We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet gem located on beautiful grounds and perfect with the kids”
Review of Paradise Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradise Palms
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet gem located on beautiful grounds and perfect with the kids”
Reviewed 21 May 2011

On arrival I found it to be very quiet which wS a bonus for us, the 1 bedroom apartment was spectacular, I was very impressed. it was big clean and modern with full kitchen and laundry options plus big bed and comfy lounges. The restaurant at the golf club is very nice mind you a little pricey, they do have a kids menu though.
There is a kids adventure playground linked between the golf course and resort and included an 18 hold putt putt golf course for the kids. As this is open to the public it's extremely busy and resort guests are expected to pay for mini golf and my guests were also expected to pay if they wanted to join us in the pool or playground. I didn't think that was appropriate but it would be the only thing negative I could say about this place. You will need a hire care to stat here too.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellaandtayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    72
    21
    9
    10
See reviews for
69
77
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Our stay here was really fun but some of the finer details of this place are left wanting. Firstly, this is not a resort. No way. Not even close. It is a serviced apartment block on a golf course with an average restaurant and ok pools. Once you've checked in you're very much left to your own devices, which is fine.... unless you need some information or assistance and then, you're on your own.

The good: The value of the rooms because you get an apartment style set up, with a TV area, balcony, kitchenette, separate bedroom, bathroom for a good price. Compared to most hotels in the Cairns area its better value.

However.... if you need to get around you'll either have to hire a car (which we did - recommended for independent travellers in this area) or be at the mercy of taxis which can be expensive!

All the staff here are super friendly. No complaints there. My issue is that they lack really basic customer service and hospitality instincts. Example - how far is it to this beach? The answer: 15 minutes. In reality it was 45 minute brisk walk and we ended up at a location that offered nothing much at all. Would have been better to suggest another location. Also, they mention a shuttle bus into Cairns on their web site and when I asked about it, I was told it wasn't really operational anymore. Boo.

The restaurant, like most in this area, serves average food for a big price tag, with ok customer service. Be prepared to wait for basic stuff. Like a table that you've booked.

If this place is going to sell itself as being Paradise amongst the Palms and a resort, they have a lot of work to do.

Shop around in Cairns/ Port Douglas at the moment. There are some really good deals on and my advise to this establishment is that they have a great opportunity to make Paradise Palms world class - they just need to work on their people skills.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QMochalatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Found this resort almost by accident. Good location and convenient for all attractions and beaches from Port Douglas to Cairns. A very spacious, modern one bed appartment with full facilities (including washing machine and dryer) and lovely balcony overlooking the resort. The pool for residents was quiet well arranged, but the ability to use any facilities of the resort. was appreciated. The restaurant was particularly good and you could get meals to take back to the appartment. We had no daily service but it didn't matter as the rate, booked in the UK, was so good. In fact we stayed an additional day getting a good rate alothough they could not match that paid in the UK. The reception staff were knowledgeable and helpful. The only downside (common to many appartments in Australia) is a lack of some basic cooking items (eg trays for oven, dishes for microwave, sieve etc). I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIV64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairns
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

I stayed here for one night with my fiancé, (we got the room free with his membership deal), the room was very modern and spacious, though I did notice we were put into a disabled room?? And the resort didn’t appear to be to busy so not sure why they wouldn’t give us a room with a normal bathroom. Doesn’t really matter, it was only one night. The room had a DVD player and movies to hire at the reception desk for like $3.00 or something which I find to be very cheap compared to other hotels were you pay like $15.00 for one movie!! So that was a nice feature. The bed was a little uncomfortable, I think our pillows had lost all there cushioning. We had a swim in the resort pool (not the lap pool) and it was a little dirty, and some of the pool furniture was visible broken yet it was still laying there. The grounds and the golf course are absolutely beautiful!! Really stunning. We ate in there restaurant for dinner, I found the food to be nice, the garlic bread is yum yum and the lemon pancetta is delicious!! Just needs a few little touch ups in some places, e.g. pool cleanliness. Overall it is a nice resort and is very relaxing. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sezza01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Lovely resort, very picturesque. Reception staff friendly. Rooms nice & cosy, great tv's in rooms! Only real let-down was the apparent lack of concientious cleaning, it was all a bit superficial. Knives in block on kitchen bench unclean from previous use...as was frypan, unknown substance rotting on carpet in main bedroom. Had staff member inspect this and no offer of cleaning was forthcoming, so it was there, while we were there! A/c in lounge area not working properly, made for very humid conditions in there. Carpet along hallway between hotel rooms is really quite unclean...cockroaches, dirt, stains etc .On brighter note, staff member very patient & helpful with portable cot incident & pool area very child-friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Territory
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Our family (3 young children all aged under 10 plus hubby) stayed in a two bedroom apartment mid December 2010.

I'd like to tell you that I wouldn't recommend this resort, however I'd be doing that for purely selfish reasons - so I could keep this little gem a seceret to myself and my closest of friends.

The Positives:
Paradise Palms Resort & Country Club was just beautiful. Our apartment was spacious, modern and clean with full kitchen, inside and outside dinning, a laundry area and two bathrooms. Each room had their own DVD player and flat screen LCD TV, with a small selection of movies available for hire from reception.

We only really ate out for lunch, and had breakfast and dinner (for the most part) in our apartment. A supermarket was located only a 5 minute drive north of the resort for those wanting an alternative to take away and dining out. About 10 minutes drive south of the resort at 'Campus' shopping centre, there was an abundance of take away establishments some of which would deliver or you could collect yourself and eat it in your guest room/s.

There is also a resturant at the resort which opens at 6am and closes at 9pm. The resturant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as light snacks throughout the day. We ate at the resturant once while we were there for dinner, and although the food was nice, it wasn't anything to rave about. A bonus for us, was that our children ate free but the selection on the menu for them was quite ordinary. The staff were wonderful and very attentive however, which made this a hasstle free dinner for a Mum who also needed a well deserved break.

The play area for our children was wonderful, and we had a birds eye view of the area from both of our balconies. Our children especially enjoyed the jumping pillow and fabulous Putt Putt course. There were also three cubby houses, swings, a climbing 'thing' and a play area for smaller children as well, with HEAPS of room for the children to run around in before they cooled down in either the lap pool, or the lovely (and quiet) resort pool.

The golf course also looked AMAZING. Unfortunately we didn't get to play a game of golf as we just ran out of time, however if we ever return to Cairns for a holiday, we will stay here again and play the game of golf at the begining of the holiday.

The negative:
The resort is approximately 16km from Cairns city centre. For us this wasn't an issue as we had a hire car. We were able to easily pop down the street to do some shopping etc however if you didn't have a hire car, I can imagine it would be difficult if you wanted to leave the resort area. Most (infact for us all) tours included transport to and from the tour and our hotel.

There was also a wedding at the resort while we were there, and the guests coming and going from their rooms were quite noisy while we were trying to sleep of a night. But, this was only one night out of the week we were there.

If you're after an action packed holiday that keeps you busy around the clock, I would not recommend this hotel to you. However, if you're after a laid back holiday with young children, I'd recommend you consider this establishment as your base.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jasner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We booked a 1bedroom apt for a week and I only can say, great!! Fully selfcontained, new, clean with all amenities. Location of the resort we also liked as it is in the middle of Cairns and Port Douglas. A car is recommended but you can also get public transport within 500m walking distance.

Downsides:

The gym is a joke - a converted apt with 3 little nonpro machines. Spending millions to build the resort and hundreds for a gym??

Also - apart from the apt (which we cleaned ourselfes) its pretty dirty. Pool and pool areas (wead everywhere) hallways, stairs....The cleaning ladies seem not very interested, they cant even say hello!!

Reception and bar staff were very friendly and helpful. Free parking, internet price is ok - 24AD for 3 days.

Cheers

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endaxi0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewarra Beach
1.2 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,117 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 11 in Palm Cove
332 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#7 of 11 in Palm Cove
1,194 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
3.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Palms

Property: Paradise Palms
Address: Paradise Palms Drive, Kewarra Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Kewarra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradise Palms 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between two natural wonders - World Heritage Rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef - Paradise Palms Resort & Country Club is a world-class destination just 20 minutes north of Cairns in the heart of Tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Paradise Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Palms Resort And Country Club
Paradise Palms Resort & Country Club Hotel Kewarra Beach
Paradise Palms Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing