We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very lucky find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island View Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very lucky find!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Island View Campground was one of the unexpected highlights of our trip - we hadn't planned to stay in Opotiki at all, then got stuck late at night without a place to stay until these guys were able to help us out. We felt welcomed from the start, even though the owner had to come down from his house after the office was closed. We were shown immediately to a lovely quiet tent site with water access (and although we didn't need it, could have had electricity too). Because we'd set up in the dark, to wake up the next morning right at the beach front was breathtaking - White Island steaming away in the distance and a classically Kiwi beach scene with paua shells, sand dunes and mountains along the horizon. We were really impressed with how clean the facilities were and it was doubly nice to be able to sleep in and not rush to meet an early check-out time. Next time we will intentionally plan to stay for a couple of days here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VJ_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    36
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
127
85
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Opotiki, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I was looking for a place to stay in Opotiki while I was kiwifruit picking. As soon as I got to Island View Campground, I felt great. This campground simply have everything you need: a nice view on the beach, clean kitchen, living room and bathroom, free ilimited wifi, free hot showers, free kayaks,... To add to that, the owners are really there to help you out and they always make sure that you have everything you need.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariePierViens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just spent 3 days staying at Island View Holiday Park what a great site with awesome amenities and a great location AAA+++. You can take your pick from relaxing in the hammocks, strolling down the beach, fishing, beach volley ball, Tennis, games room or a dip in the pool it has lots to do for everyone we certainly will be back

Lionel McD

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AiliniMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

This place is the business top amenities hot showers laundry games room hammocks tennis courts swimming pool kayaks....right on the beach great hosts relaxed nothings a hassle and sociable....THIS PLACE IS THE BOMB!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mattyof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

we had a great stay in the cabins.... facilities are clean, well supplied and close to beach! The staff are very relaxed and freindly.... they dont come and shut you down at 10pm like alot of other places we have stayed ..... they have a pool, playground for the kids, tennis court and games room we will definitly be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeidiTe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

this campground is a very spacious one and though you won´t get lost. you can find your own little heavenly place there - under a tree, near a hammock or just at the front close to the ocean.
the campground offers a lot of possibilies like beach-volley-ball, swimming-pool, modern barbecue facilties and many more things. I can highly recommend this place! the owner is also very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marsden
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and I were touring N.Z. in a camper van and needing to pull in for the day saw a sign for the Island View camp site as we drove through Opitiki. So pulling in, on a quiet wet Sunday afternoon, we were totally surprised to find this excellent beach front site, with amazing clean, well equipped facilities, with swimming pool, tennis courts, laundry, wi fi, t.v. room and a fantastic kitchen and outside lounge/garden barbecue area. But the biggest asset of all is(apart from Lorne, our genial, happy host) was the fantastic unspoiled Waiotahi beach, which we had ,virtually to ourselves. We had a massive pitch and the pick of the site on the well kept lawned greens within 10 metres of the beach and dunes, we eneded up staying two days, but would have stayed longer if time had allowed. So thanks again to Lorne, for your good humoured banter and hospitality, all the other guests and especially to our Tongan friends, `I SHALL RETURN`

Room Tip: All the pitches are excellent, but if possible get one at the far end of the site near to the fence...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d115817k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opotiki
13.5 mi away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Whakatane
340 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park
37.4 mi away
Maraehako Bay Retreat
Maraehako Bay Retreat
#6 of 13 in Opotiki
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
14.0 mi away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 12 in Whakatane
108 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ohope Beach Resort
Ohope Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Ohope
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Holiday Park

Property: Island View Holiday Park
Address: 6 Appleton Road, Waiotahi Beach, Opotiki, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Opotiki
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Opotiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Island View Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island View Holiday Park is situated on Stunning Waiotahi Beach, Opotiki - a true beachside location , with unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean and overlooking White Island.The sandy beach offers safe swimming and the local surf club is within 100 metres. You will be spoilt for choice with our new pool offering an alternative to swimming in the surf, Tennis Court (New 2014), Covered BBQ Area (new 2014), Outside Kitchen's for deluxe & Family Cabins (New 2014), Real Beach Volley Ball (New 2014), Coffee Shop/Cafe, Havana Bar (By Arrangement New 2014)Free Hot Showers, Free Camp wide WIFI (high Speed) Free Canoes!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Island View Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island View Holiday Park Opotiki, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing