We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Tropical Rainforest Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Tropical Rainforest Resort”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The friends we stayed with at Kewarra Beach Resort had been before so we knew it would be good, but not as good as it was. Like previous reviewers, it was just as you imagine paradise to be, so peaceful and tranquil. The accommodation was perfect ,set away from the reception and restaurant and luckily the air conditioning worked perfectly as it was extremely hot. We enjoyed the various pools and beach too. We would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    757
    259
    51
    19
    7
See reviews for
193
707
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guilford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights in October 2013. Setting is spectacular. Cottages in the rainforest, and the forest is next to the beach. Lots of local wildlife. Good Food. Excellent service. Would go here again. Exceeded our high expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smu53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The hotel is a bit of heaven in the tropical rain forest. The rooms are bungalows that have a small deck facing part of the foliage. The room was adequate and the air conditioning worked OK in the bedroom but there is NO air-conditioning in the bath room. There is a fan and shuttered windows. Not too much fun if you have to blow dry your hair. Dining is open air and it was absolutely delightful. The staff is so friendly and helpful. Food was good. If they have the duck spring rolls, be sure to order them. They are terrific.
The resort does have a beach, but we didn't have time to visit it.
I would give it 5 stars, except for the non air-conditioned bathrooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the peaceful and secluded ambience amongst the beautiful setting - no crowds or noise. Our beach bungalow was perfect. Kewarra was for us the opportunity to rediscover the simple and joyful pleasures of life away from the rest of the world. The meals were just right and we always found the staff attentive and friendly.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed at Kewarra in September. The accommodations were very nice, and we enjoyed the relaxed setting. The meals were also quite enjoyable. The staff was friendly and helpful as well.

We used this as our hopping off point for the Great Barrier Reef, and while the bus ride to our ship in Port Douglas took a while, we didn't mind-- we were looking for something quiet and secluded!

Thanks for the hospitality, Kewarra!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

My husband & I and our two teenage girls (16 & 14) arrived in the afternoon on a Thursday. It was raining. We were met at the check-in counter by Ada who gave us a quick history of the Timara suite which we had booked. Thereafter, we were served the 'welcome' drink prepared by Ada too. On first impression, Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa seemed promising. It was nestled at the edge of a residential neighbourhood within a tropical rainforest with big trees. It was charming, to say the least. We were brought to our room by the bellhop. We were given 2 umbrellas to share while he used a rain poncho. The path to our villa started well enough but as we got deeper, the concrete path turned to wet sandy track with puddles we had to trudge over. It was not pleasant.

Our villa was entirely made of wood. It had 2 bedrooms separated in between by a family room which had a pantry with a kettle, fridge, coffee plunger as well as some plates, cutlery & knife. No microwave, no hob. There was a flat screen TV and wi fi throughout the resort. The rooms were airconditioned and fans everywhere. They were charming with old-fashioned lights and furniture. Mattress was a rather soft but decent. Bathroom had all the basics like bath, face, hand towels, and bath mat, shampoo, conditioner, body wash & body lotion. There was a hairdryer. Water pressure was good and housekeeping standards was passable. Big problem was that there were no plugs in the bedroom and so we had to charge our phones & electronics on the single socket in the bathroom. Access to rooms & safe are with actual keys. The verandah area is very pleasant with dining and ample lounge furniture for all of us. As villa was made almost entirely of wood, the noise transfer between rooms was quite apparent and floors creaked when walking. Flushing was also a noisy affair. There is a self-service laundromat located in the main building.

The grounds of the resort was essentially left quite natural which some will find attractive while others not. I quite liked it as this meant the animals were happy to be there. So almost everyday, we came across wallabies, wombats, different species of birds, etc.

The first day we arrived, since it was wet & we didnt know our way around, we had dinner in the hotel restaurant. My dish was alright but the others did not enjoy their meals at all. To top it off, for what they were, they were terribly expensive. That was the first & only time we ate there, except breakfast, which came with the room. Breakfast was from 6-10am. It was pretty standard fare with fruits, cereals, eggs, etc. What was disappointing though was that it was mango season and there were even mango trees growing on the resort grounds, yet not once did we see mangoes served, as fruit or juice. Instead, what was served were orange and tropical juices which were tasteless and probably came out of a carton.

The beach was near and open to the public as well, although it was not a busy beach. We were advised not to swim there except in between the safety flags due to presence of jellyfish & potentially crocs! The beach was clean but nothing to write home about. There were sand flies at certain times. The resort pool was the same.

Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa is ideal for those who would like a return to nature and dont expect too much of the frills one might associate with the word 'resort' and 'spa'. 'Rustic' is how I'd say best describes it.

Having a rental car would be ideal as the resort is not near enough to the restaurants or the other attractions.





Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilalkaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed in Kewarra for three nights and had a great time there. We had a beach front bungalow with a wonderful view and the two pools were amazing.  We particularly enjoyed the Friday night pizza night with music. We also tried Yoga and Tai Chi by the beach, which was also a great experience. All in all, we felt our stay was very relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewarra Beach
2.0 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
2.2 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
11.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
2.5 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 80 Kewarra Street, Kewarra Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Kewarra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 minutes from Cairns in picturesque tropical North Queensland set on 30 acres of lush landscaped rainforest gardens this private boutique beachfront property provides the ultimate Australian vacation experience. With a focus on environmental sensitivity, superb cuisine & world class service, while boasting extensive botanical gardens with detached secluded suites & spacious private bungalows it’s no surprise that this wonderfully romantic hideaway has become a firm favourite with honeymooners & nature lovers the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kewarra Beach Hotel Kewarra Beach
Kewarra Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing