We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient budget hotel just off the motorway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis budget Aachen Raeren Grenz
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Raeren
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very convenient budget hotel just off the motorway”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We have stayed here overnight several times to break the journey up from Germany to catch the ferry back from Dunkirk/Calais back to the UK. The hotel is just off the motorway so very conveniently placed. The beds are comfortable, it is very clean, there is free Wi-Fi and the TV has BBC1 and BBC2. The shower in the room is very good (powerful and hot) and there is a separate toilet, there are soap dispensers in both the shower and the wash hand basin (which is in the room) but the towels provided are a little on the thin side and there is no shower mat provided to step out on to so you may wish to take your own. The service station cafe next door has improved its meal selection since we have been staying there and you can now order pizzas in your room from the cafe although we haven't eaten there so we can't comment on the food. We have, on occasions ventured a couple of miles down the road to Eyenatten and had a meal at the italian restaurant 'Bella Italia' where we have had a good lasagne. They have a breakfast that you pay extra for but again, we haven't bought it so cannot comment. All in all, a good budget hotel that we wouldn't hesitate staying at again.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank walki_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia D, Directeur général at Ibis budget Aachen Raeren Grenz, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Deat Mr and Mrs Milton Keynes,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Silvia De Giorgi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    93
    61
    11
    5
See reviews for
72
60
31
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
porto heli, greece
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This should have been easy to find but our TomTom took us all around the houses! Anyway, once we did find the hotel we have a comfortable nights stay. We took the breakfast option for €7.50 which was basic but a reasonable choice and set us up for a day of driving. The staff were generally disinterested and the snow hadn't been cleared along the front of the hotel making it fairly treacherous on entry. However once inside it was warm & clean.

Room Tip: We had a room right at the end of the corridor next to the truck car park, but we didn't hear a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poseidonsailors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Booked online, arrived late but night desk clerk was great even found some extra pillows for us. We loved the room, it was quite simple but cozy but an excellent use of space. It was right off the highway although we had to pass it and circle back to it but that was easy enough. They had lots of vending machine with real food along with several place that looked like they were either open round the clock or at least very late.

Only slightly wonky thing was the shower, you had to basically get naked inside the shower as there was no place to be otherwise and then the shower had a couple clear glass cut outs so, we took turns showering while the other people waiting in the lobby.

Otherwise, no complaints

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaAndrew508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

On a trip to Brussels I overnighted at the IBIS (ex Etap) directly located at the German-Belgian border linked to a large gas- and servicesation for trucks and cars. Convenient parking in front of the enrance door. Late check in but even a very helpful staff was there. So no fights with booking-codes, creditcards aso. Clean and large room (good for 3 actually), Free WIFI and some vending machines for drinks etc in the lobby. Breakfast can be preordert to be served in the resto. Anyhow I left early, so no need. Since I had some spartime I drove downtown Aachen to get fuel (cheaper than at the HWY station) and walked around the famous catherdral. Just a few minutes drive. .

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

good transit hotel just off the motorway, between germany and belgium, safe, quiet, clean,free wi-fi, with enough parking spaces since is a service station there too. 24 hours reception. it can be tricky finding hotel, since is just of the motorway, just look for the service(petrol station) sign on the border between germany and belgium.

Room Tip: maybe is better to choose a room that is not towards the motorway, but even there i had no problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank razvan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We just needed a bed and had to get up very early. For this price, we could'nt have a better solution. No holiday feeling, but very good value for money. Comfortable bed, all you need is there, no luxury of course. It was very hot in the room and we could'nt open the window because of the noise from the highway.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilde C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raeren
23.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Liege City Center
3.7 mi away
Relais Koenigsberg
Relais Koenigsberg
#34 of 41 in Aachen
27 reviews
25.0 mi away
Husa de la Couronne
Husa de la Couronne
#5 of 19 in Liege
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Bosten
17.9 mi away
Silva Hotel Spa - Balmoral
2.9 mi away
Art Hotel Aachen Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis budget Aachen Raeren Grenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis budget Aachen Raeren Grenz

Property: Ibis budget Aachen Raeren Grenz
Address: Aire de repros de Lichtenbusch, Raeren 4731, Belgium (Formerly Etap Hotel Raeren Aachen Grenze)
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Raeren
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Raeren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis budget Aachen Raeren Grenz 1*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis budget Aachen Raeren Grenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing