent English and guided us well. The old "water" center of Xitang is beautiful, very photogenic, the tourist dressing should unfortunately be accepted. We have enjoyed. On the return journey we have looked at a small piece of countryside, very nice and what a contrast to Shanghai. Our visit to Xitang was very well organized by Mirian Keuning of Sure-Exposure.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Frans v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Xitang Ancient Town also viewed

 
Jiashan County, Zhejiang
Jiashan County, Zhejiang
 

Been to Xitang Ancient Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing