We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hiking in Longji”

Dragon's Backbone Rice Terraces
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.64*
and up
Private Day Tour Of JinKeng Rice Terraces With Dazhai And Yao Minority Villages...
More Info
US$79.00*
and up
Guilin Longji Rice Terraces and Ethnic Minority Village Day Tour
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
Private Tour of Dragon's Backbone Rice Terraces in Longsheng
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hiking in Longji”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I think these rice terraces are worth checking out if you make it to Guilin. They are quite unique in how they're configured in that the mountains they rest on are quite steeper than typical rice terraces. I would recommend doing the DIY tour and just cruising around each of the scenic spots.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keegan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    204
    47
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rexburg, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“The views of Ping An are amazing!!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a hotel in Guilin and our tour company arranged for my wife and I to travel in an air conditioned car to travel the 2 and a half hours to the Longji Rice Terraces in Longsheng County. I had seen pictures of this place for some time and really wanted to see it. It did not disappoint. There is a hike up a series of stairs which could be slippery after it rains, but the best views are maybe a mile up the path. Once you get past the village of Ping An, then the rice terrace views are spectacular! We went in May and the weather was a bit cool, but the mists would move across the terraces and it was beautiful! I hear in June when they pump the water to each of the terraces, that the views are even better! The women of the village all have really long black hair bundled up on the top of their heads like a hat, and one of them (for 10 yuan) showed us how they take their hair which is cut into 3 one meter long pieces and comb it and tie it up on their heads. That was cool! The terraces resemble the back of a dragon, and so comes the name The Longsheng Dragon Back Rice Terraces. This is something you ought to see! You can pay to have some villagers carry you up the stairs in a canopied litter if the climb is not for you.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 537 helpful votes
“Stairway to Heaven”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was seduced by the many photos of the rice terraces and insisted that they form part of our 30 day trip in China. We were not disappointed.

We travelled from Guilin with our private car and driver and enjoyed the scenery en route but nothing prepared us for the beauty of this fantastical place.

The day was very foggy and wet. Footing wasn't great and we sometimes had to wait while the fog ebbed and flowed to see panoramic vistas, but we were spectacularly rewarded.

We first hiked to point 2 and wanted more, so then did point 1. The latter affords better views.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fearful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Unusual attraction in the countryside.”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We visited the rice fields on a day trip, by coach from Guilin. Passing through countryside and some small villages/towns. It was welcome change from the bustle of the Chinese towns. On arrival you are bussed up winding roads to the rice terraces. There are then more climbs to reach the top view point. Steep but steady climbs through many local tourist shops and stalls. You could always take the sedan chair ride, carried by to locals for a modest sum. The views are very good and show the workings of the rice fields to perfection. I would suggest that if you are in Guilin this is a must to visit. There are places en-route to the top for food and drink. If you reach the top point

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cotonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Absolutely must see. Spectacular! Long climb but really worth investing. Weather does not matter as long as there is no fog.

Helpful?
Thank MNo1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dragon's Backbone Rice Terraces also viewed

Longsheng County, Guangxi
Guangxi, China
 
Longsheng County, Guangxi
 

Been to Dragon's Backbone Rice Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing