We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must”

Dragon's Backbone Rice Terraces
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.64*
and up
Private Day Tour Of JinKeng Rice Terraces With Dazhai And Yao Minority Villages...
More Info
US$79.00*
and up
Guilin Longji Rice Terraces and Ethnic Minority Village Day Tour
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
Private Tour of Dragon's Backbone Rice Terraces in Longsheng
Corner Brook, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A Must”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We took a day trip to Longshen from Guilin & it was one of our favorite days in China.

The drive to Longshen is interesting. You drive through rural farming areas & minority villages.

The walk from the base, through the village to the top of the rice fields is amazing. The views, the structures, the people.

Be sure to take in a "hair show" along the way. These women only cut their hair once in their life - right before their wedding. What's cut is kept rolled into their still attached hair. An interesting custom.

The view from the top is beautiful.

Take time linger in the village.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    204
    47
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Truly beautiful. Stunning rice terraces, with different views at different times of the year. We visited in the summer when they were quite green, but I've seen friends' photos from spring when the fields were just being flooded, and seen beautiful images of the rice terraces in winter and autumn.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

There are several tourist spots in the terraces, supported by the Chinese government. Our tour guide helped us select a village that was accessible by large golf cart rather than climbing 600 ( no exaggeration) steps to reach the village. We still descended through the village by way of uneven stairs to reach the village restaurant and hotel. We had a hearty meal with a lovely view. It was planting time, so we saw many farmers planting rice. To leave the terraces, we walked along a path through the terraces. It was a lovely day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank spka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting!!!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My friends and I decided to check the place up and even stay for a night. It was simple. It was beautiful. We did slow hike up the rice terrace early in the morning and the atmosphere was great almost mystical. Probably the hill would look even more beautiful during harvest or autumn? But we enjoyed the view, the friendly hill people etc.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kakchaqsalleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“I'd like to give it 3 1/2 "good" - somewhere between average & very good”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Longji Rice Terraces (or Dragon's Backbone, which I prefer) date back to the Yuan Dynasty in 1271 and descendants of the original Zhuang farming families still work the same terraces today. However, tourism is now clearly a major industry in the village and there's plenty of tat on offer during the long walk up the hills.

We travelled as a family with 2 children aged 7 and 10 and after about a 2.5 hour drive from Guilin, we were keen to get out of the car and stretch our legs. The walk starts off easy, on a gentle slope but does eventually become more difficult with some longer stretches of stairs.

As we walked up the hills we passed what felt like an endless production line of shops and stalls. On offer was all manner of trinkets for the tourists plus food like sausages, chilli etc. We also passed the pretty wooden still houses, traditionally they were made with 3 levels but now some of them go even higher.

We stopped at the Ping An Guest House for lunch and sat on the terrace watching the mists roll in and out through the hills and valleys. It was certainly a spectacular view and the food was pretty good too.

While this area is billed as a somewhere you can go see the Longji rice terraces and experience the Zhuang and the Yao ethnic minority groups living traditionally, it’s not hard to see that tourism is the main economy of the village. And I would also guess that most people are now engaged in making a living from the tourists. The whole experience did feel like a show to me. But what a very pretty show it was. And I would certainly still recommend the trek up Longji terraces to anyone in the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Oz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dragon's Backbone Rice Terraces also viewed

Longsheng County, Guangxi
Longsheng County, Guangxi
 

Been to Dragon's Backbone Rice Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing