We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar snacks let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Sitting in the bar while it rained for hours made us really hungry. Feeling peckish I ordered one of the bar snacks 'Corn Tortilla' hoping it would keep us going till dinner. When i ordered it, i checked with the staff if it was like nachos, 'yes' she said. So expecting something like nachos they delivered a handful of corn tortillas a teaspoon full of guacamole, chilli sauce and sour cream. Biggest disappointment of the week. Take that off your menu, its embarrassing!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Cairnslocal4879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,136)
There are newer reviews for Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Kewarra was a fantastic choice for a few days to chill out while we were visiting Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef. We loved our beach front cabin, although if you book one I'd recommend asking for a cabin as far away from the beach bar as possible, unless you want to have potentially intrusive noise from either live music or a DJ. The lobby was beautiful, as was the dining area - both are surrounded by the trees of the rainforest. This is one of the only hotels in the area based in a place where the rainforest meets the beach, so it's pretty idyllic. Some of the facilities are a bit tired (for example both pools are a bit odd) but this can be forgiven for such beautiful environs. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patty_Fields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This review is slightly delayed, in my defense I did have some major problems trying to login to tripadvisor, but it's all fixed, so finally I can write this long overdue review. It's been over a year now, and my partner and I still remember our time at the resort as if it were yesterday. I proposed to my (then) fiancé during the solar eclipse in a balloon in the early hours of the morning and we could not have come home to a more lovely location and atmosphere. The staff were simply amazing. They assisted with minutest of detail - e.g keeping a shut lip about my intention to propose during checkin, and our first day there (there were many opportunities to slip up believe me!), all the way to organising THE most amazing, personal dinner experience on the evening after she said yes. The location is also beautiful and worth the visit in itself. To Mark, Carolyne and the team - a HUGE thank you from the both of us - we are now very happily married and sincerely appreciate your service to us on our most important day!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Shookeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed there for 7 days and enjoyed every bit of our stay. The best part was the natural environs of the resort - we felt that we were in a rain forest where we could hear the croaks of the tree frogs, run into a wallaby and spot some beautiful birds. Too bad that it was jellyfish season and we couldn't swim on the beach (even though there was a netted area). But the beach shack was awesome - great ambiance, fabulous food. We also ate lunch/dinner quite a few times at the Paperbark restaurant and the food was great always. Being far from the city center at Cairns can be a pro and a con - but we enjoyed staying away from it all. We went on a couple of tours during our stay there - to Kuranda, Great Barrier Reef, etc. All trips were very efficiently organized by the front desk staff. The fact that there is free wireless throughout the resort was great and the availability of iPads was a nice touch for the guests. The only drawback I can think of is the fact that a resort of that caliber does not have a great swimming pool. There are these 'rock pools' but are not very kid friendly. Additionally, the cleaning staff could have been a bit better and work with the availability of the guests. Also, another area of development would be for them to have some activities for their guests. We stayed during Christmas and apart from having a Christmas lunch the whole place seemed quite dead. A few activities for kids would be great, even though you can rent out some beach toys for kids. Its a wonderful property and lots more can be done to make it even better. Full marks to the great staff. We hope to go back to Kewarra again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pghosh1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I spend 4 days at Kewarra for my honeymoon. The location is perfect, really on the beach (closed because it's the jellyfish period - so we cannot swim in the sea but only in the swimmingpool very nice). Restaurant expensive but excellent. Service totally absent: if you need something in your room, you have to go to reception and bring it. The bar on the beach was closed, so if you stay on the beach and you want to drink something, you have to go to reception, bring your cockatil and come back to the beach. Not very confortable.
A part this, i suggest to spend some relaxing days at this resort, unique in this zone on the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PierItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kewarra, General Manager at Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear PierItalia,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay at our beautiful Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa.
It is wonderful to read that you perceive the location of the resort as "Perfect" and enjoyed our dining experience. Our food and beverage offerings have always been one of the cornerstones of our operation.
While it is true that we do not provide beach service outside of our beach shack operating hours, we believe that the short 40 metre stroll along the elevated boardwalks from the bar to our private and natural beachfront setting is not too much of a disadvantage to the majority of our guests. I have also just spoken to the Food & Beverage manager regarding your valuable feedback and he also recalls taking over additional cocktails to your rooms personally. In light of this information I would question the strength of the wording you have used to in relation to our service standards.
Overall we are delighted to see that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay and you would recommended us to others.

We hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back to our resort in the near future.
Regards,
Mark...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We booked our Australia holiday with Trailfinders, and they recommended the Kewarra beach resort. We just loved everything about this place during our 5 night stay. We stayed in a deluxe bungalow with a really comfortable large bed. Room facilities are everything you could want. All of the staff we met were genuinely friendly and only too happy to help. The gardens are amazing and the morning garden tour with Wayne is definitely worth doing. The whole place has been really creatively designed. The two pools are totally in keeping with the grounds and a welcome change to the usual tiled rectangular pool. Poolside towels are provided. The bar and restaurant are a real feature. The breakfasts were amazing, with a wide choice of fresh fruit, pastries, cereals, bacon, eggs etc. The dinner menu offers a good variety, and having since stayed in Ayers Rock and Sydney we can say that Kewarra's prices for food and drink offer good value. Average cost for the two of us for a 2 course dinner was $100 (about £50) including a bottle of wine which would last us 2 nights.

The only downside of going in January is that you can't swim in the sea, should you want to, as there are a lot of box jellyfish along the east coast at this time of year. We preferred the pools anyway.

Room Tip: The deluxe bungalow suited the two of us just fine
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gethbelert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

If you are looking for a place that has easy access to Cairnes, shopping, restaurants and activities, THIS IS NOT THE PLACE FOR YOU. While the grounds may be beautiful, unless you have a car, you are a resort prisoner. A taxi ride to town is $60 each way as well as the airport. Unlike other hotels that provide occasional shuttles to town, there is nothing. I have eaten at the restaurant for three nights and it has a limited menue selection and expensive food--so you are trapped.
The hotel caters to tour groups (such as Tauck) and if you are an independent traveler you are essentially ignored. I booked this hotel on the recommendation of Tripadvisor because of the rating. Don't be fooled. It will cost you a small fortune to stay here and there are many better choices closer to town that offer transportation and freedom of choice in restaurants and shopping. Don't be fooled be the deceptive rating!!!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Frbill92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kewarra, General Manager at Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Frbill92,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Reading your impressions of our resort is disappointing and quite premature it seems. We see you have arrived at our resort on Saturday the 11th and submitted this review on the Monday (two days later). We have only just waved you goodbye this morning (Thursday) and we are thrilled to see that you have written the following in our guest log book prior to departure:

"16-1-2014, Had a wonderful 5-night stay at this wonderful location. Service was outstanding as well as restaurant and staff, thank you, name (withheld out of respect to privacy)"...

We are only pleased to have turned your initial experience of "Isolated and Inconvenient" into "Wonderful and Outstanding".

We do hope that you enjoy the remainder of your travels.

Warm regards,
Mark and the Kewarra Team...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewarra Beach
2.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
11.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
2.4 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
2.4 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
348 reviews
2.5 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 80 Kewarra Street, Kewarra Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Kewarra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Price Range: £117 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 minutes from Cairns in picturesque tropical North Queensland set on 30 acres of lush landscaped rainforest gardens this private boutique beachfront property provides the ultimate Australian vacation experience. With a focus on environmental sensitivity, superb cuisine & world class service, while boasting extensive botanical gardens with detached secluded suites & spacious private bungalows it’s no surprise that this wonderfully romantic hideaway has become a firm favourite with honeymooners & nature lovers the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kewarra Beach Hotel Kewarra Beach
Kewarra Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing