We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel - terrible spa!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Winnersh
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel - terrible spa!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My partner and I booked a "luxury spa getaway" here. We did not get the romatic relaxing weekend we had been expecting. The spa facilities (pool, sauna, steam room) were crowded without even for example enough chairs/loungers around the pool, meaning a scramble to grab a lounger whenever anyone got up. We were told robes etc were included but they were not provided. Most annoying however was the atmosphere in the spa. It was filled with families meaning instead of a relaxing peaceful weekend we were treated to shrieking children all day. It felt like a normal public swimming pool and was definitely not worth the money.
However the hotel was beautifully decorated, the staff (other than in the spa) were friendly and the restaurant was fab!
But be warned - do not book a spa weekend!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YoungProfessional123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing our hotel for you spa break and please accept our apologies for the matters you refer to. Unfortunately your visit coincided with the half term break for schools and as a result the pool tends to be popular with hotel guests during the prescribed children's swimming times which are in fact restricted.

We are most appreciative of your lovely feedback about our beautiful interior design standards and your particular enjoyment of our wonderful 2 AA rosette Caprice Restaurant. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to experience a more relaxing spa break outside of midterm breaks

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    367
    111
    48
    54
See reviews for
223
324
53
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel is lovely...modern rooms, comfortable, brilliant pool and gym, nice food etc. One major problem though....cheap labour...all the staff are foreign and is very difficult communicating with any of them....any and every question I asked had to be repeated...they didn't understand me and nor me them. On arrival it took 30 minutes to check in as the guy on front counter had such a strong accent I had to ask him to repeat himself constantly. Shame as the hotel is 5 star all the way apart from the language barrier!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your lovely review

Kindly note that our team are all hand picked from within the hospitality sector and are committed and professional individuals who always strive to provide the best possible service to our guests and who actually speak multiple languages. We have a diverse team that reflects the international nature of our hotel considering the global travellers that we cater to.

We very much appreciate your wonderful feedback on the quality of our accommodation, leisure and spa facilities and excellent food and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here for one night over the Valentine's weekend.

The rooms are very modern and spacious, with an extremely comfortable bed. The hotel is located in the middle of an industrial estate, so it is extremely quiet at night. The bathroom is a bit on the small side, but the shower and bath are faultless.

The swimming pool is a decent size, and the steam room and sauna are adequate. Unfortunately, there is not a jacuzzi, but was still a pleasant spa experience. We had paid for the spa package so were entitled to a spa treatment. I had the full body massage, and my partner had the full body hot stone massage. 45 minute massage each, and can't really complain - I came out very relaxed. I used the gym a couple of times - a tad on the small side but had all the equipment you would need.

The dinner was extremely nice. Although we had to choose from the Valentine's set menu, the choices were still varied, and the food was still excellent! Very well presented and tasted great!

Breakfast was excellent! Full buffet with the traditional English breakfast, but a selection of fruits, cereals and croissants - enough to set you up for the day.

Would definitely recommend this hotel, whether its for a business trip or a weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

A very comfortable hotel; rooms were stylish with all amenities you could want. Staff were particularly helpful, especially Ashwin and Leanne on reception where nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was very good and would really set you up for the day. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ans196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Highly Valued Guest

We thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experiences on line and for recognising the efforts of our team which are most appreciated.

We are very pleased you particularly enjoyed our extensive breakfast offering and the quality and comfort of the facilities in our hotel.

Your 5 star award means a great deal to us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here for two nights and can't wait to stop by again!

We were looking for somewhere not too far from town but with a swimming pool. Hotel is beautiful and spacious, rooms are by far some of the best I've seen from a Holiday Inn and we stayed in the standard rooms.
Bathroom was small but beautiful, green lighting under the sink was a great touch. Next time we book I'll be taking a look at the executive rooms.

Bed was very comfortable and rooms were incredibly quiet. We didn't hear any other guests throughout the entire stay. Breakfast was great and traditional full buffet you expect from the Holiday Inn!

Internet was expensive, would be nice to get this thrown in it's 2k14 after all.

Pool and spa is to die for, dim lit pool is the ideal place to relax after a long day. Changing rooms are modern and have lovely large rain showers in them.

We will be visiting again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuneSlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We arrived at the hotel late in the evening and requested a quiet room. The receptionist obliged with a first floor room that overlooked the courtyard. The room was well equipped, clean and comfortable. There was no external noise and the room's temperature controls were effective. The bed was a 5ft (UK "king" sized double) and the selection of pillows offered made it easy to find a comfortable combination, as evidenced by the fact that we didn't wake until 9.40 the following morning. All in all, a pleasant overnight stay at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The rooms that overlook the courtyard are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller130853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked the Valentines Spa Weekend package last minute, and so glad we did!

We were a bit snobbish about booking a Holiday Inn but were very surprised - felt more like a Hilton to be honest!

Most spa hotels go down the country house feel, but this was fresh, modern and inviting.

A ten minute drive or ten pound taxi journey to Reading town centre meant that it's peaceful business park location was ideal, and had a beautiful scenic view of the town.

Rooms were spacious, clean, modern and had everything you needed. Bathroom was exquisite and the bed was very comfortable.

The spa facilities were calming - sauna and steam room on the small side maybe and there wasn't a jacuzzi, but over all very relaxing.

The restuarant was large and wasn't your average hotel one! Dinner was superb, and breakfast had a large selection. Monty's bar had a large cocktail menu which was reasonably priced.

Friendly service and the ability to use the facilities after check out was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winnersh
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Moat House
3.9 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
4.3 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
4.1 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10

Property: Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10
Address: Wharfedale Road, Winnersh Triangle, Winnersh, Wokingham RG41 5TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Winnersh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Winnersh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional AA 4 Star Merit hotel within close proximity of M4, Reading, Bracknell & Wokingham setting new standards in design & service. Offering tranquil spacious air-conditioned bedrooms with luxury bedding and 32" flat screen TV. Complimentary secure underground parking for all guests and delegates. Extensive Esprit leisure facilities including 19m indoor pool, Life Fitness Gym and Dermalogica Spa Treatments. Enjoy relaxed dining in the 2 AA Rosette Caprice Restaurant with outdoor terrace or visit our stylish Monty’s Bar & Lounge to relax and enjoy a drink or quality bar meal in tranquil surroundings whilst enjoying music by our talented resident pianist. 8 state of the art conference and banqueting suites for up to 220 guests with dedicated Conference Manager. Air-conditioning and fibre Wi-Fi throughout. Ideally located for London (30 minutes) from adjacent Winnersh Triangle station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Reading m4 Jct10 Hotel Reading
Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10 Winnersh, Wokingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing