We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“....only another 200 steps to go !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Longji Mountain

Longji Mountain
Book In Advance
More Info
US$67.00*
and up
Guilin Private Tour: Longji Rice Terraces Day Tour in Longsheng
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
blisterman
Level Contributor
127 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“....only another 200 steps to go !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Brilliant way to spend the day and pretend to keep fit.
Sadly a little over- commercialized but the views from the top are magnificent.
Just amazing that people actually live and work here, but sad that the reason they can, is due to tourists like us.
One of the most bizarre things that I have seen was to observe out of breath, overweight tourists, on reaching the summit, desperately lighting up their cigarettes in what is probably the cleanest, healthy air in China !
Luckily we visited on a relatively quiet day otherwise I can imagine it must take twice as long to reach the summit, due to the very restricted pathways.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank blisterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    21
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Guilin and Longji trip with Roy from Odyssey tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

My daughter and I spend 5 days in Guilin and Yangzhou in September 13.We very very lucky with the weather-was not too hot so we were able to walk and climb to Longeng terraces.Also we were very pleased with our tour guide Roy( Fusheng) from Odyssey tours.Roy is professional, very knowledgeable and personable.Who has very good organisational skills so thanks to him we were able to do kayaking on river Li,had a cooking class in Yangzhou and generally managed to see a lot of local attractions.
I would highly recommend getting in touch with Roy and Odyssey tours if you are visiting Guilin area in China.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Esther s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A bit artificial nowadays, but pretty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

The rice terraces at Ping'an and Dazhai are photogenic and worth a visit. We stayed a night in each village. The guest houses were OK (a bit basic in Dazhai).

Walking between the two villages revealed a sad but inevitable truth; the pretty bits of the terraces near the villages are maintained only by the tourist authority paying the locals to keep them going. Out of sight of the main village viewpoints, they are gradually becoming overgrown and collapsing because there sin't really any economic basis for planting rice up here any more.

Ping'an is a bit too touristy, but also more comfortable in cold November nights. Staying in Dazhai feels a bit more authentic.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank UK-JBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

We had a great day on the mountain. Was quite a hike up and we had lunch at a little local restaaurant there. Was great food. We also had the Mangosteen tea with ginger at the top and loved it so much I have just been able to find some here in Australia.Scenery was stunning. Lots of cheap shopping on the way up at all the little stalls.Worth stopping at the Yao show on the way up to see the long hair women. Beautiful place beautiful people.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Snapper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Longji Mountain also viewed

Longsheng County, Guangxi
 

Been to Longji Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing