We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Food for breakfast! Rooms Poor.”
Review of Saphir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saphir Hotel
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“No Food for breakfast! Rooms Poor.”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My daughter stayed at this hotel on a school trip. Room was adequate but if you go for breakfast in the 2nd sitting all the croissants and bread had been eaten by the early breakfast sitting and the staff would not replenish, hence very hungry children, not what we paid for - not value for moeny - CANNOT recommend for use by anyone.

Room Tip: no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeadOfTheFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    78
    77
    42
    40
See reviews for
126
45
7
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The hotel wasn't bad at first. nice receptionists who spoke english. a nice pool, but was kinda hard to get to. The lockers for the pool need locks and their elevators aren't very reliable. After walking all day it was really disappointing to have to find the elevators were broken and our room was on the 4th floor. The menus in the Le Jardin restaurant inside the hotel were only in french and the waiters spoke so little english that all they could tell us about the meals we were ordering were if they were beef chicken or fish. needless to say it was overpriced and we didnt go back. Tiny portions too. We didnt try the other restaurant however that is where the continental breakfast was served. The breakfast was ok. nothing special. however they do serve some awesome hot coffee drinks and some really good chocolate filled crescent pastries. The room was small, but i think thats how most rooms are in europe. Our biggest problem with it was the lack of available plug ins for our use. There were no plug ins at all in the bathroom and their hair dryers are way out dated. it must have taken an hour or more to dry my hair with it. All in all, for how cheap the room was and how accommodating the staff were i would consider staying here again though i hope they do some remodeling and updating.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
164 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel looks a bit "tired", it was built in the 80's-90's with a focus on business seminars obviously..the room we booked was very big, with a huge desk.
The bathroom was "used" and old fashioned, but the swimming pool, fitness restaurant allow travelers to make this place a convenient halt.
Many features designed for teens, such as the swimming pool and a game room.
Price is ok for what you get, but again do not expect too much.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2013

we felt very at home in this hotel
only two remarks:

it would have been nice to have
a water boiler in the room for making
a little cup of tea.

we would have liked to be able to go swimming
and using the sauna till late in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jeanine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Very nice hotel. Free parking, big and clean family room.
Breakfast was good as well, not very special, but enough choices and good taste.
We didn't use the swimmingpool, but it looked atractive.
Only downpoint was that the wifi didn't work that day...but since the whole hotel (including front desk) had no internet I guess that was a one day problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank W K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontault Combault
0.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Marne la Vallee Pontault Combault
Ibis Budget Marne la Vallee Pont...
#1 of 4 in Pontault Combault
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
4.8 mi away
Paxton Resort & Spa
Paxton Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ferrieres-en-Brie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Pontault-Combault
B&B Hotel Pontault-Combault
#3 of 4 in Pontault Combault
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Pontault Combault RN4 Marne la Vallee
Hotel ibis budget Pontault Comba...
#2 of 4 in Pontault Combault
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
10.3 mi away
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
#5 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
3.9 mi away
Novotel Marne La Vallee Collegien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saphir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saphir Hotel

Property: Saphir Hotel
Address: 114 rue des Bercheres, 77340 Pontault Combault, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Pontault Combault
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Pontault Combault
Hotel Class:3 star — Saphir Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saphir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing