We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss seeing the terraces”

Long Sheng's Dragon Spine Rice Terraces
Book In Advance
More Info
US$60.15*
and up
One-day Private Tour of Longji Terraced Rice Fields and Ping'an Zhuang Ethnic...
Dongguan, China
Level Contributor
256 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Don't miss seeing the terraces”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We toured the Longji Rice Terraces with Mr. Leo from Guilin Private Tours. The drive from Guilin took a couple of hours by private van, but was well worth it.
We parked and walked the stairstepped trail up through the village of Ping'an to the viewing spots above the village. the views were truly majestic. We visited in early July on misty day, but the clouds parted to give us great views of the terraces stretching along the hillsides. There are numerous shops along the trail where you can pick up souvenirs or take photos if you want and there's a small shop at the summit of the trail with cold drinks. The shops are touristy, of course, but everyone was extremely wecoming and you can easily ignore the souvenirs and concentrate on the view.
Do a little reading on the "long haired women" of the area as you'll encounter some of these ladies in the shops.
Try the Meiyou Cafe in Ping'an for lunch on the way down. Very nice.
Also have a look at Leo's Guilin Private Tours website. He took great care of us and we'd recommend him and his company.
For photographers: I took along an 18-55 DX zoom and found myself wishing I'd brought a wider angle to really capture the landscape.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadWarrier99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
225 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Absolutely Unforgettable”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Rice Terraces are one of the most beautiful things I've ever seen anywhere. Lush green or coated with snow or filled with water they are amazing. DO NOT MISS THEM if you can possibly fit them in. And stay at the Ping An Lodge - it's important to see the terraces in the best light and without too many tourists! The walk through the village on the way to the top is also tons of fun (but strenuous and there's no other way up so be prepared!)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehingen
Level Contributor
301 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“dramatic scenery”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

we walked about 1.5 hours to the guesthouse in the rice-terrasses,
stayed overnight. had a wonderful dinner outside the guesthouse
with a bottle of redwine (great wall).
good breakfast


Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 13hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our favorite stop on our tour of China - Long Sheng Dragon Spine Terraced Rice Fields”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

I had no idea what to expect but it sounded like a wonderful opportunity to get away from the hustle and bustle of Chinese cities. We were so glad we made the decision and despite being scheduled for total knee replacement the week after our return, I made it to the top of Long Sheng rice paddies under our own steam. Both of us have pacemakers so as you can see it is very doable climbing the 1200 steps as you can pace yourself.For the faint of
heart, you can be carried up the mountain by local farmers on a chair like device. Some rather heavy folks had opted for this mode of transport and I felt sorry for the farmers who were dripping with sweat and panting but I am sure glad of the tourist money.
But back to the beginning. It took us about three hours from Guillin to the base if the mountain where there was a market selling local wares and where we changed from our larger bus to a smaller local bus to take us closer to the foothills of the rice paddies.
As we weaved our way around blind bends on this narrow road, the driver leaned on the horn to warn descending drivers. If you like roller coaster rides (not me nor by the screams our fellow passengers) then you will love the ride. Not sure if the driver was bent on giving us a thrilling
ride as he swung the bus out wide and your eyes viewed the sheer drop off or it was the only way to navigate the bends. We survived! Then, we made our way up the mountain under our own steam via steps (1200)that the locals built for the tourists no doubt. Breathtaking views of the terraced rice paddy fields and mountains. It was a beautiful, clear day in Sep with temps around 80. Sunscreen and water is a must We passed through local villages on our way up where you could buy local goods including candies and other snacks. The local minority women were dressed in beautiful local finery and they had the most gorgeous black hair. Their hair does not turn gray which is attributed to the rice water they used to wash their hair. Photo ops of the women for a price but you can take as many photos of the scenery as you wish. In Sep the rice field were still green but spectacular. We ate lunch at the half way point and there were toilet opportunities(one western-yeh! my knees were appreciative). They served local fare and we really enjoyed the rice cooked in a bamboo. Had a nice smokey
taste.
Lots of construction taking place in the area so go now before the uniqueness is lost.
If you have the time and enjoy hiking, stay in one of the villages for a couple of nights. Appeared to be some chalet type buildings going up.
While your in the Guillin area, take a day boat trip on the Li River. Loved the feel of the local river traffic here more so than on the Yangtze River.
Our day trip to the terraces were part of our China Tour through our tour company, China Spree and like all if the tours was very well organized.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mareth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland ohio, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spectacular adventure”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was a rugged adventure in the culture and geography of the region. I can best describe as one of the world's 'National Geographic' type locations. One of the highlights of my 4 trips to China.

Getting to the area was harder than described in other reviews and articles. We took public bus from downtown Guilin and transferred to local bus. A rough 4 hours trip, part of it noisy, harrowing on hilly roads, hot and cramped at times. We had much easier time on a private bus that took us directly from the village to Guilin. A new and tasty experience was the 'bus lunch' that was included on the way back.

By bus lunch, I mean the bus came to a stop and everyone got out, lined up at a food truck, and received a large bowl of noodles , vegetables, and meat, egg, stir fry. Eat and back on the bus. Quick, good and cheap. Maybe $1.50 US.

I convinced my wife to employ one of the porters, who carried her bag about 2 hours up the hill. My estimation is that the higher you go the better the guesthouse accommodations. It was a warm night and we did not sleep very well, but we felt good after a beer and fresh and filling dinner.

By staying overnight, we could see and photograph the village and hills in afternoon and morning light. I recommend staying the night.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank adkmts46er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Long Sheng's Dragon Spine Rice Terraces also viewed

Longsheng County, Guangxi
 
Longsheng County, Guangxi
 

Been to Long Sheng's Dragon Spine Rice Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing