We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive premises”
Review of Xidi Travel Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Xidi Travel Lodge
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in Yi County
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed at Xidi Travel Lodge while visiting many of the small villages in the area. We were keen to stay in one of the villages to avoid longer trips in and out of Tunxi each day. We picked Xidi based on TripAdvisor reviews.

First of all, I should note that the old buildings in which this hotel is based (previously a very wealthy local's private residence) are very beautiful from a historic point of view with nice gardens and a relaxing atmosphere. As noted previously by other reviewers, the manager, Joseph, speaks fluent English and is very welcoming and helpful. He took us for a tour of the hotel on our arrival and gave us tips not only for the hotel but for the local area, and was always willing to help out when needed. All of the other staff were friendly also.
Note- hotel name is written in Chinese characters! See other reviews for directions.

Rooms - we stayed in the deluxe double room, which was nice and had a newly renovated bathroom. The furniture was Chinese antique-style and large, which is impressive to look at, but from a practical sense it was very hard to move around the room (not enough room!) and we had trouble even to find space to lay down 2 suitcases. Being in a rural village we also had a few bugs and mosquitos in the room (mosquito lamps provided). LAN cable provided for internet (unfortunately we weren't able to get it to work). Seemed fairly well cleaned and housekeeping was good. TV and kettle / mugs provided.

Breakfast was Chinese (included), or you could pay 20yuan /pp extra for a Western breakfast. We had the chinese breakfast and it was fairly typical with rice porridge, boiled eggs, steamed buns etc, which was adequate. We tried the restaurant one other night but didn't particularly enjoy our dishes (the pork stir-fry we ordered was actually liver stirfry!). The hotel outdoor cafe was good with tea/coffee and wifi, and helpful staff, although in the afternoons it's hard to get a spot to sit down due to tourists and high-school art students who fill the place up.

Evenings are VERY quiet in Xidi village and if you don't get some dinner by about 7pm, it can be hard to find. Also hard to find 'meat' dishes as westerners might like (a lot of it seemed to be liver when we ordered). Not really anything to do in the evenings, and you can see the whole village in 1 day.

It may be worthwhile for other travellers who are keen to stay in the villages to perhaps only spend max 1-2 nights in each village, and stay at 2 places instead of 1, just so that there is a little more to do. A lovely village nonetheless.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClaraAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed at Xidi for one night. The rooms are well-equipped and the lodge has an excellent location.
However, I am writing this review mainly because I would like to mention that the manger, who speaks excellent english, was very helpful in organizing our onwards travels.
The only thing that could have been better was breakfast, since there is only Chinese breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I was lucky enough to stay in this hotel for a couple of nights. I was with a group of friends. We loved the village and the shops. Delightful shopkeepers and the fun of bargaining for goods. The rooms were comfortable but cold and we did use the air conditioner to heat them up. Our friends were a couple of rooms down from us and their room got the sun during the day and was much warmer. This was not a drawback to us. We had English breakfast served by Joseph, it was just delightful, nothing too much trouble. The room had a painted frieze which was very old and went around the middle of the room. If we weren't exploring the surrounds, we were sitting at the outside tables having a coffee. We also sat in various spots, drawing and some of our group went fishing or walking. We also used the laundry service and we were tickled pink to see our clothes being washed chinese style. Xidi is one of the highlight stops in China.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The hotel is expertly run by a Hong Kong company. The rooms are nicely appointed, but are a bit small if you take a standard. We stayed one night, but could easily have stayed another. The manager (Joseph) couldn’t have been more helpful, he is from Hong Kong, and speaks excellent English. He even walked us to the main street to make sure we caught the bus OK.
The restaurant was in an old hall, and the food was very good, and reasonably priced.
I can thoroughly recommend this hotel for a comfortable break in “Real” China.
Just note that you do have to pay RMB104 each extra to enter the village.

Room Tip: The Superior Rooms seem to have more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WHDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

You can feel and maybe even hear the clock spinning backwards as you make your way along the cobbled lane next to the lake, alongside the ancient eaves, under the dramatic medieval archway. The oversize double doorways to a venerable old hall that must be a museum swing open and -- surprise -- it is your hotel. Wait, this can't be a hotel, it is too...authentic. But there it is, the registration desk, and then you realize, yes, you are going to be staying in a living museum. It is stunning but a bit troublesome as wonder if your room appointment are going to medieval as well, but -- second surprise -- you step into your room and you are back in the 21st century. It's maybe a tad small but certainly comfortable, with every convenience you would want, all of it working well. And so the first step in exploring this 1,000 year old village is to explore the hotel, which is a refurbished villa of one of the old and rich nobles. The dining room is especially dramatic, and around the hotel courtyard are gates leading to various streets, plazas and fields inviting you to wander off.

Room Tip: The hotel is all on one level, but some rooms are a fair walk from the lobby. You might ask for clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Further_to_Fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

After our arrival in this quite beautiful hotel, we didn't feel welcomed at all. We book the room with breakfast included, but the unfriendly receptionist wanted to explain to us, that this includes only Chinese breakfast. For western breakfast we had to pay extra 30RMB per Person. As this was not mentioned in the booking form, we tried to explain it to her, but she immediately got angry and uncooperative. She started to ignore us, and we had not even checked in yet. As this women didnt even try to speak nor understand a word of English, we called our son back in Shanghai, who speaks a bit Chinese. He explained it to her again on the phone in Chinese, after a while she just handed us back the phone and kept on ignoring us. After insisting a long time, another receptionist from the back room appeared and at least let us check in, but she said, that our credit card is not working, so we had to pay everything in cash in advance. That was very inconvenient, and we never faced any problem with our creditcard in China. This really unpleasant experience jeopardized our mood for that day, really sad, as the places Xidi and Hongcun are lovely and worthwhile to come. But this place we would not recommend due to the really unpleasant service.

Room Tip: we do not recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torerow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Being first time there, we were totally amazed by Huangshan's beautiful scenary.
As for Xidi Travel lodge, we were also pleasantly surprised and we had a true cultural experience by staying there.
The hotel itself was originally ancient homes of rich locals and it kept the local architecture styles. Guest room was not that big but nicely decorated with cute Chinese furniture. Heard from the hotel staff, the furniture were of Southern Chinese style!
Hotel staff were courteous and friendly. A few can speak good english.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Culturelover09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yi County hotels
Xidi
Yipin Genglou Inn
Yipin Genglou Inn
#10 of 78 in Yi County
8 reviews
Qishu Lake Wonderland Hotel
#7 of 78 in Yi County
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yiyantang Xiangcun Inn
#6 of 195 in Yi County
3 reviews
Niaochao Theme Hotel
#11 of 195 in Yi County
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xidi Travel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xidi Travel Lodge

Address: Xidi Resort, Yi County 245001, China
Region: China > Anhui > Yi County
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in Yi County
Price Range: £37 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Xidi Travel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xidi Travel Lodge is located at UNESCO World Heritage Site –XIDI,one of the centers’ tivhest in Huizhou Culture. With 48 preserved rooms,which are being converted from traditional Southern Anhui residential houses,ancestral halls,commemorative arch “Paifangs”, “Horse’head”walls and state-green shingles.Entering our lodge,is just like walking into an ancient “Museum of Ming/Qing residential houses”. We have a Huizhou cuisine restaurant,garden terrace cafe bar,4ancient treasures of the study gallery and a handicraft/souvenir center. An easy access road of 50km from Huangshan city airport and 20km from Huangshan (Yellow Mountain)tourist zone,XIDI TRAVEL LODGE is truly a 4 in 1 venue with accommodation Food&Beverage ,Art&Culture and shop-ping which you cannot miss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Xidi Travel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xidi Travel Lodge Yi County, China - Anhui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing