We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and secluded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here mid December 2013. The resort seemed nowhere near to be full and thus it was a very peaceful stay. The setting is simply wonderful. The cabins are very comfortable as well. The beach is very nice and also pretty much empty. We also liked the rock pool, which happened to be just next to our cabin. Lot's of interesting wildlife as well. If you are here to do the usual activities in the area, I'd say this is not the place to stay, as it is fairly secluded and I booked it to enjoy the resort rather then getting up at 7 to go sailing or tour the tablelands. I'd also say that you'd definitely need a car staying here. We did not bother having breakfast here, because that would have meant getting up much to early. We did use the restaurant as well, and found it excellent and - taking into account the quality of the food - not overly expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelForFunAndWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

The public areas of this resort are spectacular looking out through ancient paperbarks towards the sea. The food was reasonable too. However, the rooms/cabins are starting to show their age (around 20 years) and some aspects of their designs in particular the bathrooms, are really pretty awful. Our cabin received the full afternoon sun and was unbearably hot at times. Most are well shaded and I will insist on one with afternoon shade if I was to stay again.

In terms of places to eat etc there really isn't anything around the resort. Best to head down to Trinity Beach or up to Palm Cove for a bit more life and choice

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The friends we stayed with at Kewarra Beach Resort had been before so we knew it would be good, but not as good as it was. Like previous reviewers, it was just as you imagine paradise to be, so peaceful and tranquil. The accommodation was perfect ,set away from the reception and restaurant and luckily the air conditioning worked perfectly as it was extremely hot. We enjoyed the various pools and beach too. We would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights in October 2013. Setting is spectacular. Cottages in the rainforest, and the forest is next to the beach. Lots of local wildlife. Good Food. Excellent service. Would go here again. Exceeded our high expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smu53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The hotel is a bit of heaven in the tropical rain forest. The rooms are bungalows that have a small deck facing part of the foliage. The room was adequate and the air conditioning worked OK in the bedroom but there is NO air-conditioning in the bath room. There is a fan and shuttered windows. Not too much fun if you have to blow dry your hair. Dining is open air and it was absolutely delightful. The staff is so friendly and helpful. Food was good. If they have the duck spring rolls, be sure to order them. They are terrific.
The resort does have a beach, but we didn't have time to visit it.
I would give it 5 stars, except for the non air-conditioned bathrooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the peaceful and secluded ambience amongst the beautiful setting - no crowds or noise. Our beach bungalow was perfect. Kewarra was for us the opportunity to rediscover the simple and joyful pleasures of life away from the rest of the world. The meals were just right and we always found the staff attentive and friendly.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed at Kewarra in September. The accommodations were very nice, and we enjoyed the relaxed setting. The meals were also quite enjoyable. The staff was friendly and helpful as well.

We used this as our hopping off point for the Great Barrier Reef, and while the bus ride to our ship in Port Douglas took a while, we didn't mind-- we were looking for something quiet and secluded!

Thanks for the hospitality, Kewarra!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewarra Beach
2.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
2.4 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
11.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
352 reviews
12.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
2.5 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 80 Kewarra Street, Kewarra Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Kewarra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Price Range: £120 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 minutes from Cairns in picturesque tropical North Queensland set on 30 acres of lush landscaped rainforest gardens this private boutique beachfront property provides the ultimate Australian vacation experience. With a focus on environmental sensitivity, superb cuisine & world class service, while boasting extensive botanical gardens with detached secluded suites & spacious private bungalows it’s no surprise that this wonderfully romantic hideaway has become a firm favourite with honeymooners & nature lovers the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kewarra Beach Hotel Kewarra Beach
Kewarra Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing