We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No bar or restaurant. Hinterland location.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Achim Bremen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN Hotel Achim Bremen
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Achim
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No bar or restaurant. Hinterland location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

On arrival were greeted by group of men drinking bottles of beer in the car park. Turns out this is because there is no bar but beer from a vending machine. Also no restaurant but you can also get mars and crisps from the vending machine to wash down with your vended beer. To be fair rooms are clean and have free wifi. Staff on desk helpful and friendly. Breakfast ok, typical German fare.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skier-tea_drinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Achim Bremen, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to create this feedback.

Sincerely,

Frank Rehfeldt
Resident Manager
BEST WESTERN Grand City Hotel Bremen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    93
    116
    24
    8
See reviews for
50
115
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Easily accessible located close to the Autobahn. Free parking. Hotel looks outdated, but room is clean, service is friendly and they serve good breakfast. Public transportation to the center of Bremen is convenient with bus stop nearby or a train station at 10min walk. One drawback: We reserved a cot for our daughter, but they didn't got that message. We asked the receptionist to arrange it when we get back from a visit to the city, but the cot still wasn't there. It finally arrived late in the evening, way past bedtime.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptkho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Achim Bremen, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 04202-76730.

Thank you again for taking the time to create this feedback.

Sincerely,

Frank Rehfeldt
Resident Manager
BEST WESTERN Grand City Hotel Bremen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

This hotel is a great location if you are travelling through Germany on the A1. My partner and I moved from Copenhagen to Scotland and drove our car and Golden Retriever back to the UK via the Amsterdam-Hull crossing. This hotel was 5 hours from Copenhagen and perfect location for a stop, straight of the Motorway. The hotel accepts pets at a additional cost of €10. The hotel was clean, quite, free parking and free WI-FI (however the WI-FI is VERY slow and I gave up after a while). It is a basic hotel but suited our needs completely as we just stopped for one night. The breakfast is the down side and I would definitely recommend you do not waste your money. It was an additional €9.95 each and served between 6am-10am. We arrived at 9am and there was hardly any food left. Empty hot plates, empty plates that once contained rolls and pastries, there was no juice in juice machine however this was filled about 10mins after we sat down. I could not tell you the quality of the food as we didn't have anything except toast and coffee, very dissapointing.

Room Tip: Away from railway line side. If you have a dog then ground floor as great 'dog toilet area'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Achim Bremen, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Maggie,

thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

On your day of travel we were very heavily booked, it is true there were a few empty plates at breakfast as you said. We apology for this.
Our team is always effort to fill everything up, we will continue to work on the quality of the buffet.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to create this feedback.

Sincerely,

Frank Rehfeldt
Resident Manager
BEST WESTERN Grand City Hotel Bremen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
197 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Great location when on road trip right next to Bremen.
Avoiding traffic jams and close to main roads.
Rooms were clean and breakfast had all the necessary.
Staff was kind and helpful. Private parking at site.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Achim Bremen, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 04202-76730.

Thank you again for taking the time to create this feedback.

Sincerely,

Frank Rehfeldt
Resident Manager
BEST WESTERN Grand City Hotel Achim Bremen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
227 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We have had written few reviews before we reach the hotel. Some of them a bit scary. The truth is not so dark.
The Grand City Hotel Bremen has great PR. And it works! First - the name of the hotel. Sitting in the car on hotel's parking and setting 'Bremen' your navigation says 16 km. Well, is it really Best Western Bremen?

Hotel is located between railroad and highway. To be honest, trains are not heard inside our room. We have seen passing trains but it is difficult to hear them. Our visit took place in December. Window was closed.
Rooms are well equipped, clean, bathroom is excellent, just after renovation. AC does not work. It is one and only complain since temperature was about 20 C, a bit cold.
Bed is hard, lights are rather dark. 32" LCD gives choice from 13 channels, including 3 news channels served in English (including BBC news).

Breakfast is solid but regular (very!).

Hotel lives from organized trips to Bremen. It is other side of good PR.
Unfortunately for some, Dinners are offered out of the hotel if you are a part of organized weekend as we have been. Walk 15 minutes to get a dinner is not a problem after few hours in the car - we have enjoy it.

Finally, fair rating is probably 3 stars but reception service was extremely helpful booking place in the restaurant for us - very difficult to make it during Bremen Christmas time weekend. Thank you.

Room Tip: Probably asking for a room not facing railroad could be a good tip, especially on summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdaandKristof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Achim Bremen, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 04202-76730.

Thank you again for taking the time to create this feedback.

Sincerely,

Frank Rehfeldt
Resident Manager
BEST WESTERN Grand City Hotel Bremen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We where traveling from Norway to the Netherlands. This hotel has an excellent location on first sight just 600 meters from the A1. But when you arrive it's also next to a busy railway. But that should be no problem with the windows closed right?
Wrong!!!
There is an airco in the room but that does not work. There is a temp controller that stands on full cold but it's like somebody is blowing in some cold air with a straw into the room. So there is a dilemma: open the window and listen to the noise of the trains all night or sleep in a hot bed. We chose the last. It was not a good night I can tell...
But: what do expect for this price?
Breakfast was good and fully 3-star standard.

Conclusion: fix the airco and we've got a winner!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cplcaubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Average 3 star hotel, reasonable rooms, but slightly below average restaurant. Not really close to Bremen either...

However, I was unfortunate enough to leave a couple of hundred Euros of Apple equipment in the room when leaving. I realised the next day and called the hotel, fully expecting them to have the items and return them, but they simply denied they had been left.

So be warned.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Achim hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Achim
Hotel NordRaum
#20 of 85 in Bremen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gieschens Hotel
#4 of 5 in Achim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Novum Hotel Hansahof
#72 of 85 in Bremen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Bahnhofsvorstadt
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bremen City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Achim Bremen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Achim Bremen

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Achim Bremen
Address: Zum Kluemoor 7, 28832 Achim, Lower Saxony, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grand City Hotel Achim Bremen)
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Achim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Achim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Achim Bremen 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Achim Bremen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wolfenbuttel
Wolfenbüttel Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing