We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, modernised unit, welcoming ambiance.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Opotiki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magnolia Court Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Opotiki
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Family of 4, Stayed for 2 nights. Had booked and received modernised room, very spacious, all good amenities. We understand rooms are being upgraded over time. Lots of parking and covered entrance to room was great as we arrived in a rain downpour. Excellent value all round, clean and comfortable. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marmaduke04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Magnolia Court Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had a clean and tidy room and a comfortable bed, though the location of the unit beside the driveway and the motel's main road location meant that we were woken frequently by passing traffic.
There was no sink in this unit. We had to use the bathroom basin to put some water into the jug (no way we could fill it). Rules in the motel folder warned of penalties for smoking, bringing pets or leaving the unit dirty. Other motels manage to convey this information in a manner that doesn't seem to imply that management expects that guests will do bad things. The toilet paper was dispensed from a locked commercial dispenser and a notice on the wall advised us that we were expected to do the dishes. A plastic tub was provided for this-were we to fill it from the shower, or with several boilings of the half-fillable jug? Not quite what we are used to-at least not since our long ago boarding school days

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pikonini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The thing i like about this motel was that it has a front door where you park your car, and back door. This is very good for ventilation especially in the summer days. It has all the basic things to make a cup tea, a microwave, a small fridge. The bathroom is ok size, not too small. Water pressure excellent. The only thing i dislike was the bed, too soft - when your partner move, every on the bed will move..

Room Tip: Get a twin beds. Corner unit would have more privacy.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psalm1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

As the saying goes, you get what you pay for! Our one bedroom was dated, carpet stained, kitchen cutlery dirty, the tv was so small you had to be right up close to it.
The bathroom shower head was filthy with grime - the bed was so soft there was no support.

A friend staying in the studio had the shower head fall off and crash on her head!

Would not recommend

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shellniall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We chose this motel as they are reasonably priced, so no expectations. Yes the studio we stayed in was a bit dated and tired looking, but it was clean, the bed was comfortable, the sky tv worked and we had a ranch slider door out into a small shared yard, it's a quiet location, and the owner was nice. I would suggest some kind of curtain or blind over the main entrance door to the room as the morning sun streamed in there. Overall it was fine.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeeCee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed in a studio unit and the main reason we stayed at this motel was because it was pet friendly. The staff were helpful however the room was very basic. The carpet was so threadbare we had to throw a mat over the tacks protuding from the floor. The lights shining from the carpark compound lit up the whole room almost like it was day at nightime. On the brighter side the motel as handy to a small park across the road. It was better than nothing for our wee dog. Dont think I'll be staying there again if I can help it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I suppose I should start off by saying, really what was I expecting, its opotiki. But we were there with 3 other groups over 4 nights for a wedding (not a holiday).

The rooms are very outdated and tired. The furnishings are very old.
Kitchenette? All we had was a bench with a kettle and a toaster. Group 2 had the same as us and group 3 were meant to have a full kitchen what they had was a microwave and 2 plug in hot plates. And the beds aren't that great but I have slept on worse.
We had an ant infestation in our 'kitchen' as did group 2. My mum found her sheets to be stained (probably had been cleaned but were probably old stains).
I think what put our noses out of joint, was some family members had been down months before and were shown some rooms that were apparently quite nice, but when we all checked in months later were were given completely different rooms.

In conclusion, stay here at the end of a long day travelling, but that be it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wander1ngStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaCourt, Owner at Magnolia Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Yes we had a problem with this group. A week before their stay, the town water supply was disrupted for 2 hours in the middle of the night due to a burst water main. We were not advised by the council and put our first loads into our two washing machines only to find they were extremely discoloured. The council apologized saying the discolouration was mainly manganese and gave us Oxalic Acid, which demoved most of the stains after 4 washes.

Most of our guests accepted our explanation for the odd small stains [which incidentally have dissappeared now after many more washes]. But, I guess once one thing is a niggle, then even a five star property will not come up to scratch for some people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opotiki
16.1 mi away
Whakatane Hotel
Whakatane Hotel
#7 of 12 in Whakatane
24 reviews
2.5 mi away
Island View Holiday Park
6.6 mi away
Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Wharf Hub
The Wharf Hub
#7 of 13 in Opotiki
3 reviews
36.7 mi away
Maraehako Bay Retreat
Maraehako Bay Retreat
#10 of 13 in Opotiki
14 reviews
0.7 mi away
Opotiki Holiday Park
Opotiki Holiday Park
#13 of 13 in Opotiki
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Court Motel

Address: Corner Bridge & Nelson St, Opotiki, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Opotiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Opotiki
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Magnolia Court Motel Opotiki, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing