We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“She Sha Bang Ma Hotel”

She Sha Bang Ma Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nyalam County
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
She Sha Bang Ma Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nyalam County
Reviewed 7 August 2014

During our trip to Kailash Manasarovar we stayed here for 2 days for acclimatisation and while return after parikrama also we stayed for a night.

Average in cleanliness and facility, the owner lady is smart, knows Hindi well and attends to complaints immediately. She runs a nice shop which contains almost everything, yes everything, you need for kailash parikrama, which we bought in Chennai and took all the way. They are reasonably priced, good quality and she explains very well the need and use of all items sold there.

Room Tips - Avoid if possible rooms next to toilet if you can - noise, disturbance and bad smell will be your constant company - can be avoided.

Many toilets do not have facility to lock from inside, no water tap or flush, water has to be carried in a bucket and mug if available, use it as a door stop and pray that you are not embarassed.

The two Toilets in ground floor behind reception, are having glass transparent windows which can be seen through from any walker in the road, yes, awkward at times. Informed the owner, hope she has done something or else be careful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Krishnamurthy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5)
There are newer reviews for She Sha Bang Ma Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Our group stayed in this Guest House in July 2013 for 2 nights. This was the 1st stop in Tibet on our way to Mount Kailash & Manasarovar. On our return journey, we stayed one night here as well.

This is a basic Guest House catering mainly for pilgrims and travellers who stop for 1 or 2 nights. Those who stay for 2 nights do so as part of acclimatisation to high altitude traveling.

Our assigned rooms each had 3-6 single beds. They were reasonably comfortable and had adequate blankets provided. The cleanliness is average but what would one expect when there is a scarcity of water in the Tibetan plateau and the travellers are so transient that they stay for just 1 or two nights? The hotel cannot be changing the sheets after every one leaves. Don't look under the beds. Typical of the rest of the guest houses in the journey, the floor is seldom swept or cleaned. I can only say that at least we were warm and did get a good night's sleep instead of having to camp in tents!

The toilets are the flushing type, some Western style but mainly the squatting type. This is considered a luxury in this part of the world. There is also clean running water in the basins. Toilets are located on each floor and as for their cleanliness, well, it depends on how many people are staying in the hotel at that time. If big groups arrive, the toilets are mainly stinking and not clean. There are no showers. If you want to have a hot shower, you have to walk down to the shops and look for some Public Showers where for 10 or 20 Renminbi you can have a wonderful hot shower. You can even borrow a hair dryer from the shopkeeper!

We could see that She Sha Bang Ma Hotel is a very popular stop for the pilgrims as it is one of the larger hotels in Nyalam. There were many groups of pilgrims staying there the two times that we stayed there. The hotel had a nicely carpeted hall on the 2nd floor where our group had our meals and yoga sessions. At Tibetan hotels, the cooks come with the Nepal tour groups and and the food is prepared by them. Guest houses do not have cafes.

The hotel is as best as can be expected in this part of the world.

Room Tip: the room next to the metal staircases are very noisy. Not much choice for rooms as it depends on the...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shanti288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

In August 2011, when we were returning from Kailash mansarovar, we stayed in this hotel .It is a good stay, although we stayed in its new adjacent building. Here rooms & linen were fine. There are no attached toilets but on ground floor,there were two toilets blocks one for ladies and another for gents which were newly built flush type of latrines. The cleanliness is really important and it seemed that the cleaning here was regular and I can say that it is not a regular feature for all hotels in this area.

All in all, a good stay and recommended. We did not use the restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnilAggarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 27 June 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to She Sha Bang Ma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about She Sha Bang Ma Hotel

Address: Paryang, Nyalam County, China
Region: China > Tibet > Nyalam County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nyalam County
Also Known As:
She Sha Bang Ma Hotel Nyalam County, China - Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing