We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place in a beautiful country”
Review of Hibiscus House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hibiscus House
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brufut
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely place in a beautiful country”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Hibiscus House is a wonderful place -- serene, excellent food, and charming staff.

We took 95% of our meals at HH and were never disappointed. It's fresh and plentiful, and the chef, Saidou, is a lovely guy. Special mention must also be made of the amazingly warm and friendly bartenders Bax and Tulai -- both made this trip really sparkle.

We ventured out every day but one, guided and unguided. Alagie the guide is super, and Lamin, who guides when Alagie is not available, is also very nice.

It is a major perk that HH is not some isolated all-inclusive, soulless resort like the Sheraton (just a short distance away on Brufut beach) must be. Take advantage and venture into the village (right outside the door of HH). Talk to the locals (you will learn so much), buy something in the market, visit a school, buy some sweets and give them to the kids, or just sit and observe (there is so much to see). Everyone is wonderfully friendly and it's all right there. They don't call it the smiling coast of Africa for nothing!

Brufut beach is the nearest, and is nice, with many beach bars. Batokunku is a bit further (600-700 dalasi taxi ride from HH) but more tranquil and easier to swim. Take your pick -- both are great.

The only flaws of HH are small: WiFi does not work so well, the pool is unheated and so can be a little cold. The windows also don't really close completely (by design), you won't get cold but smells will drift into your room -- someone smoking outside perhaps, or incense from the neighbouring compound. But these are pretty small things that for us did not at all mar a wonderful, memorable holiday. Just enjoy the full five senses experience -- I loved hearing the rooster each morning! We hope to be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1stClassLounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hibiscus_Gambia, Manager at Hibiscus House, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we are so glad you enjoyed your hols at Hibiscus House, sorry about the WiFi speed, it's life in the slow lane! We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    30
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
99
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

If you are looking for a place that provides a fabulous level of accommodation, service and hospitality you will not beat Hibiscus House. Oliver is a super and attentive host who is supported by first class people in the bar and restaurant (food is just a delight) and Baccs, 'The Man', is the barman from heaven with great help from people like Adama, Saydo, Forday. Take a tour with the 5 star guideman and bird enthusiast Alagie and your holiday is complete. Just a treat, so much so we will return to see the lovely Gambian people as well as the attractive beaches and abundant wildlife. Tom & Jos (Cotswolds).

Room Tip: The two suites with their private pool is a delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hibiscus_Gambia, Manager at Hibiscus House, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
We really do appreciate your kind review, knowing that you have enjoyed you stay at Hibiscus House, our food and the wildlife that The Gambia always brings a smile to our hard working staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We visited Hibiscus House last year, just the two of us and absolutely loved it. We vowed to take our children this year, and that we did. We have just arrived home, again it was fabulous!
The staff are so attentive and Ollie, the owner a great host. Backs the bar manager again a great host and great fun! Aligie, the tour guide gave us some fantastic days out, and Sadou the chef, cannot get anything wrong, his food is fantastic! Suiting our kids, and for definite suiting us.
Anyone looking for fab weather and just a 6 hour flight, must visit Hibiscus House. We will be going back again next year, maybe even this year!
We love this place, it is an oasis amongst a beautiful African village, a must to visit!

Room Tip: The suite is great! and 2 new rooms with private pool, fab too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hibiscus_Gambia, Manager at Hibiscus House, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Hibiscus House, all of us here thank you very much for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Oliver and his team provide a professional and well managed boutique hotel in a delightful setting. Excellent value meals, a good hearty breakfast and staff who go the extra mile to help you. All in all a most pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hibiscus_Gambia, Manager at Hibiscus House, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, they will be passed on to our staff. We are so glad that you enjoyed Hibiscus House and you stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was a business trip so my outlook and needs may be different to persons
On holiday.
Hibiscus House is in a local residential area a long way from the main road
So you need transport to go anywhere.I had a hire car arranged so it was not a problem
For me but most people had to rely on taxis.

The positives
The staff are lovely and interact with the guests.
The swimming pools are nice and well maintained and th gardens attract a wide range of birds.
The rooms are comfortable but some little things could make it so much better(see below)
The A La carte menu is good and the portions are generous.
The cocktails prepared by BATS are very nice.
The negatives
The breakfast menu is limited and becomes boring every day.They need some variety
To make it interesting for guests who are staying for 1 or 2 weeks.
The wifi is woeful.I was unable to conduct my business and had to go to the internet café.
The bathroom gets very wet as there is no shower tray so the water runs everywhere.
There is no television or radio in the room and whilst we had a suite with lounge it was
Very boring to sit there.
Overall I would recommend it for holidaymakers wanting a more personal experience.

Room Tip: The suites at the back of the property share their own pool and are private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEILCAntigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hibiscus_Gambia, Manager at Hibiscus House, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hibiscus House does not provide televisions which is appreciated by most of our guests as they come to enjoy the out-doors and relax away from the everyday media, thank you for your kind comments and review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We spent a very enjoyable week at Hibiscus House. We were very impressed with all the staff with particular praise for Baks and Saidou who made every effort to make our stay enjoyable. Thanks so much for the wonderful birthday cake and choir!
The only negatives were that it was a bit noisy at weekends with loud music being played nearby and the early morning call to prayers from the local mosques. We also found the walk to the beach or to get a bus on the main road, was a bit long and dusty but we were very happy to be away from the main tourist area.
The gardens were full of lovely colourful birds and flowers and it is a very relaxing place to stay.
If you can, arrange a trip up river and stay a night at the Reserve's eco lodge and see the chimps on Baboon island.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 9 which shared a private pool with Room 10. Lovely large, high ceiling rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fangchewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hibiscus_Gambia, Manager at Hibiscus House, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are so glad that you enjoyed our gardens and the birds they attract also your stay at Hibiscus House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arequipa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We have never been to West Africa before and this hotel was a lovely comfortable place to start. The rooms (we were lucky enough to be upgraded mid-stay) were delightful, they have coffee & tea making facilities, reliable hot showers and you do not need air-con even on the hottest of days.

They provided a lovely filling fresh breakfast, and also have lunch and dinner menus available. We ate in the hotel a couple of times and when went into Senegambia to eat for a bit of variety too.

I must also mention, if you can please try and visit the village of Brufut itself whilst you stay. We had a local guide named Yaya Jallow from a nearby compound. He was a star, a hardworking man who cares about his village. He went out of his way to show us the local area, we especially enjoyed our visit to the Brufut Nursery School (where he helps maintain). The school housed around 100 children from ages 3-5 and although the atmosphere was a happy one, they need more support as they have many more children in the village whom can't afford to attend and benefit. Even a few hundred Dalasi would help then with sponsorship and supplies (around £10).

Contact Details:
Yaya Jallow
mobile: 00 220 761 0518
email: mafatouja@yahoo.com

website: http://avifoundation.wordpress.com/

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hibiscus_Gambia, Manager at Hibiscus House, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hibiscus House also our local community and environment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brufut
4.0 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Lemon Creek Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Leo's Beach Hotel & Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 9 in Kololi
153 reviews
8.5 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus House

Property: Hibiscus House
Address: Off Coastal Road, Brufut, Gambia
Region: Gambia > West Coast Division > Brufut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brufut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus House is a privately owned small lodge/hotel in The Gambia. Located amidst the local community away from the main tourist areas and set within tropical gardens it's the perfect break for a little winter sun.The Gambia has long been popular for an extensive bird life, musical culture, river and sunny coastline.Hibiscus House is a perfect location to explore and experience the real Gambia.Explore The River Gambia and it's bolons, learn to drum a Jembe. Spend time at the local school or just relax in the sunshine.Enjoy delicious home cooked food from fresh local produce.We offer you a choice of 3 Suites, 1 Deluxe and 6 Garden Rooms, and 2 Swimming Pools along with happy and friendly service. Breakfast is included within the price and we also offer a lunchtime and evening menu. 'This is your home for as long as you are in The Gambia' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hibiscus House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus House Hotel Brufut
Hibiscus House Gambia/Brufut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing