We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, tranquil location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Attadale, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, tranquil location”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

A very tranquil place to spend a few days. Staff were very pleasant and the service was good. The dinner we had there was of a high standard with great flavours and presentation. The buffet breakfast was adequate. The property has a wonderful variety of palms and native plants and the buildings blend in to the environment well. The free WiFi works well and there is a good range of in house movies available. We stayed in a Beach Bungalow which really was close to the beach front - which is an excellent place to go for a walk. On the down side is the obvious need for maintenance and an upgrade to the bathrooms (that for reasons we now understand are not visible on the web site) would not go astray. The bed was very uncomfortable. The nightly rate is too high for the amenities provided when compared to other "resorts and spa's" we have stayed at. There is a great shack down on the beach that sells drinks and you can order snack style foods - but unfortunately this is only open for a few hours on weekends. On the upside,for a tranquil and peaceful getaway it would be hard to beat!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    262
    51
    19
    7
See reviews for
193
711
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Metuchen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my 2 kids as a part of a Tauck tour. This place is the ideal combination between the rainforest and the beach. The bungalows are secluded in the forest. They are nicely appointed, good air conditioning and provide free wifi in each room! The bathrooms need some serious updating but other than that, this place is gorgeous! The beach was simply stunning! Great staff; very attentive and helpful. The food was delightful as well.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Great setting, gardens, pools.Limited parking space. The buffet breakfast is not that great, but you will not go hungry. This property is very large. I would not recommend this property for people with mobilty issues. Everywere you look there are stairs to deal with.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AGsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Everywhere you have a feeling of great privacy, no neighbour next wall...
It's perfectly fitted into a rainforest, you have the feeling the premises are inside the rainforest and not that it has been planted around.

Absolutely recommendable.

But: if you look for party every night, this would not be the right place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaN954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Our second time staying in these hotel. First time was with my husband fourteen years ago, this time we returned with our two children (9 & 11)

All I can say is Fantastic!!!! Service could not be faulted.........again :0) xx

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This place is a superb retreat. A few paces from our beach hut and you were on the private beach, absolutely beautiful. So relaxing. A few reviews on here have marked it down for location, which is absurd as it is a secluded place away from tourist areas, which is what attracted us to it. The rooms were fine big enough and had everything we needed in them. The restaurant was really good if a little limited all the meals we had were top quality. The staff were so helpful and seemed happy to be doing what they were doing. The DJ night was a bit cheesy for our taste but it looked like families with kids were enjoying it so fair enough. Didn't have time to use the spa but everything else was really good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Kewarra Beach resort is amazingly private and lovely. The resort is tucked away in a suburban neighborhood outside the city of Cains. Since it's about a 20 minute car ride (50 minute bus ride) from Cains, you have to plan how you will go about. But make no mistake, this is an absolutely amazing resort to stay at. A couple great features:

1. The beach is all yours: It's seriously private and quiet when my wife and I went in July and it was so pristine and quiet. If you go up to Palm Cove, it gets a little busier. If you are looking for super quiet and relaxing, Kewarra is where it is at.

2. Friendly staff: I love how they know your first names immediately and remember them. We struck up so many good conversations with the staff. Heather, Damien, Peter, and others all made the stay so inviting. We spent time talking with Damien who knows 8 languages, Heather who lived in the area for 20 years, and Peter who was just super friendly.

3. Lovely bungalows: We got the Pipi and it was fantastic and literally a minute walk out to the beach. Just wonderful.

4. Great food: The food is on the pricey side (but everything is pricey in Australia), but the quality is really good. If you aren't in the mood to eat at the resort, the next best thing is Kewarra Village Take Out where they have the best steak and fish burgers and chips. A long 30 minute walk there, but just a lovely walk through the neighborhood.

5. Fun animals: What other resort will you find the possibility of crocodiles, bats, monitor lizards, frogs, and other exotic birds. I'm saying this as a very positive thing, so don't be frightened away. I didn't see "George" the monitor lizard, but I did see some amazing little butterflies, kookaburas, and little odd creatures around.

6. Really lovely arrangements: The staff at Kewarra can help you plan your entire trip out. We stayed for 8 days and came in with zero plans. We knew we wanted to go to the reef, Daintree rainforest, and Kuranda. So Heather, one of the receptionist, spent a good deal of time helping us out. She also made the AMAZING suggestion to go to Paranello Park and helped us with the rental car arrangements. For the more adventurous, I highly RECOMMEND renting a car and driving up and down Highway 1 for some fantastic views. The staff again are super friendly and patiently help you plan when you don't have an idea what to do.

The only tough part about the resort again is that it is NOT near Cairns. You have to make the trek out there by bus or car (both of which we did). That might turn some people off, especially if you want to look for good restaurants in the city. But I think it's a big plus to be far away.

So yes, book with Kewarra Resort. We were not disappointed and it was the highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: Call and negotiate for a better rate. You don't have to do the packages and can figure all this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewarra Beach
2.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
2.3 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 12 in Palm Cove
540 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
12.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
2.5 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 80 Kewarra Street, Kewarra Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Kewarra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 minutes from Cairns in picturesque tropical North Queensland set on 30 acres of lush landscaped rainforest gardens this private boutique beachfront property provides the ultimate Australian vacation experience. With a focus on environmental sensitivity, superb cuisine & world class service, while boasting extensive botanical gardens with detached secluded suites & spacious private bungalows it’s no surprise that this wonderfully romantic hideaway has become a firm favourite with honeymooners & nature lovers the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kewarra Beach Hotel Kewarra Beach
Kewarra Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing