We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise - a blissful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maleny, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise - a blissful experience!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I went for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary and it was simply beautiful, from the stunning surrounding natural gardens to the gorgeous rock pools and delicious food. The treatment at the day spa was also really special and we felt very pampered. Kewarra has it's own beautiful section of private beach and the cute little beach shack bar and restaurant is very nice too. We rented a Pandanus Deluxe Bungalow and it was very private, clean and comfortable with a very nice bathroom. What made the experience extra special was the friendly, warm and professional service by all the staff. Thank you Kewarra for a great weekend. We wish we could have stayed longer but even the short break left us feeling relaxed and renewed. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylors775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    267
    53
    19
    7
See reviews for
200
721
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I almost gave Kewarra a 4, but I think overall this place is over-hyped (including in the guide books). It is not an elegant place. The bungalows are quite basic, more like cabins, and are simply appointed. I don't think this place aims to be anything more, but we went expecting something else from what we had read. The pluses, which are major, include an amazing location "away from it all" (a ten-minute drive to the restaurants in Palm Cove), two pools built around rocks, and a generous breakfast (we didn't try dinner; it seemed expensive even by Great Barrier Reef standards). Staff was mixed: When we checked in, no one offered to help us with bags (and it can be quite a distance to the cabins). But everyone was nice and offered advice when asked. This place could be much more, but as is, it provided a good base for our activities up that way.

Room Tip: We stayed right on the beach. Other cabins are back a bit in the rain forest. You probably can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We found this hotel in tripadvisor, and everything was exactly as expected. clean, private, romantic (we were there 4 days during our honey moon). the bungalow are so nice, surrounded by the tropical forest and the pools are unbelievable. it is a pity we could not swim in the sea due to the presence of the jelly fish during the summer (there is a protection net but not 100% sure). but everything else absolutely fantastic. we hope to be back one day

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CostanzaManzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
�G|ϗϨ�
Level 6 Contributor
771 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Out of town and on the beach but does not quite make it. They should have shuttles into port Douglas fir variety. A pittance of chairs on the beach for a beach resort -8. Cute pools but not for doing laps. Restaurant is fair but not quite up to snuff

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steverA8718SU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kewarra, General Manager at Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Steve,
Thank you for taking the time to review Kewarra Beach resort following your recent stay. Please allow me the opportunity to respond to the points you have raised:

You have suggested we should have shuttles to Port Douglas which is a 50 minute drive away. If you had of raised this request with one of our helpful reception team, we would have recommended a number of transport opportunities that would have covered this service for you.

We presently have 14 sun lounges positioned along our 500 metres of pure beachfront. Due to so many "must-do" day trips on offer in the region I have not seen more than half of these chairs being used at any one time.

Our two free-form resort pools (of which one is fully heated in the cooler months) are clearly not designed for laps (as you have rightly observed), however the ocean directly in front of the resort is most suitable for very long swims of infinite measure with the water temperature at a tantalising 28 degrees centigrade at this time of year.

Lastly your comment regarding the restaurant being "fair but not up to snuff", sadly is hard for us to interpret clearly. I was only dining in the restaurant last week with a collection of travel agents from all over the world and they all agreed that it was the best food experience they had encountered from their travels throughout Australia. This is pleasingly not the first time we have had such positive feedback and under the guidance of our Executive Chef Sean Newton, we have been able to showcase some of the regions finest and freshest ingredients in our stunning location, tucked into the paperbark forest.

I do hope the rest of your travels were a success and we look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Mark...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We were there for five marvelous days. The place es beautiful, surrounded by a rainforest and a great beach. You can have dinner at the beach, the dining es top quality, everyone was so very kind and attentive. They helped us book awesome tours, helped us in every possible situation. It was a great pleasure. Great place to rest and enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violeta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our first time in Cairns, wanted a very nice and quite place. This place is beautiful. Beach is right in front. Very attentive staff, great food, great chef and very comfortable bed.
Loved this place. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sohail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My fiance and I just got back from a long weekend in Cairns staying at Kewarra beach resort. We booked the whole trip through discoveraustralia which was pain free and good if traveling to a new area. I will book direct next time we visit Cairns only because I know we will stay at Kewarra again. It was perfect from beginning to end. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The restaurant was fantastic we ate there two nights out of the three, we would have eaten there the last night aswell but thought we should venture out into Cairns at least once during our stay. The menu although small, everything on it that we tried we loved. The seared scollops entree and Laksa main being the highlights.
Our room and I assume all the rooms have alot of privacy, there was no one else around us and we faced the lake giving us a nice view also.
There are resident Wallabies in the resort, lots of birds and wildlife just adding to the ambiance.
Definitely need to visit again to explore more.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewarra Beach
2.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
11.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
2.4 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#2 of 11 in Palm Cove
564 reviews
12.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
2.4 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 11 in Palm Cove
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 80 Kewarra Street, Kewarra Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Kewarra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 minutes from Cairns in picturesque tropical North Queensland set on 30 acres of lush landscaped rainforest gardens this private boutique beachfront property provides the ultimate Australian vacation experience. With a focus on environmental sensitivity, superb cuisine & world class service, while boasting extensive botanical gardens with detached secluded suites & spacious private bungalows it’s no surprise that this wonderfully romantic hideaway has become a firm favourite with honeymooners & nature lovers the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kewarra Beach Hotel Kewarra Beach
Kewarra Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing