We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super staff,comfortable rooms,good food but remote location”
Review of Hibiscus House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hibiscus House
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brufut
Certificate of Excellence
Antigua
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Super staff,comfortable rooms,good food but remote location”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was a business trip so my outlook and needs may be different to persons
On holiday.
Hibiscus House is in a local residential area a long way from the main road
So you need transport to go anywhere.I had a hire car arranged so it was not a problem
For me but most people had to rely on taxis.

The positives
The staff are lovely and interact with the guests.
The swimming pools are nice and well maintained and th gardens attract a wide range of birds.
The rooms are comfortable but some little things could make it so much better(see below)
The A La carte menu is good and the portions are generous.
The cocktails prepared by BATS are very nice.
The negatives
The breakfast menu is limited and becomes boring every day.They need some variety
To make it interesting for guests who are staying for 1 or 2 weeks.
The wifi is woeful.I was unable to conduct my business and had to go to the internet café.
The bathroom gets very wet as there is no shower tray so the water runs everywhere.
There is no television or radio in the room and whilst we had a suite with lounge it was
Very boring to sit there.
Overall I would recommend it for holidaymakers wanting a more personal experience.

Room Tip: The suites at the back of the property share their own pool and are private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEILCAntigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hibiscus_Gambia, Manager at Hibiscus House, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hibiscus House does not provide televisions which is appreciated by most of our guests as they come to enjoy the out-doors and relax away from the everyday media, thank you for your kind comments and review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    30
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
99
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We spent a very enjoyable week at Hibiscus House. We were very impressed with all the staff with particular praise for Baks and Saidou who made every effort to make our stay enjoyable. Thanks so much for the wonderful birthday cake and choir!
The only negatives were that it was a bit noisy at weekends with loud music being played nearby and the early morning call to prayers from the local mosques. We also found the walk to the beach or to get a bus on the main road, was a bit long and dusty but we were very happy to be away from the main tourist area.
The gardens were full of lovely colourful birds and flowers and it is a very relaxing place to stay.
If you can, arrange a trip up river and stay a night at the Reserve's eco lodge and see the chimps on Baboon island.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 9 which shared a private pool with Room 10. Lovely large, high ceiling rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fangchewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hibiscus_Gambia, Manager at Hibiscus House, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are so glad that you enjoyed our gardens and the birds they attract also your stay at Hibiscus House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arequipa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We have never been to West Africa before and this hotel was a lovely comfortable place to start. The rooms (we were lucky enough to be upgraded mid-stay) were delightful, they have coffee & tea making facilities, reliable hot showers and you do not need air-con even on the hottest of days.

They provided a lovely filling fresh breakfast, and also have lunch and dinner menus available. We ate in the hotel a couple of times and when went into Senegambia to eat for a bit of variety too.

I must also mention, if you can please try and visit the village of Brufut itself whilst you stay. We had a local guide named Yaya Jallow from a nearby compound. He was a star, a hardworking man who cares about his village. He went out of his way to show us the local area, we especially enjoyed our visit to the Brufut Nursery School (where he helps maintain). The school housed around 100 children from ages 3-5 and although the atmosphere was a happy one, they need more support as they have many more children in the village whom can't afford to attend and benefit. Even a few hundred Dalasi would help then with sponsorship and supplies (around £10).

Contact Details:
Yaya Jallow
mobile: 00 220 761 0518
email: mafatouja@yahoo.com

website: http://avifoundation.wordpress.com/

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hibiscus_Gambia, Manager at Hibiscus House, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hibiscus House also our local community and environment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARDIFF U.K.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Although we were not residing at Hibiscus house and were staying nearby one morning we decided to stroll around to this well rated establishment for breakfast. We found it pretty easily down off a long red road that was off the coastal road down into Brufut. On arriving at the gate we strolled in to be greated by a lovely smile off one of the staff there and were offered a tour of the place but we were starving and sat down at the tables that were poolside in front of the small and cosy bar there. We ordered the set breakfast menu that was available to non residents. Soon we had ginger, wonja, pineapple, and orange juices with fresh fruit pancakes, followed by teas and coffee's. Next came lightly toasted local tapalata bread with again local honey and homeade peanut butter and later scrambled eggs with bacon. It all was lovely with impecable service enjoyed by all four of us. We could have stayed and enjoyed to pool and sunloungers for a few hours but after a lovely look around taking photographs we left a day on Brufut beach. This is truly a lovely place and if we ever decide to stay there on future trips I doubt if we would ever leave, such is the peace and tranquility there, it's simply great there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MONDEO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hibiscus_Gambia, Manager at Hibiscus House, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
We like to look after you, weather you are resident or just passing by. Thank you so much for your very kind review, hope you will be passing by again one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014

A lovely setting within the slow bustle of a gambian village, Hibiscus House was a beautiful haven to stay in and the staff and food were fantastic. Baks is the most outstanding barman, not to mention Forday and all the staff at hibiscus were wonderfully accomodating. The food was outstanding and Saidou, the chef is a very talented man! A wonderful stay! P.s the prawn curry is out of this world!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenandNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hibiscus_Gambia, Manager at Hibiscus House, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Our staff always enjoy your pleasure, I will make sure your comments are read by all. Thank you so much for your kind review and we are all so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We have just returned from another amazing stay at Hibiscus House and it was lovely to catch up with everyone again.

Set in an oasis of calm, with the hustle and bustle of the real Africa just outside the front door, this truly is a remarkable experience. Whether you want to just relax in the beautiful gardens and watch the birds or venture out either with a guide or on your own, you will not be disappointed. The staff are very friendly and the quality of service is high - the food is delicious. Nothing is ever too much trouble and - by the time you depart - you feel like one of the family.

It is true that there are no restaurants or bars within walking distance but we ate in every night and were never disappointed. Spa treatments and restaurants/bars are only a short taxi drive away or you could be adventurous (as we did this time) and travel in a bush taxi with the locals.

Although inland, the beautiful, almost deserted, beach is only a 20 minute walk away and there are plenty of beach bars and sun loungers once you get there.

It really is very difficult to put into words - I would say, just go and experience it for yourselves.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 177Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hibiscus_Gambia, Manager at Hibiscus House, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
It was lovely to welcome you back to Hibiscus House, everyone is so glad that you enjoyed and had a successful stay once again. Thank you for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

If you are looking for a small 'boutique' style hotel where you will be warmly welcomed by the owner then look elsewhere. The owner of this establishment failed to greet us at the first opportunity choosing instead to only speak with guests sitting alongside us.

On New Year's Eve we decided to enjoy the evening at the hotel where music and dancing was laid on together with barbecue food. Disappointingly, there was not even one glass of complementary fizz to celebrate the turn of the year.

On checking out we were not given a printed or written receipt despite requesting one and the owner ignorantly leaving one of us alone to enter our details on their office PC.

We have great admiration for the wonderful & helpful staff hence the 5 star rating, such a pity the owner lets it all so badly down.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hikingduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscushousegambia, Owner at Hibiscus House, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your review and we take on board your comments. All members at Hibiscus House work as a team together whatever the task in hand. We provide a personal airport collection and welcome drink upon arrival at Hibiscus House, for guests arriving from within the country ETA can be varied but our welcome from all is always warm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brufut
0.9 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,214 reviews
1.2 mi away
Leo's Beach Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
84.6 mi away
Ocean Villa Heights
Ocean Villa Heights
#3 of 4 in Brufut
31 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lemon Creek Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus House

Property: Hibiscus House
Address: Off Coastal Road, Brufut, Gambia
Region: Gambia > West Coast Division > Brufut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brufut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus House is a privately owned small lodge/hotel in The Gambia. Located amidst the local community away from the main tourist areas and set within tropical gardens it's the perfect break for a little winter sun.The Gambia has long been popular for an extensive bird life, musical culture, river and sunny coastline.Hibiscus House is a perfect location to explore and experience the real Gambia.Explore The River Gambia and it's bolons, learn to drum a Jembe. Spend time at the local school or just relax in the sunshine.Enjoy delicious home cooked food from fresh local produce.We offer you a choice of 3 Suites, 1 Deluxe and 6 Garden Rooms, and 2 Swimming Pools along with happy and friendly service. Breakfast is included within the price and we also offer a lunchtime and evening menu. 'This is your home for as long as you are in The Gambia' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hibiscus House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus House Hotel Brufut
Hibiscus House Gambia/Brufut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing