We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revisted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We initially got married here in 2001 and recently went back to visit the resort. It has been upgraded substantially and because we are a family of four could not afford to stay at this resort. We attended the evening pizza night which was a lovely evening, it was a slight shame that as it was our place of marriage upon arrival we were not offered a glass of wine or a drink complementary as we had stayed there in 2001. It would have made the evening extra special as it was a special place to us but I did not feel over welcome by the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

Our 30th wedding anniversary was idyllic as we stayed for 3 nights at Kewarra Beach resort. Our Pipi bungalow was perfect! Such a comfy bed (i'd like to buy one the same) and out the front door to the beach. Palm trees & that stunning beach were our view and this was best observed from our deck. The gardens were spectacular as was the reception area and Paperbark restaurant. Felt so lucky as we enjoyed brekkie @ Paperbark every morning. An extra indulgence was the beach dinner on our 30th Anniversary and we were the luckiest guests to have Shaun as our waiter. He was so helpful and provided spectacular service which made our night even more special. Food was sensational as were cocktails & wine. Recommend Kewarra beach resort to anyone who is looking for a relaxing quiet indulgence but especially good if you are after a touch of romance!

Room Tip: Pipi Bungalow 4 was our room and perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenjen1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I just returned from an 11 day Tauck tour of Australia, during which we spent three nights at the Kewarra Beach Resort and Spa, not far from Cairns. When the time came to leave, most of us were reluctant to move on. The resort is situated on a long, curving white-sand beach, home to spectacular sunrises. Accommodations are individual cabins reached by walking along crushed gold gravel paths separated by thick swathes of rainforest. Most cabins offer views of water inlets and trees, though there is at least one cabin that is beach-front. The cabins mix elegant decor with rustic materials, topped off with ceiling fans and air-conditioning, and private bathrooms. The lobby and restaurant are open to the foliage along the side and front but are covered to keep patrons dry during the rain. We were fortunate to enjoy dry weather during our stay, which was a blessing, as rain in that area can really pelt down. We viewed a variety of local colorful birds and wildlife while at Kewarra, including wallabies that grazed among the cabins and occasionally consented to pose for our photos. There are laundry facilities available for guest use, for which I was grateful. None of those infamous Australian flies were present. As for mosquitos, there were very few around during our visit--I didn't need to use my bug repellent, though some guests opted to apply theirs just in case. (I heard that the number of mosquitos varies depending on rainfall and the presence of standing water, which was not an issue during our visit.) Of particular note were the excellent service we received and the fine food served in the resort restaurant. If I had the time and money, I would return to Australia simply to spend a week or more at that resort, I liked it so much.

I can't comment on the spa services, as I did not take advantage of them during our short visit. But if they are anything like the rest of the Kewarra experience, those services must also be outstanding.

Room Tip: All the cabin locations looked good to me. There is at least one beachfront cabin. Mine wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kepc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

So glad we booked Kewarra; we were not disappointed. We had a bungalow looking out through the bamboo to the beach and it was lovely, clean, and comfortable. We liked the fact that there were no other hotels in the vicinity, and we liked being next to the local suburban swimming beach. It made us feel much more a part of Kewarra Beach. The staff was excellent and very helpful, making bookings for the Barrier Reef boat and giving personal advice about various tours etc. The cleaning and grounds staff were pleasant and very good too, which isn't always the case. Our bungalow was not as secluded as we are used to but because they are each individual it still gives a sense of privacy. Our only slightly negative comment would be that without a car it was a long walk or bus ride to a shop, much less a restaurant, and as we stayed a week we were rather tired of the rich food at the restaurant. It would have been great if the menu had included basic fare or if the beach hut, which serves simpler meals, was open during the week. But having said that, as we drove away my husband and I agreed that this is one of the few places we've ever been that we would happily go back to. Well done, Kewarra!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whatsinaname2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Everything about Kewarra Beach Report and Spa was wonderful, and we are in agreement with all of the five-star reviews.

They partner with a family-owned operation called Trinity Beach Transfers, which offers smooth and clean rides by a very personable guy. Arriving a day and a half late due to missed flight connections, the resort credited half our missed night back to us, even though we only gave 24 hours notice which falls outside their policy.

We stayed our first night in beachfront bungalow 3, and spotted wallabies and other Australian birds right off the bat outside of our door. Once seeing how beautiful the resort was, we added an unplanned second night (due to arriving late) and needed to move to for the second night to bungalow 38, at the edge of the pool and lagoon. Both rooms were clean, well accommodated, and cozy while still being roomy. The shower was especially nice; I liked the open glass orientation, and spa-like showerhead.

The resort sits right behind the beach. We didn’t spend much time on it, but the water was clean and warm, and the sand was perfect for lounging. During a morning run, it was quiet and peaceful, with only a few sprinklings of other people walking their dogs.

The service at the resort was perhaps best of all – from the reception area (Paul and Murray), to the day-porter/ waiter (Shawn). We felt as if, although only being there for 2 days, we were part of the family and everyone knew who we were. I am pretty sure we were not treated any more special than others, but we felt like it for how accommodating they were to us.

The only slight downside to the resort is that there is only one eating option on-site, which is pretty expensive. The food was great for one dinner and for morning breakfast, but by the second evening we were looking for something less pricey. Because the resort is also pretty secluded to other walking-distance areas, we ate via the very limited bar-snack menu. It was the only other option without taking a taxi into a neighboring town. We saw that there was a Snack Shack during the weekends, but we stayed during the week. It might have helped if the resort store had options to eat as well (only a few candy bars and chips were stocked there). The rooms each have refrigerators and microwaves, so next time we would be sure to bring a few sandwiches and snacks with us. The limited food options is not a deterrent to stay again if we ever found ourselves back at the Northern Beaches!

TIP: Make sure to try out the Rock Pool instead of the main pool – it truly is the hidden gem with warm waters, and off the beaten-path of the resort. We had it to ourselves!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

You know your stay will be good when greeted by a wallaby. Lovely beach setting with private bungalows. Dining areas are open to the forest. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Wonderful spot to relax or explore the Reef or the rain forest. Touristy Cairns seems light years away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfred841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Booked a package deal with Kewarra and Silky Oaks Lodge and could not have been happier. We only had 4 days and they picked us up at the airport in Cairns and we spent two days at each place including a full day on The Reef. The facilities, the people, the food were superb. And need I say anything about the location! Queensland is one of the most amazing place I have ever been to and I have visited every continent...including Antarctica! While a little pricier than we could have done on our own, not having to worry about transportation or driving ourselves and all the separate excursion bookings it was well worth it. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: we had a one-bedroom Baihina suite but the one room bungalows looked nice as well. The suites are b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madachoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewarra Beach
2.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
2.4 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
2.2 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
361 reviews
1 mi away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
179 reviews
2.5 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 80 Kewarra Street, Kewarra Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Kewarra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Price Range: £95 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 minutes from Cairns in picturesque tropical North Queensland set on 30 acres of lush landscaped rainforest gardens this private boutique beachfront property provides the ultimate Australian vacation experience. With a focus on environmental sensitivity, superb cuisine & world class service, while boasting extensive botanical gardens with detached secluded suites & spacious private bungalows it’s no surprise that this wonderfully romantic hideaway has become a firm favourite with honeymooners & nature lovers the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kewarra Beach Resort And Spa
Kewarra Beach Hotel Kewarra Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing