We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
LongJi Terraces Tian ranju Inn
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed here two nights on the 21st and 22nd of June 2013. As others have mentioned the hike up there is fairly steep, but it only takes about 30 minutes and it'll prepare you for the hiking you'll have to do to get around the area :) You could also tell yourself that if you'd stayed in Dazhai you'd have to do this every day! Although Dazhai is nice I'd recommend staying in Tiantouzhai for the views and ease of access to hiking paths.

Coming from Yangshuo and Guilin the lower temperature and humidity here at an altitude of about 900m was quite a relief. There were also far less mosquitos, maybe because of all the frogs in the rice paddies? :) Those frogs make quite a racket at night, so in addition to any noisy neighbours you'll have them to worry about when going to sleep. I recommend bringing some earplugs!

The hotel was quite nice though, views are amazing, food is good (especially the bamboo rice), and staff was friendly and helpful. We missed out on Hannah and Jimmy due to her pregnancy, but they were quite helpful by email and Jimmy's cousin was there to meet us when we arrived.

In addition to the nr 1-3 hiking trips I highly recommend hiking to Ping'an, or if you feel it's too long at least 1 hour of the way there, to a small cabin with a "waterfall" next to it. The scenery is just as nice and you'll see less tourists, and this is the best part of that hike. We went all the way to Ping'an then took a minivan back, it cost us 80 yuan but there's also a bus that's slightly cheaper.

I think this region is about to get a lot more tourists: between the new cable car from the parking lot (which takes you to the top of the nr. 3 path, not Tiantouzhai itself) and roads being upgraded and built, it's all set for mass tourism. Some of the new hotels also already use awful neon lighting that ruins the views at night, so get in before it gets even more touristy!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sigvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    25
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
32
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
knoxville
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this place. Everyone was so friendly! We enjoyed both dinner and breakfast and were very satisfied. After walking around I am certain that there is not a better place to stay in this area. We stopped here after taking the 3 1/2 hour hike from the neighboring village of Ping'an. Sitting in the dining room after our evening meal and enjoying some cold beverages overlooking the view was really tremendous. It is a very peaceful place. Considering the location and price we were very satisfied with the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We traveled to this hotel for 30 minutes walk from the car park. I was so disappointed with the long walk but when I saw the place I felt at ease and so relaxing. The air was so fresh and the view was fantastic. I love the food they offered. I really enjoyed the stay and the day after I had my hiking. The scenic spots were so amazing. I love to visit again and stay in same guesthouse. Don't expect too much, just enjoy..

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This hostel's location is fantastic with nice views. Tiantou is such a charming village.
Hannah is lovely and helps with everything she can.
Good food (although everything we tasted seems to be deep fried) and good choice of chinese and western meals.
Rooms are very basic (which is what you would expect in such a location) but it is so noisy, we hardly slept. There is no sound proofing at all, you can easily hear your neighboors snore as if you were in their bedrooms, whenever people are walking down the corridor the whole floor is shaking and cracking. Cleanliness is questionable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpb_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I simply loved this place. Yes, the walls are paper thin, yes, the rooms are basic (rooms at the back have squat toilets but front rooms have western ones), but Tianranju is wonderful. The entire staff are friendly, warm, and very competent. The food is great. The views from the restaurant area (and the front rooms) are spectacular. The whole place has a lovely warm family-like atmosphere and I didn't want to leave. Hannah and Jimmy are doing a great job and I would recommend their inn heartily.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have western toilets and stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huanggang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauranada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

After a stiff 40 minute hike the staff here welcome you with cold drinks and continue to look after you for the duration of your stay. The location is perfect, especially for watching sunrise and the food is also very good. My only negative would be how cold it is(not much they can do about this except provide the electric blankets which they do). Overall an excellent option in an amazing place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Provided you get a front room, which we did, thankfully. The structure is wooden and traditional, which means noise will be heard if you are unlucky to be there when they have noisy guests. It also meant that we got some cigarette smoke into our room - despite the no smoking sign in the house! However, these minor unpleasant things were greatly compensated by gorgeous views from the window. As we visited during the wet season (May) the terraces looked like mirrors reflecting clouds (and occasional sun rays). In the morning the landscape was shrouded in mist, which made it even more beautiful.

The bathroom is not the best. We had western style toilet, no squat, but the bathroom is very basic although it looked pretty clean. During the wet season the whole atmosphere is very wet, so do not expect your towels to get dry even when you stretch them on the provided rope.

Jimmy's family cooked amazing food. Their specialty is bamboo rice and chicken, but everything else we tried there was simple and delicious. Home cooking at its best.
It takes a long time to hike up there, true, but it also means that at least one scenic point is within easy reach.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LadytravelerAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longsheng County hotels
4.0 mi away
Baike Hotel
Baike Hotel
#1 of 57 in Longsheng County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
3.9 mi away
Long Ji One Hotel
Long Ji One Hotel
#2 of 57 in Longsheng County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
3.9 mi away
Longji Star-wish Resort
Longji Star-wish Resort
#3 of 57 in Longsheng County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Longji Holiday Hotel
Longji Holiday Hotel
#5 of 57 in Longsheng County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wisdom Inn
Wisdom Inn
#3 of 60 in Longsheng County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
7.4 mi away
Dragon's Den Hostel
Dragon's Den Hostel
#3 of 11 in Longsheng County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LongJi Terraces Tian ranju Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LongJi Terraces Tian ranju Inn

Property: LongJi Terraces Tian ranju Inn
Address: Tian tou village,Dazhai village,Longji rice terraces scenic area, Longsheng County 541701, China (Formerly Tian ranju Inn)
Region: China > Guangxi > Longsheng County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Longsheng County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tian ranju inn (hotel) is located in the hilltop village of TianTou Zhai (Tian tou village),perched above Dazhai Village (where the Chinese Minorities – Yao’s place of residence )in the most scenic region of Longji. When you arrive Tian tou village ,you can begin to have a panoramic view of the terraces,you can see very beautiful wide view of Rice Terraces from here as well as the Yao people still keep very primitive life style and unique customs.We are stay in the middle of three view point ,is the most covenient place in Dazhai you can access to three view point.Tian ran ju Inn have 16 rooms ,include 4 double room facing rice terraces field;2 big bed room facing rice terraces field;2 triple room facing rice terraces field;8 double room unfacing rice terrraces field.All our room have the independent path room 、24 hours hot shower 、free WI-FI 、TV.So far,Tian ran ju Inn have 2 years old,we supply enlish speaking servic、free WI-FI、 chinese and simple western food、coffee and tea、book exchange and so on.Both Jimmy Qin and Hannah Wuu like to make friends with you,you can stay here just like home.wellcome to Tian ranju Inn and hope everyone has a good trip in china.NOTE:Room facing terraces field is the western toliet;Room unfacing rice terraces field is the chinese toliets;Please prepare your Wash one-time items by youself; ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your LongJi Terraces Tian ranju Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing