We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A dream wedding at Chateau du Val”
other travellers have booked this property
Swimming Pool and gardens. : 15m heated pool with cover out of season, tennis court, private garde
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming Pool and gardens. : 15m heated pool with cover out of season, tennis court, private garde
The Lodge- 6 bedrooms,  sleeps 17. Fully independant ,private garden but enjoys the grounds of Chate 15 m heated pool open April to end October. Child safe.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Swimming Pool and gardens. : 15m heated pool with cover out of season, tennis court, private garde
The Lodge- 6 bedrooms,  sleeps 17. Fully independant ,private garden but enjoys the grounds of Chate
15 m heated pool open April to end October. Child safe.
All weather tennis court
Chateau and Park
Fully equiped kitchen and sitting room all geared for large groups
Dining room opens out onto terrace. Provides a great dance area for parties
Comfy seating area with wood burner. The sitting room has a number of sofas and easy chairs, TV,
Cavaliers suite with bathroom ideal for families: sleeps 6
Family Room with ensuite bathroom .
Iris bedroom
The Mariners Bedroom
Private walled garden with  garden furniture, large purpose built BBQ . Plenty of space for playing.
A day at the sea-side, a choice of sandy beaches and coves an hours drive away.
Ideal for a private event, weddings, celebrations with accomodation in the Chateau and Lodge
Elegant Salons in the Chateau
Let us organise a celebration dinner. Oak pannelled dining room for candlelit dinners
Taylor made Shooting Breaks, we organise a true rough shoot for groups 4-6 guns, full board
Private fishing lake-we can take you canoeing, kyak and rock climbing
A fun  morning clay pigeon shooting, let us know if you would like any activities organised
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Redon, Ille-et-Vilaine, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Kathalini...
1 review
“A dream wedding at Chateau du Val”
Reviewed 18 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We spent the most amazing week at Chateau du Val, celebrating our wedding with 30 close friends and family.
Jocelyn and Jas we simply phenomenal. They consistently went out of their way to make sure our day was as special as possible. They were flexible when the weather threatened to take a turn for the worse and were an absolute godsend when communicating with the florist, baker and caterer on our behalf.
We actually booked without visiting the Chateau (as we are based in the UK) and to be honest, the pictures don’t do the place justice. The idyllic surroundings are second only to the Chateau itself. Each room has its own character and charm and a wander into the attic gives you a real hint to the history of the property.
The lodge offered additional rooms for our friends, all of whom commented that they had a fantastic night sleep.
On the wedding day itself, Jocelyn and Jas executed every detail to perfection, from the seating to the table decoration, everything was perfect.
The caterer was absolutely fantastic. We opted for a cold buffet expecting the typical meat and cheese but the food surpassed our wildest expectations. We were initially concerned that there wouldn’t be enough to sustain everyone for the whole day but we were actually still eating leftovers the next day.
To say the food was delicious would be an understatement. Beautifully presented, there was something to cater for every taste, including a wide range of deserts and plenty for our vegetarian and gluten free guests to eat.
We can’t thank the entire team at Chateau du Val enough. The only thing our friends complained about is that we’ve now ruined every wedding for them as they just won’t live up to this trip.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim S
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Welcoming, beautiful, spacious and peaceful, with loads to do - what more could you want?”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This holiday exceeded all our expectations. The Lodge is a spacious and comfortable old building, full of character, with four ensuite double bedrooms and two doubles sharing a shower room. Several rooms are large enough for families to share, with extra beds and cots available. There are two enormous social areas, one with a kitchen along one wall (and a woodturner on another), the other having a general, downstairs bathroom and toy storage 'Squirrel Room' off it, plus an adjoining, rough-floored, barn-type games room, with table tennis. Outside, the courtyard is sunny and peaceful, perfect for evening drinks and chats, and the back garden must be about an acre of rough lawn, with a line of oak trees offering shade and long, outdoor refractory tables and chairs, enough for the 19 adults and 7 children we had on our peak days. The swimming pool is covered, with side-opening panels, kept in tip-top condition behind a lockable garden gate. The tennis court is also immaculate. The owners are extremely helpful, friendly and accommodating, allowing us to rent beautiful ensuite rooms in the Chateau itself for our extra guests and arranging superb entertainment for us, from a superb banquet in the Chateau dining room and French cookery lessons to local runs and Shetland pony-rides. Apart from a rather slow internet connection (which may well be improved by now), we wanted for nothing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The place and the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners
Liked least: The internet connection
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
It was a pleasure having you to stay and hope we see you again.

All the best
Jocelyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue s
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The bedrooms and bathrooms in the chateau need a good clean.”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We visited the chareau as guests of a large wedding celebration. Our daughter and family stayed in the lodge, which was basic but at least clean. Reminiscent of a Youth Hostel in the 70's, it had plenty of upcycled and worn out brown furniture.
Our chateau bedroom, on first glance attractive, proved filthy. Thick dust under the bed, more dead bluebottles around the windows than could be counted, the bed linen at least was freshly laundered. The shared bathroom was totally unacceptable, the bath stained, dirty with poor drainage and hot water taking ages to come through necessitating standing in an inch of cold water while taking a shower. The separate shared wc cubicle was extremely small and had no lock on the door, despite being for the use of several rooms!
I am surprised there have been no other comments regarding the lack of cleanliness of facilities in this property as other guests commented on similar standards in other rooms.
The chateau has extensive grounds and attractive gardens, ideal for large groups and families, it is a pity that internally it is so neglected.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
We are sorry to hear that you had issues with the cleanliness, we have now changed the cleaning service and since have had no complaints.
We have also overhauled the furniture in the lodge.

Jocelyn Saini
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Out of this world experience, brilliant group location”
Reviewed 8 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A fantastic combination of stunning setting with the adjacent/adjoining Chateau and really good accommodation with brilliant service combining total attention to your needs but with the freedom/privacy to make it feel relaxed and like home. Reckon it would be good for up to 10 adults comfortably, even more maybe and even more with kids.Real good, genuine, people and fun with it. Catering really good in our package but you might want to plan to starve before going and diet afterwards given the temptation! I really hope to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location, facilities, service
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2014
Thank you very much for the review, we thoroughly enjoyed having your party and really hope to see you back again. Lighter lunches will be served!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur T
Knowle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Second-to-none facilities in the most idyllic setting.”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our extended family enjoyed the wonderful facilities available in this remote and yet easily accessible part of Brittany. The Lodge was equipped with everything you could need to make your holiday relaxing and the house managers were very attentive and concerned that our holiday would be as enjoyable as possible. We swam, played tennis and table-tennis, went for walks in the surrounding forest and boated on the beautiful lake. We could have gone climbing but settled for scrambling up the rocky side of the lake. We explored the surrounding area, well-known for the impressive megaliths, and it was an easy drive for our one day trip to the coast.

Because there was so much to do on site we spent most of our time within the chateau grounds, with our one sure daily morning trip to the boulangerie in St. Just for our croissants, pains au chocolat, tartes sucres and many other temptations on sale!

The local markets and hypermarkets were a short car journey away and supplied more than enough produce for a wonderful variety of home-cooked meals but there was also a good choice of restaurants available should you choose to eat out (don't miss out on a creperie).

We could not praise the accommodation or facilities enough and would highly recommend The Lodge as the perfect holiday location, not only for getting away from it all, but with all those activities on site perfect for those who enjoy more than just catching up with all those books you haven't had time to read.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Almost impossible to answer - everything was so good.
Liked least: Can't think of anything!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2014
It was great for us to have you at the Lodge and hope to see you back again. We love the place to be used for family get togethers and its good to hear the activities on-site kept everyone happy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petes70th
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We held a 70th birthday gathering”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed a week so family and friends could come and go. It was great, having the extra bedrooms available in the Chateau , top floor, took out all the stress of the organisation, giving us more flexibility. A wonderful place, well equipped, great grounds in which to walk the dogs,(also made very welcome) and spacious throughout . With the lake to fish in, large swimming pool, tennis courts, etc, it covered all interests and everyone was able to do their own thing and with the wonderful large dining room we could all come together in the evening. We had a lovely relaxing time and all enjoyed themselves immensely . We would love to come again for his 80th!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds of the Chateau
Liked least: Internet was sometimes intermittent
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana M
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a good week at the Lodge which is very spacious and certainly big enough for at least 16 people. The owners are extremely hospitable and organised a great birthday lunch in the chateau next door. The lodge is in a glorious location surrounded by fields and woods which is great for walking. The weather was beautiful. The pool and tennis court are excellent (tennis racquets and balls supplied). The lodge is well equipped with enough crockery etc. There is a washing machine, dishwasher, fridge freezer, microwave, cooker and hob. There is ample parking space. Joss organised canoeing and rock climbing for all the family at La Gacilly which was great fun and enjoyed by all. Judith was the day to day manager . She was very helpful and was there to meet us on arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool and tennis court
Liked least: Lack of daylight in kitchen/lounge
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing