We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly coffee shop”
Review of La Cuisine - CLOSED

La Cuisine
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly coffee shop”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We visited La Cuisine at Port Solent and found it to be delightful with friendly staff. They have a large range of lovely cakes. I had a skinny cappuccino and a piece of their carrot cake which was delicious and moist, my husband had a latte and scone, butter, jam and cream which he thoroughly enjoyed. We sat inside as it was a very fresh day, but in Summer they have tables outside overlooking a private marina - the coffee shop is at the end of the Boardwalk at Port Solent so it is a great place to go for a relaxing coffee after a stroll around.. They do breakfasts and light lunches as well . The coffee shop also sells kitchen bric-a-brac which is displayed around the shop which makes it interesting. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishopstoke
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Light lunch”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My cousin and I were wandering around Port Solent looking at the yachts and came across this little gem of a kitchen shop which also serves the most delicious snacks and home made cakes. As it was lunch-time we were getting peckish but didn't want a full meal so the menu on display was just what we wanted. We were not disappointed; I chose the soup of the day which was leek and potato. It was obviously home made, full of chunky vegetables, rich and delicious in flavour; served with a freshly baked baguette and butter. My cousin plumped for a crusty baguette and smoked mackerel pate. The service was pleasant and tea-room bright and pretty. The cakes on disply looked mouth watering and I am sure we will be returning to try them.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,477 reviews
535 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 620 helpful votes
“On a Sunny Day in Summer”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Visited Port Solent On a lovely summer day and called into La Cuisine for Coffee and Cake. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, the range of cakes impressive and a table outside in the sunshine was ideal. Having said that, there is plenty of room inside and the tables are placed nicely apart. Apart from the afternoon offerings they have the usual sandwich and baguettes for lunch but the choice of fillings is quite inventive and wide. Additionally a range of filled jackets and daily specials are offered. The Coffee was good and there is a strong variety of teas. Service was excellent and it made for a good experience in a very pleasing ambience. Will definitely be back

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bsandrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, lovely people”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Beautiful light snacks (coronation chicken baguette, crok massure) in a lovely relaxed atmosphere, but very pleasant staff. Ideal location to spend a pleasant hour.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous tea & cake shop”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Fabulous cakes and other light snacks and friendly service. We travel (generally cycle) out of our way to come here for tea & cake. The shop is a little hidden away in Port Solent, but it's signposted.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bettina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cuisine also viewed

 
Cosham, Portsmouth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing