We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Finca al-manzil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca al-manzil
Shetland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here for 10 nights in September with friends and totally loved it. We rented the Cortijo and found it to be incredibly comfortable, well-equipped, beautifully maintained and roomy. The house is much bigger than expected and easily accommodated six of us. We made full use of the front and side terraces and the outdoor table round the back was great for eating at. The pool was kept clean and was very refreshing when it got a bit hot.
It was beautifully designed and wish that we had had more time to enjoy the full range of books and dvds provided.
The photos do not give justice to the great siting of the house beneath the rocky ridge and the views across the olive groves to the front.
The location was perfect for our holiday as it gave easy access to the towns of Trujillo and Caceres. We also enjoyed walks to nearby Montanchez for coffee and beer in the square and the many jamon shops. The bakery in someone's front room just off the square had nice bread and pastries. Birdwatching sites such as Monfrague and the Serena plains were also within easy travelling distance.
Pippa and Manfred were available when needed, but did not intrude upon our privacy.
Thoroughly recommended and would love to revisit in the spring.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcieSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    6
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We absolutely adored our stay here. It is very hot in July and there are mosquitos, but that was to be expected. The terrace at the back has a barbeque and we spent lovely summer meals outside. Pippa and Manfred were very helpful.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dewijdewereld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We visited in mid May and were astonished at the incredible wild flowers everywhere (as well as being grateful that we'd checked the weather forecasts and had brought warm clothes for chilly evenings). The days that were sunny gave us a glimpse of how special a holiday in this cortijo could be. Swimming pool tucked beneath the mountains, fabulous birds and a spacious and interesting house to be in, interestingly furnished and with an unrivalled collection of books. Don't come expecting powerful showers and loads of bright lighting - that's not the point...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank outofbreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We booked the Barn because of the beautiful surroundings and stunning birdlife. And that is absolutely what we found. But, the house itself was poorly cleaned and we got the impression that it is kind of neglected. Also, we didn't feel welcomed by the owners and communication was poorly and distant. We mentioned a leaking sink on our first day, but it took days before it was sort of fixed, but not properly. The ratio between the price and quality is out of balance.
It is a shame, because the property has a lot of potential. If cleaning and communication woud be better, we would rate it 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JolandaTilburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finca a, Owner at Finca al-manzil, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Have only just noticed this review, This review is NOT about our barn at Finca al-manzil. This client stayed for some days at the barn but she wanted to stay longer, the barn was booked up for the extra days she wanted so we kindly accommodated her in another house which we manage, she was happy to move there to prolong her holiday. This house is also definitely not neglected in ay way, there was a problem with the sink, a tiny little drip, we replaced the rubber around the plug but it still leaked a little, we advised putting a bowl underneath for the remainder of the stay until we could dismantle the tube, really a small problem which should not have interfered with anyones pleasure in staying in our specially beautiful environment, what a shame this loomed so importantly in this clients experience that she felt it even necessary to mention. I repeat this is NOT about the barn at Finca al-manzil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

Okay so my timing was terrible, forgot how hot Spain could be in August. But annual vacation dates forced choice. The temperature was around 33 degrees and bearable. Fabulous location, isolated and surrounded by accessible walks. This Finca is the place to escape to, switch off and relax. Beautifully designed with all possible facilities at hand. Highly recommend.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burton on trent
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

If you don't want to do much on holiday and like it hot, this could be your ideal destination.
It does get hot and the barn has no air-conditioning but then this is Spain! and we don't
come here in the height of summer unless we are thick-skinned or just thick. When you can
get on your feet and go somewhere, the options are various. Wonderful cities steeped in
history, a landscape as beautiful as it is harsh and empty, wildlife in epic quantities and a heritage of food that defies belief. If this area fails to move you, then you don't get Spain

Room Tip: only book the barn if you can sleep in a HOT room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coole-pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

A wonderful farm property near Montanchez Spain. The Finca offers complete rest and relaxation for travelers not interested in routine run of the mill vacation hotels. It is in the wonderful countryside of fig trees and acorns as well as cork trees. From the Finca it is less than a hours drive to wonderful old Spanish cities such as Cacares, Trujillo and Montanchez.
We arrived here in September at the end of a hot spell, and the pool here was a welcome sight, but for the next week we had absolutely fantastic weather and temperatures. Pippa and Manfred, the owners were very
nice and comfortable to converse with as well. The accomodations were good with private toilets and shower facilities. The animals here were horses and cats and were very friendly. The large kitchen and dining room were very nice for our cooking and repas. There were two large verandas at the house, one off of the two bedrooms and the other off of the living room.
I enjoyed my meditation on the veranda in the early evening.We highly recommend this property and hope to enjoy it again in the coming years.

Room Tip: Up stairs bedroom with private veranda is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler7010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montanchez hotels
0.0 mi away
Balneario Fuentes del Trampal
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fuentes del Salor
Hotel Fuentes del Salor
#5 of 6 in Montanchez
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca al-manzil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca al-manzil

Property: Finca al-manzil
Address: camino rural arroyomolinos, 10170 Montanchez, Spain
Region: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Montanchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Montanchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca al-manzil is large estate in the magical Sierra de Montanchez, Extremadura. A perfect summer holiday, spring break or winter retreat in the CORTIJO for 6 OR Romantic BARN just for 2. Both houses have total privacy and enjoy spectacular views. Decorated with great care, a mixture of simple, good quality design with antique and ethnic furnishing, plenty of books for a good read on the patios and terraces. Bedrooms all en-suite, one with roof terrace, perfect for sunny breakfasts or star gazing. The swimming pool has stunning views of mountains and olive groves. Available for B&B when not rented. Walk directly into the Sierra on ancient Moorish paths, nature is a delight at any season especially Bird Watching. There are 4 World Heritage towns within 40kms: Caceres, Trujillo, Guadalupe and Merida, fascinating to explore, great night life and shopping. Horse riding, biking, and hiking from the finca. Welcome to join in the local farming activities & fiestas or a fun cooking morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Finca al-manzil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing