We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real mixture”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dakak Park & Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dapitan City
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“a real mixture”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We recently stayed here as our son was getting married in the resort. The facilities were excellent and well maintained .Choice of 3 pools, good selection of restaurants,bars, 10 pin bowling and nice beach good for swimming.However our accommodation left a lot to be desired. We had a large resident gecko in the room which left droppings on the bed and floor and fell from the ceiling to land on my husband during the night. We slept with the lights on all night to try and keep it at bay. I also got up one morning to fid a large spider on my arm. Sometimes there was no hot water in the shower or no water at all in wash hand basin. When we complained about the gecko they sent housekeeping to change the beds and sweep out the room which did not really solve the problem.I realise the presence of such wildlife is inevitable given the location but feel we should not have been expected to live in such close proximity with it in what claims to be a 5 star resort.

Room Tip: I would recommend booking a superior room as I believe they were quite a bit better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank catherine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    106
    63
    25
    34
See reviews for
112
66
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cagayan de Oro, Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This place is ideal for family bonding and activities. You have sufficient mobile connection but without traffic jam, noise and all kinds of pollution. Ideal for you to communicate with your family specially when most of your time is taken by your job. The ambiance and service of the crews will really relax you from the stress of your daily activities. The crew are professionally trained.

Room Tip: Book early and/or watch out for their discounts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrlz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Perhaps the only exclusive beach getaway in the Philippine islands where mountain water meets the sea creating a somewhat soothing 'non-sodium chloride-ish' brackish water perfect for starting fishlings. What's good for baby fishes may well be best for beachcombers. Another favorite activity is climbing beaten track up the summit of nearby mountain and what awaits the eye is a superb bird's eye-view of the eden-like cove. Perfect for couples renewing vows and the likes.

Room Tip: Choose newly renovated rooms or new ones for hasle-free holiday-making.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissfrancks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have conquered the longest zip line in Asia (approx. 1.3 kms) and it's so amazing. I was able to see the bird's eye view of Dakak and the Zamboanga Peninsula. You can also see the Dapitan Port. The cost is 500 php inclusive with horseback riding. Although it is pricey but you will experience the priceless wonders of nature.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D0raem0n86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davao City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Dakak really left me breathless for it offers more than I myself expected. An excellent display of heritage and a mind-blowing sight to see. If I were to choose between Boracay and Dakak I would have chosen, Dakak because its a real summer get away for you and the whole family.

Room Tip: Always go for the room that's nearest to the beach to really see the outstanding view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Floyren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This place should badly be updated. Although it still has great potential, it needs to go through major renovations. One amenity they should have but do not have yet are private showers near the poolside. What they have are just outdoor showers.

I will not go back here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhio R, Manager at Dakak Park & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Jonathan B,

Thank you for your honest review and for notifying us of your complaint. We strive to provide you with the best possible service, and when you feel that it fails to meet your expectations, it’s important for us to know.

As to date, we are undergoing major renovation with our rooms and resort facilities. It is of great help that you share your experience with one of our pools and your insights about it. We will notify the proper department for your concern.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention.

Sincerely,

Rhio Alcoseba Redulosa
Customer Service - IMD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dapitan City hotels

Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed here with family and friends last weekend. I think that the resort-hotel is well equipped with facilities, both for sports and recreation, and one can do many activities from water sports to ziplining and everything in between. Even if it's far from the city center, you can spend days without getting bored within the resort premises because of the many activities that you can do. There are many posh restaurants, and although it's a bit on the pricey side, it's still popular among the guests for good reason---food and service. For the most part, their staff was nice and attentive. I must say, room service was quick. We also enjoyed Fantasyland! However, the water coming out of the bathroom was not so clean. Some of us saw a tadpoles in the shower rooms. In addition to that, we booked our return boat tickets to Dumaguete through them; however, the front desk people and the resort's port representative(s) seemed to be out of sync. We waited in vain for the port representative to confirm the purchase and almost got stranded in Dapitan. If you are availing of their package tours, verify or confirm the inclusions beforehand, especially the rides and attractions included in the pass to Fantasyland. The best rides are not included, and you'll need to pay for them individually. Overall, despite everything, everyone enjoyed the trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WanderingEray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhio R, Manager at Dakak Park & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear WanderingEray,

Thank you for bringing your personal thoughts and perception of our resort facilities and Fantasyland. It has provided us with very useful information of which I have personally forwarded to our Housekeeping Supervisor to review with her staff. Also, we do apologize for the inconvenience our front office representatives has caused you. To ensure that this won’t happen again, we’ve notified the proper department for your complaint.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention and we are happy that overall you enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely,

Rhio Alcoseba Redulosa
Customer Service - IMD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dapitan City
7.4 mi away
Ariana Hotel
Ariana Hotel
#3 of 7 in Dipolog
38 reviews
8.3 mi away
D'Hotel & Suites
D'Hotel & Suites
#1 of 7 in Dipolog
204 reviews
48.9 mi away
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ozamiz City
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
190.6 mi away
Bluejaz Beach Resort & Waterpark
49.3 mi away
GV Hotel Ozamiz
GV Hotel Ozamiz
#2 of 2 in Ozamiz City
8 reviews
189.3 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#14 of 52 in Davao City
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakak Park & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakak Park & Beach Resort

Property: Dakak Park & Beach Resort
Address: Dapitan City, Mindanao, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Zamboanga Peninsula > Zamboanga del Norte > Dapitan City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dapitan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dakak Park & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dakak Park and Beach Resort is the closest place to paradise one could ever experience, with its beauty and serenity. Dakak started operating on 1988, was conveniently positioned in the southern part of the Philippines and surrounded by mountains in its west. Situated at Taguilon, Dapitan City, Zamboanga del Norte, Dakak tactfully eludes the typhoon belt, making it an ideal all-season destination for travelers. Dakak is the first five-star resort in Mindanao with "AAA" accreditation from the Department of Tourism, located along a private 750 meter white sand beach. From the original two (2) cottages, it has expanded into 64 cottages with 160 fully-furnished; 64 Bungalows; 98 Deluxe rooms; 2 Executive rooms; 16 Prime Deluxe rooms; 14 Beachfront rooms in native duplex type bungalows with capiz shell window panes; and three (3) Family Pavilions with 30 family rooms and one (1) Presidential Suite. Through the years, Dakak received various recognition locally and internationally among which are the Kalakbay Award for Resort on 1989 from the Philippine Department of Tourism; 16th International Award for Tourist, Hotel and Catering Industry on 1991 from the Trade Leaders Club and Editorial Office Madrid, Spain; a certificate of excellence by the Prestigious Resorts of the World on 1992; and has participated in the Dream Incentive Contest theme for the Philippines that has won the "Best Showcase 1997" in the Incentive Travel and Conventions, Meetings Asia (IT&CMA) last December 1997. Dakak Park and Beach Resort continuously strive to carry out its mission - "an abundance of recreational activities and entertainment, warm Filipino hospitality, and environment friendly ambiance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Dakak Park & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakak Park Beach Hotel Dipolog

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing