We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great base for exploring Aruba”
other traveller has booked this property
Relax in this totally private villa in a tropical garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in this totally private villa in a tropical garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Relax in this totally private villa in a tropical garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Savaneta, Aruba

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PANC J
Lima, Peru
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring Aruba”
Reviewed 6 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We used the Fortuna Villa as a base for exploring the entire island of Aruba over the course of two weeks. It was perfect for the four of us (two 60-something couples). Aruba in July is HOT, but this villa did all possible to ameliorate the heat. AC in the main living room and two main bedrooms worked very effectively and efficiently. Then outside you have an outdoor shower for washing off after the beach which you can do just before jumping into the wonderful pool . Ahh..... heaven. We did basic cooking on the inside stove but most meals were cooked on the outside BBQ which is in the tiki corner. It also has electrical burners, a small fridge, and a sink. We ate every single meal outside on a big table under the covered patio. Two very comfortable outdoor sitting area provided space both for privacy and for the four of us to sit around and chat over snacks and beverages. The house and walled yard provide great privacy and the house is quiet. Two good restaurants, Flying Fishbone and Zeerovers are nearby and there are about 30 small grocery stores within about a 10 minute drive. Getting around the island in general is easy from this location. We visited just about every named beach on the island, as well as the national park, the lighthouse locations on either end of the island, Oranjestad (several times), San Nicholas, and every birdwatching location we could find. Nothing takes more than about half an hour. They have great wi-fi throughout the house, both inside and out so we were able to stay in touch with aging parents and children. We have stayed in a lot of Airbnb places and this place is one of the best. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dank1044
waterville NY
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Peaceful in paradise ”
Reviewed 2 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Peaceful in paradise with a lot of options right across the street. The owners were extremely helpful some times return the question you had for them in minutes, Edwin was who met us at the house extremely helpful and very pleasant. The house is very beautiful inside and absolutely astonishing outside. Ambience at night is just beautiful! The flying fishbone is across the street one of our families favorite restaurant also Zee-rovers just next-door to that and across the street from Zee-rovers is a must go to bakery that is open 4 PM to 7 PM every day except Sunday It’s got a lot more than just baked goods there’s meats and sandwiches. There were nine of us in our party never was there the feeling of being stuck on top of each other outside there are three covered sitting areas not to mention the large sitting table outside the cabana is beautiful and has everything you want There’s a refrigerator , Grill with all you’re grilling utensils there’s even a double-sided sink for cleaning your dishes rather than bringing them all the way into the kitchen! Usually the pictures when renting someplace show all the beauty there were so many things when we got there that were not in the pictures that made our stay so much more relaxing. This place is a solid 10 ! We have stayed in Aruba before in the high rise area and had a wonderful time however we had a vehicle and if we ever felt we wanted to go to palm or Eagle beach it was just a short drive But that happened only but once because the house was so relaxing and beautiful. Also if you do choose to go to the beach, baby beach is very close and the house also has fins snorkel and mask’s. tubes and rafts for pool use.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fireant12...
manahawkin
1 review
“FANTASTIC!!!”
Reviewed 11 February 2018 for a stay in October 2017

My family and I spent two glorious weeks at Villa Fortuna. The rooms were spacious and well appointed.The outdoor area afforded all day sun and apt of privacy.The cooking facilities made making meals for 8 people a breeze.I will be returning this year for another slice of paradise!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petejayne...
Valparaiso, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paradise lost”
Reviewed 5 January 2018 for a stay in November 2017

Villa was shabby old and tired.
Amenities were poor with lots of things broken or missing, lighting terrible, kitchen I’ll equip and dirty.
Spent a lot of time cleaning before we could use anything.
Electric shower wasn’t working, family bathroom smelt and needed bleach in the drain daily and scented candles.
Tumble dryer didn’t work, pool was unusable for 4 days, it turned green and needed several visits from the pool company, pool lighting also didn’t work for 4 days.
Red pool chairs were rusty dirty and broken.
The surrounding area at the back looked like a fly tipping area.
The beach mentioned is unusable and horrid.
The pool area is ok, and was the saving grace of the holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2018
Thank you taking the time to provide a trip advisor review. It a great shame you felt your experience was so poor and completely different to our other guests and their consistently excellent reviews. Our cleaning team do an excellent job and never receive complaints. We checked all of the things that you said did not work and found them to be working perfectly? The pool water went green after a tropical rainfall which changed the PH balance, we rectified this immediately, restoring it to crystal clear water.
You mention the private land at the back of the property, this is not visible from the villa and not used for fly tipping? why would you trespass on land that has nothing to do with the villa and then leave a negative review?
We are sorry that you were not able to enjoy the local beach and unsure why you found it unusable and horrid? The beach has white sand, clear blue water and a lovely rock pool teeming with tropical fish. perfect for snorkelling.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful outside pool area, all of our guests love it so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Villa disappointing, outside area and pool amazing”
Reviewed 26 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived in the evening and were greeted by Edwin the villa manager and on our first impressions we thought that the outside area and the pool looked quite amazing. However on entering the villa the inside did not come up to our expectations. The doors were missing from the cupboard in the laundry area, we were told only to use the tumble drier on one setting as it did not work properly. The following morning, we found that the switch was missing from the overhead fan controller in the double bedroom and the switches on the bedside lamps in both bedrooms were broken and could only be used by plugging them in and unplugging them to turn them off, very difficult to do in the dark. The smoke alarm was found on top on the wardrobe, disconnected with no batteries. We were told by the manager to leave the door open on the family bathroom to disperse any condensation, however we found that was not the only reason, it was also to remove the smell from the drain in the shower as on several occasions when flushing the toilet, water came back up into the shower. The shower in the family bathroom was described as being electrically heated, however this was not the case and even the manager said that this wording should be removed from the details. In the details the view from the dining room was described as looking out over the ocean, although the ocean could be seen from the dining room, it was a mere gimps in the distant having first looked over the road, a large pipeline and onto what can only be described as wasteland. It was very scruffy around the perimeter of the villa and it appeared that somebody had been fly tipping, not a good feeling. On our first evening by the pool we found that there was no remote control to operate the mood lighting in the pool and the remote for the column lighting did not work. After just one day the pool turned green with what appeared to be algae. We contacted the manager with our list of problems who came the following day to try and resolve them, he arranged for the pool cleaners to come, which they did and they apparently put chemicals in the pool to clean it and we were advised not to use it for at least 24 hours, making the pool unusable for a total of four days. He did bring a remote for the pool lighting, but was unable to sort out the remote for the column lighting and suggested we switched them on and off at the main switch. He was unable to repair the switches for the bedside lamps, but he did get a control knob for the overhead fan which we fitted ourselves. The villa was very shabby and all the crockery and utensils had to be washed before we could use them. We left the villa cleaner than when we arrived. In our opinion it was not a luxurious villa as described in the details, but a bungalow with a reasonable pool area, very disappointing for the price we paid.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2018
Thank you taking the time to provide a trip advisor review. I am sorry that you were obviously coerced by your travel companion, Petejayne! how do I know this? well it is almost word for word identical to the review that was removed from airbnb due to its false claims! I will however respond here, this will be a long post.
1) THE DOORS WERE MISSING FROM THE CUPBOARD IN THE LAUNDRY AREA
There are no doors in the laundry area, so these are not missing! there are two Louvre panels that screen off the mops & buckets.
2) TOLD ONLY TO USE THE TUMBLE DRIER ON ONE SETTING AS IT DID NOT WORK PROPERLY
The tumble dryer DOES work! If it is full of heavy wet towels it can struggle with the tumble, but it is set on a slower tumble speed so this does not happen.
To tumble dry wet towels or washing would take an hour plus, in temperatures over 80 degrees they take just a few minutes on the line!!
The guest complained that this ruins the pool area??
They also had another option, in the beach hut there is another two washing lines, which could have used had they wanted to look at them around the pool!!!
3) THE SWITCH WAS MISSING FROM THE OVERHEAD FAN CONTROLLER
The manager acted very professionally he apologised to the guest, he explains that it it not broken and that the plastic switch for some reason was not there. He was baffled!
He said he will go and get another switch asap, The guest complained that the fan would not be working over night!! Every bedroom is fitted with fully controllable air conditioning!!
The next day the manager returned with a new switch. As AGREED he left the switch on the patio table rather than enter while they where out. so when the guest arrived back it could be easily pushed/clicked back on.
The guest makes this sound like she replace an electrical unit!!!
4) SWITCHES ON THE BEDSIDE LAMPS IN BOTH BEDROOMS WERE BROKEN
There are 2 bedside lamps in the main bedroom the guest complained to the manager that ONE was not working, he checked it and on/off twist button was MISSING?
This was again a surprise to him, he was becoming more and more baffled with the list of growing problems. There was another lamp in the room, a main light and several lamps in the villa. The manager checked all lamps and they were ALL in perfect working order!! The on/off switch was located under the bed after they checked out!
4) THE SMOKE ALARM WAS FOUND ON TOP ON THE WARDROBE, DISCONNECTED WITH NO BATTERIES
It is clearly stated on airbnb that the villa is NOT fitted with any smoke alarms and never was! So they have NOT been removed, The guest sent a photo to airbnb of the ceiling?? To back up her story that it was REMOVED!! This was a photo of a dehumidifier outlet, the pipes of which run inside the loft area!
5) THE SHOWER WASTE
Aruba has no mains water on the island all waste water is collected in tanks.
The property has 2 external waste water tanks, toilet waste in one and shower/sink/washing machine in the other (for recycling water). So it is IMPOSSIBLE for flushed toilet water to bubble up in the shower as the guest claims due to the plumbing pipework!!! Also this would not happen on occasions! It would happen every time as the water has nowhere to go!! Another instance of the guest creating a totally untrue issue!!
6) NOT AN ELECTIC SHOWER
Wow what can I say! THE SHOWER IS ELECTRIC!!! IWhy would a plastic box be fitted in the shower??
It works when water passes through it, there is an ELECTRICAL ELEMENT inside that heats the water!!
When the manager explained it did not have a water heater he was referring that it did not have a hot water tank that fed the unit. The guest jumped on his statement and created another issue!!
BUT I SAY AGAIN THIS IS AN ELECTRIC SHOWER, it heats the water as it passes through the unit!
7) LARGE PIPELINE AND WASTELAND
The pipeline you refer to runs practically the whole length from San Nicolas to the airport (several miles), it is above ground because it's close to shore the ground is CLIP (solid rock) I have never seen this mentioned on any other reviews written for the many hotels and rentals in this area, it's like complaining about the lampposts!
The land opposite the villa is not wasteland, it is owned and looked after by the Aruba government. It is never unsightly or overgrown, The people of Aruba do not fly tip, they are very proud of their beautiful island.
8) NO REMOTE CONTROL TO OPERATE THE MOOD LIGHTING
The guest was shown how to operate the remote controls for both the pool lights and the column lights upon arrival and these both worked perfectly.
9) THE POOL TURNED GREEN
This is Aruba’s rainy season, when there are heavy downpours the rain water in the pool affects the PH levels and the water rapidly goes green in the sunlight!
The pool maintenance people were called immediately, they added a salt solution to the water and returned the following day to clean the pool.
This was a weather related problem that was impossible to avoid.
10) THE VILLA WAS VERY SHABBY
All items are checked by the cleaning team!, for cleanliness and any missing or broken/chipped items that would need replacing before the next guests arrive. The cleaning team spend a minimum of 4 hours. We constantly receive excellent reviews and are never described as shabby, I have to disagree with your statement "we left the villa cleaner than when we arrived" due to the uncleanliness of the villa when you checked out!
11) VERY DISAPPOINTING FOR THE PRICE WE PAID.
I am very pleased that this was mentioned, In the first instance you bartered hard for a discount off of the original price, as you were staying 14 nights I gave you a 10% discount, the taxes in Aruba are payable on arrival this equates to 14% but when you arrived at the villa you told my manager that I had taken the taxes of too! no such thing! at the end of your stay I offered a further 10% refund, this was for the issue with the pool only, even though it could not have been avoided. you declined this offer, invented many issues and approached airbnb asking for a refund, after their thorough investigation it was found that your complaints were unfounded.
I was advised not to offer any refund.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell8...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Escape To Your Own Tropical Paradise”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
4
people found this review helpful

The villa was absolute bliss! Total relaxation! Just a 10-12 minute drive from the airport we were greeted with our own private pool, all lit up. We stayed for 14 nights and wished we could have stayed for 14 nights more! We hired a car and It was the perfect place to stay to explore the island (when we could tear ourselves away from relaxing around the pool!) The flying fishbone restaurant and zeerovers is just across the road, less than a few minutes walk and we often watched the sunset here whilst sipping cocktails and cold beer. The villa itself is beautiful. The inside is tastefully decorated in bright Aruba colours. We had plenty of room inside the villa. We made use of the beach equipment and cool boxes ect that is at the villa. The highlight for me was the outside space, somewhere to sunbathe and cool off in the pool or sit in the shade or even at your very own bar! The whole space is lit up at night including the bar the pool and the seating area which is just amazing! We occasionally drove upto Oranjestad and the high rise areas to have evening meals and visit the touristy markets. There are also lots of options of restaurants and fast food outlets within a couple of minutes drive of the villa and there are also lots of mini supermarkets to get daily items. A short drive south you will find Baby beach which is stunning. If you are trying to find a villa; Get a taste of the real Aruba and stay here. You won't regret it. I can't wait to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing